We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot & Soul

Hot & Soul
3045 N Federal Hwy 60B, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306
+1 754-206-2155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Asian, Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: International Food With Soul - specializing in cajun/creole, spanish, filipino, and other ethnic cuisines. We serve craft beer and small batch wines as well. We have the bar area for a more casual experience, and we have the dining area with small tables or the communal table.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“A very good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went to the Hot & Soul restaurant yesterday for dinner. The experience was fantastic!
From the outside, this restaurant doesn't look much and inside it is quite small, but don't pay attention to that and go inside to try the food, you will not regret it!
We ordered first the mushroom manchego toast (bread with cheese and creamy mushrooms) which was very good, and the cheesy nutball (balls of cheeses covered with pistachios and croutons) which were very good too. The flavors were unusual. Very interesting to taste.
Then, we share 4 dishes: the "vegan yum bowl" (coconut polenta with mushrooms: very tasty), the "chicken adobo" (full of flavors), the "gnaughty gnocchi" (interesting flavors), and then (the best one), the "holay mole" (pork shoulders, beans, rice and jalopeno slaw): so tasteful!!! (highly recommended dish!!!). We almost tasted the whole menu!!! Actually it is very small but it is usually a token of quality. They also had some specials.
Then we tasted the "duck fat sticky bun with cashew praline sauce" (a special dessert: a kind of cinnamon roll with a creamy caramel sauce). My husband loved it so much that he ordered another one ;-)
The prices are normal (we paid 120US for 3 people, drinks (beers) included.
Try it, you will not regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Legit chefs!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Came for a date night and have had this place on the to do list for a while. What a treat this place was.

The girlfriend and I opted for the chefs menu since this was our first time and figured it would be a good way get an overall feel of the chefs style. We did the 6 course menu at $40.

The two stand out dishes were the new orleans shrimp and the mussels and pasta...WOW!!! Everything was packed with flavor, fresh, and deeeeeelish!

You can taste the passion that goes into the dishes. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting dishes on menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Started with the Florida tom salad, well they use a mustard style dressing, so asked for something different. They crrated a sherry/oil dressing which was great and the salad was fresh and flavour.

Next, I went with the Sobo noodle dish which has no meat and was very lite and refreshing on a hot Florida day. Most dished come in half and full serving sizes. The half sizes are still a great portion amount.

The atmosphere is kicked back and relaxing with no pressure and the staff will help even pickie eaters like myself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of my new favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I read some reviews on this place and we went with a party of 10 to try it out. Wow!! I had the most tender, tasty, curried goat (a special that night). I mean how many places can you order that? They have a great beer selection and a wonderful, unique menu. A definite 10 in my book!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Got it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

With all due respect to Huey Lewis, this restaurant did it for our party of six. The apps rocked with the NOLA BBQ Shrimp and Mushroom Crostini worth every forkfull and then demanding sopping bread for the sauce. Gumbo, oxtails, gnocchi, and other entrees went over among my companions and the caramel dessert thankfully did not go back as our buyers remorse kicked in with orders of chocolate and bread budding. Oh, fine Malbec and 9% ABV New Beer smoothed lubricated the conversation.
Server remained outstanding and knowledgeable on the dishes, wines, and beers. We will be back for the Squid stuffed with Chorizo and some Cava.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot & Soul also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Hot & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot & Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.