We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointingly poor..but..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thasos Greek Taverna

Thasos Greek Taverna
3330 E Oakland Park Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
+1 954-200-6006
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Thasos Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: A1A
Description: Thasos Greek Taverna's focus is on fresh seafood and meats cooked on our wood fired hearth & rotisserie. Our goal is to provide our customers with excellent service & provide our customers with a rotating menu of local- seasonal ingredients, all served in an upscale atmosphere.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“disappointingly poor..but..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

my 1st time there..very nice decor..quite loud....all white..hints of blue...hip..smells of people with money..2 rolls parked out front...bartender very hot..and good...had an appetizer of several spreads...very good....thats where it stopped..we had 8pm res...didnt get seated till 845..then waitress was very spacey..not personal at all...we ordered dinner and appetizers..they brought us one round of water...and appetizers came out..one of us got a greek salad...it had not cucumbers...it was sent back...another a grilled cheese of some kind..burnt and very salty..sent back..the other fried calamari...half full..and sent back...then it took quite a while..10min or so to get entree...lamb was overcooked ...sent back..no flavor..no salt...sea bass..excellent presentation..and good..but not hot...36 bucks..no side item included ...brussel sprouts ordered..very good..each entree came out separate..at least 2min apart...we had to ask for more water..very bad service...i complained to mngr afterwards...they too a $130 bill down to $80 bucks..dont know if id go back..but overpriced food with very bad service...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    22
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A must - do not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great food, Great menu, Great decor and ambience, very friendly and attentive staff. octopus salad and lamb chops were fantastic

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great option for Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We usually go for the Greek island tavern but this time we decided to try the new Greek.
The restaurant has updated versions of the traditional Greek food but they are delicious !
We had the grape leaves, shrimp and octopus for appetizers and them lamb chops , great!
Desert was ok, blueberries parfait .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Extraordinary food and service and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our first choice for a family dinner that Sat. night was Shula's at the Westin Beach but they could't take us til ten so we opted for Thassos. The glitzy look of the restaurant, although appealing in its own way - Cyclades white and multi-colored lights shining through different sized windows, caused me to skeptical about the quality of the food. But surprisingly, the quality of the food was outstanding. Some of the very best Greek cuisine I've had in the U.S. Everything from the tzatziki to the shrimp saganaki and scrumptious keftedes we shared for starters (augmented by some fantastic fried sardines, complimentary amuse bouche) to the simply prepared sea bass (lavraki - sp?) and lamb chops were absolutely first rate. Add to that, wicked service, a delightful belly dancer, and a great bottle of Santorini white, excellent value for the quality and ambience, and you will not be at all disappointed. OPA!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been to Thasos many times since it's opening . The last two visits were completely disappointing
The food is still great , the atmosphere inspiring but the music was so loud it was impossible to have a conversation and the service was awful. The waiter never got the order right and we had to make huge hand gestures to get some attention . Simple things like keeping water glasses full was completely ignored . The service was impeccable before , what happened ?? Please improve this otherwise you have lost one of your most loyal customers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thasos Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Thasos Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thasos Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.