We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot & Soul

Hot & Soul
3045 N Federal Hwy 60B, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306
+1 754-206-2155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: International Food With Soul - specializing in cajun/creole, spanish, filipino, and other ethnic cuisines. We serve craft beer and small batch wines as well. We have the bar area for a more casual experience, and we have the dining area with small tables or the communal table.
Bath, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hot & Soul is a funky little restaurant where you get the feeling they cook whatever they feel like making and eating. The menu is eclectic and not for the unadventurous. It is perfect when you are looking for something different to eat in the plaza-land "american contemporary" restaurant filled Fort Lauderdale. Don't eat another pork chop! Go to Hot & Soul and find something different.
Our service was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, clearly enjoying the food she worked with.
My only criticism is that there is no liquor license, so other than (AMAZING yummy!) beer there are only sweet wine based cocktails. And, oddly enough, the walls are lined with large screened TVs. Ignore them and focus on your crazy Indian/Creole/Philippine food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great food, great welcome 'though arriving w/ no reservation & w/ kids on a Valentines' evening! Very nice "food travel", it seems they've picked the best from everywhere! Highly recommendable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, friendly owners and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food at Hot and Soul is so yummy, satisfying, and creative. I am a local and I eat here all the time. Their specials are always delicious too.
I'm actually hesitant to write this review because selfishly I want a table to always be available for me! But the owners, and co-chefs, Mike and Christy, are so friendly and passionate about their clients and food that I want to spread the word.
The gnocci is insane. The fish special is always local, fresh, and well-prepared. The mushroom manchego toast is incredible and I get it as an appetizer every time. The soba noodle salad is yummy. The steak is very good and so is the mole pork shoulder dish. Seriously, I have yet to be disappointed and I will continue to visit this spot regularly. Delicious, creative dishes for reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!!! a journey for the palate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Found this on trip advisor so we decided to try it out.... oh my word.... amazing. As soon as you walk in, you forget that you're in South Florida. The ambiance is remnicent of restaurants in the Thailand islands or Bali. The menu is funky and reflective of different cuisines. Everything was so good!!! Must try this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fine fare friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The eclectic menu is a series of delights. We had a venison ragout with parparelli that was scrumptious. The desserts were home made and interesting. The staff are accommodating and they feature a fine selection of artesian beers and small vineyard wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot & Soul also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Hot & Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot & Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.