We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Lauderdale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
1818 E Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3040
954 765 1950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,111 restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Lauderdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This little hidden gem is by and far the best place to eat in lauderdale....great service, great little bar and amazing food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    317
    68
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very nice restaurant, intimate atmosphere. Great food (and wines) very good prices. Would definately go again !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Victim of its own success”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We much preferred this restaurant when it opened several years ago. It became an instant hit with us and many other people because it offered good southwestern cuisine in a town where such fare was practically unknown.

Unfortunately the restaurant has become too popular. We visited recently and found the experience stressful rather than enjoyable. The space is quite small and tables are now jam-packed together to get as many people in as possible. We could hear the conversations of diners all around us. The waiter seemed to be hurrying about his tasks and didn't take the time to explain menu items properly. We found the food to be just so-so, at least as compared to genuine southwestern restaurants in Sante Fe.

Canyon is still just about the only game in town for southwestern cuisine, so it is worth a visit for a change of taste from the endless Italian restaurants that clutter Fort Lauderdale. But it's not nearly as pleasant an experience as it once was. And it is expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been wanting to eat here for years and finally did. So sorry we waited so long. We had probably one of the best meals we have ever had. The sauces were wonderful, so tasty with great subtle flavors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amazing Prickly Pear Margaritas..!! There is no way to order a bad dish at this place..!! I recommend the Filet or always opt for one of the specials for the night..!! If available ask for Jeff...excellent waiter..!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.