We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ceviches, great food, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zona Fresca

Zona Fresca
1635 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-2528
954 566 1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best ceviches, great food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had just arrived at Ft. Lauderdale and found Zona Fresca through good reviews in TA and Google (it was near where we were staying).
We stopped by for a quick lunch before dropping off our luggage.
The place looked like an average-Mexican-take out restaurant, but the food quality was way better than the average - for sure. In fact, it was actually way better than many fancy Mexican restaurants I know.
They had a Saturday special ceviche. We heard a local guy asking "Do you guys still have any ceviche left?" - the answer was "yes, sir". He just said "awesome, I will take two". Apparently, they always run out of the ceviche on Saturdays. After trying it we understood why: it was indeed awesome, one of the best we have had to date - and it was served in a foam cup. :)
The fish tacos and their home made salsa were also great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    66
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a casual self service restaurant with good food. The staff is friendly and it's a pretty good place to take kids. They are very busy almost annoying. People always walking in and out of the front doors. They are definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is the best! We have been eating here since they opened. The food is reasonably priced and always fresh and delicious. I only wish they had one closer to my house.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quick delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

More food options than Chipotle. So sort of an upgrade! Delicious! I had some of the shrimp and some of the fish burrito. The shrimp was the better of the two. Different self serve salsa options and a delicious lemonade!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“time to change menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have been eating here many times, and wrote some good reviews in the past. Food is still fresh (as the name suggests) but I feel it would be time to introduce something new. This place has not substantially changed in the past 5 - 6 years. If you like a good mexican food, though, it is still a good choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Fresca also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Zona Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zona Fresca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.