We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

*Note – This lengthy review is for the hotel itself: the location, service, and staff.
Beware!!!! Do Not Book A Unit/Room At This Hotel Through An Individual Owner, unless you prefer to be treated like a second class citizen(s). This was our first and ultimately biggest mistake.

My friend’s fiancé stumbled upon this hotel when trying to find a place (preferably a suite) to accommodate six women to stay for 3 nights for her bachelorette party in Ft Lauderdale, FL. She sent me the listing they found via a VRBO link – the price seemed decent, the pictures looked great (2 queen beds, 1 king, a gorgeous ocean front view) and the listing said it slept up to six. As the Maid of Honor, I wanted to make sure the Bride To Be got what she wanted, so I booked this unit (or what I thought was the unit we saw online) through an individual owner(s) at this hotel. This would be Mistake #1.
Since most of the issues we encountered had to do with the owner(s) of the unit and their complete incompetence, I plan on writing a separate review just for that (it was a nightmare); aside from the owner(s), the hotel (staff) was not very understanding, despite our trials and tribulations – the most common response we received all weekend long was, “we really can’t help you/there is nothing we can do, the reservation was through the owner; you’ll have to contact him directly.” They really were not very helpful; how do they know we wouldn’t come back and book directly through the hotel next time? Needless to say, they won’t have to worry about that, as I will likely never return to stay at this hotel. I’d rather take my money to the W hotel down the street and be treated like a paying guest.

For now, I’ll try to keep this review limited to the pros/cons of the hotel itself (as difficult as this may be):
Pros:
- Location – location was great, and the hotel itself was nice enough. Our unit/suite had one large bathroom, and a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, and sink. Hotel is right across the street from the beach (hotel provides beach towels at the front desk; chairs and umbrellas are extra to rent for the day, ranging anywhere from $10 - $20), and about a 15-20 min cab ride from FLL airport. The hotel is also within walking distance (maybe half a mile – mile) to CVS, liquor stores, and some great restaurants and bars - Casablanca Café was delicious, Mexican Cantina was good, and the best meal by far was in the actual hotel restaurant, Beauty and the Feast. Food was amazing, more on that later.
- Amenities – even though we booked through an individual owner, we did still have access to the hotel amenities (shocker). The pool was very nice (on the 5th floor), with a great ocean view; like most places, you should get there early and secure a chair and an umbrella, as those tend to go fast. Adam was the lovely gentleman at the pool who helped find us chairs and bring over umbrellas for us when needed. He works incredibly hard and he was extremely helpful. Give that man a raise! All the pool staff we came in contact with were great actually – bar tenders, servers, Adam, etc. Gym was nice, as was the women’s spa area (we didn’t render spa services, but the bathroom area was very nice). The lobby also offers complimentary coffee up until 10 am or 11 am I think – this is always nice.
- Restaurant – We had 6:00 pm reservations on a Saturday for Beauty and the Feast, the restaurant in the hotel. This was definitely a highlight of staying at this place – the food was delicious, the red velvet cake was probably the single best dessert I’ve ever had (it was so good, we went back just for the cake the following day, but it was all gone), and our server (I think his name was Chris) was phenomenal. The bill came to $400 for six people; that included drinks, apps, food, desserts, tax, and 18% gratuity. Even if you don’t stay at this hotel, I would definitely recommend the restaurant.
- Late check-out – this was the only good thing about renting a unit through an owner; we were able to get a late check-out (4:00 pm), since our flights didn’t leave until 6:00 pm. I just hope there was no one else coming in after us waiting on that unit, or they would experience the same issue we had at check in.

Cons:
- After arriving around 11:00 ish am on a Friday, we ended up not being able to get into our unit/room until 6:15 pm, and no one would give us a straight answer as to why. They apparently guarantee check in at 4:00 pm, so 6:15 pm was even worse, and horribly inconvenient. They kept our luggage for us and we ended up hanging out by the pool to kill time, but 6:15?!?! It was a little ridiculous, and a good thing we didn’t have reservations or anywhere to be for that first night. At first the hotel said they would credit us with a $50 voucher for food, drinks, or something else at the hotel. Then they said, “we can’t give hotel credits if you booked through an owner” but they were able to offer us breakfast vouchers for the following morning in the hotel restaurant instead. This came out to be more than $50 worth, so I can’t complain about that. I didn’t actually eat the breakfast, but the other girls did and said it was good.
- Once we finally got up to our room, we realized it was not at all what we thought we booked, given the pictures and listing online (this is not necessarily the hotel’s fault, I recognize). Our suite had one 1 king bed, and 1 pull out sofa… that was it. How that adds up to sleeping 6 people, is beyond me. We ended up having to get 2 additional cots to accommodate everyone! The owner said he would take the $50 cot fees off our payment to him, but we still got charged by the hotel, and of course, “there was nothing they could do, since we booked through an owner” – noticing a trend here? The hotel should have billed the owner directly for these cots. It was infuriating, given the false advertisement online – had we known this suite comfortably slept 4 people (5 at the most), we would have likely stayed elsewhere or gotten 2 adjoining rooms. Additionally, some of the pictures listed online looked like the room had an ocean view – nope, not ours.
- There are no ice makers on the floors. If you want ice, you have to call down to the front desk and they have someone bring the ice to you. Why?!?! This is inconvenient and we ended up having ice brought to our room several times a day/night.

Overall, the hotel was ok, but the service (the way we were treated) and the owners of our unit left a horrible taste in my mouth. if you must stay here, I would recommend booking straight through the hotel itself; anything other than that, you run the risk of being (not pleasantly) surprised, not getting what you paid for and being treated like a huge inconvenience; also, be prepared to hear “sorry, nothing we can do, you booked through an owner” as an excuse for Everything. I understand it may be a hotel policy, but maybe the hotel policy should also include some kind of mediator or third party to assist in contacting the unit owners and resolving any guest issues. At the end of the day, we were still paying guests, staying at the same hotel as those that booked directly through the hotel.

Bottom line – the hotel itself was nice enough I guess, but given our overall weekend experience, I would not choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: - Do not book a room through an individual owner!!! It was an utter disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
When renting a unit through a private owner and not through our hotel it limits our team as to the services they can provide. The unit owners that are not in our hotel program do not pay for regular hotel services so we are unable to provide those guests with the service standards that we provide to our hotel guests. We strongly recommend that guests book directly through the Atlantic Hotel website to ensure they are booking with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    286
    103
    49
    22
See reviews for
225
629
47
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I got a great deal on the room price through online booking. It's a pricey hotel, so I may not have otherwise been able to afford these plush accommodations. However, I'm glad we got to stay there, it was gorgeous and right on the beach! Stay there if you get the chance!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we hope we have the opportunity to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

A well appointed and decorated hotel. Room was quite spacious and very well furnished, clean and tidy. Wifi was quite scratchy, so we had to resort to the free cable connect service. Not much good if you are trying to use a tablet or cell phone.
Right across the road from the beach, which is a good thing, as the hotel pool is very small.
Well located to walk to beach, restaurants and other local attractions.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are working on our WiFi to improve the service. We are hoping to have this corrected in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

How could this hotel classify as the most recommended list in Fort Lauderdal?
From the first moment we stepped in,the feeling of small unattractive entrance and pool area is so small not the way it shows on their website?

We checked in for 2 bedroom penthouse suite with just a city view?Would not you expect a beautiful ocean view at this price?and paid around 850$ for one night and transferred to Ritz next day?

I would never ever stay in this hotel ,you have to run to beach every day or deal with diaper babies in the pool?
Just disgusting..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights in July with our teenage sons prior to a cruise and we were extremely impressed . Staff at check in, pool bar and concierge were brilliant and so friendly . Our rooms were amazing, very spacious with a beautiful bathroom. Could not fault a thing. We stayed in six hotels on our Florida trip and this was by far the best. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Your comments about our hotel is very much appreciated. To be considered the best of all your stays in Florida is very high praise indeed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The property is several steps above most beach hotels - even the "luxury" brands. We loved that it was a smaller hotel. Our room was wonderful. It was large and well appointed. Everything was spotless and my husband is still raving about the wonderful shower. We had problems with maid service one day - they never showed - but other than that one glitch, it was a great experience. Nice pool and gym. The spa looked beautiful, but did not have time to try this trip.

Room Tip: If you want ocean front, ask for a higher floor. We had a beautiful balcony, but our ocean view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay even with the missed housekeeping day. No excuses as to what happened, we will definitely work with the team to ensure these mistakes do not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We staying in July of 2014. The rates are fairly reasonable and the rooms are amazing. Our room was on the six floor on the south side of the building, but we still had a nice view of the ocean off our side balcony. The room had a foyer, and huge bathroom with shower and tub and an oversized bedroom with a king bed and kitchenette.

We lounged by the pool with friends who had room 501 which is right on the pool level with it's own patio gated off from everyone else at the pool.

They do charge extra of course for valet parking, (no option.) Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: 501 if you can get it, especially if you like the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.