We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Atlantic Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% & Free WIFI
Ranked #16 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Snellville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and greeted us every time we left the hotel and returned. We had a King Bedroom Oceanfront Suite on the 7th floor. It was very clean, very roomy and the bed was very comfy (and it had 2 full baths). The view was spectacular - perfect for a sunrise. The patio, though small, was a great place to have coffee in the morning and watch the sunrise. The cruise ships were also fun to watch departing in the afternoons. The sun does disappear behind the hotel about 3-4 pm, depending on the time of year. The hotel is located just north of where most of the action is but close enough to walk. We walked to restaurants and even the CVS on the beach - very convenient. We had rented a car but really did not need it to get around. A taxi ride from the airport and back would have been cheaper than a rental car and the price to valet park the car at the hotel. The beach was convenient with a traffic light located at the corner of the hotel. The hotel provided fruit at the front desk, coffee in the morning in the lobby ( as well as the room) and water the rest of the day. Beach towels were also provided at the front desk. The only slight problem we encountered was getting a chair at the pool. You have to be really early to claim your chair, so we never got one. However, we were there for the beach and that is where we stayed. Overall, very pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the south side of hotel with patios have good views down the beach. Also, depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    277
    93
    48
    21
See reviews for
217
601
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romeoville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have stayed at the Atlantic several times both pre & post cruise. Every time my stay has been wonderful. This last time, we checked in early and both times our rooms were ready and we did not have to wait. I love their pool it is a wonderful place to relax in the afternoon. I have had several messages in their spa and it has been the best message I have ever had. Sheryl their concierge was very helpful with all our needs. She made arranging transpiration to and from the airport and the seaport seamless. I have not eaten in their restaurant for dinner, but have enjoyed happy hour and have breakfast there. I love sitting on their patio with a cup of coffee and an omelet. I will return when my travels take me back to Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view facing south. The view is better, and the rooms are cheaper then an ocean &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Really loved this hotel. Great location with wonderful oceanviews on a slightly quieter part of Fort Lauderdale Beach. Stayed in an oceanfront studio - really comfortable beds, amazing views of the ocean from the large balcony. Kitchen facilities useful for longer stays, loved the little coffee machine. Really large bathroom, double vanity, separate shower and bath. Lovely pool area although maybe a little small, they do provide facilities on the beach though. Had lunch by the pool and breakfast via room service - all food was fantastic. Best coconut shrimp ever. Easy 10 minute walk to the busier part of Fort Lauderdale beach. Service from all memebers of staff was fantastic. Loved how everytime we walked into the hotel somebody always made a point of saying welcome back. Possibly décor a little old fashioned and the hotel will need to look at some soft refurbishment soon but would not hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for oceanfront as the views were just incredible, especially at su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

At $450 per night, the expectations were much higher.

Room service menu did not any dessert options.

Had to find your own chairs on the beach

Hotel provided beach towels that were basically bath towels

In room TV was all but inop.

Pool,handles about 5 families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Paul, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with elements of your stay with us. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest. Please reach our to me directly at the hotel if I may offer additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Atlantic Spa and the thing we were most impressed with was the friendliness of the staff from the moment we checked in to when we left.
Our room was a side sea view rather than full on but none the worse for that. It had a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Room furnishing’s showed a bit of wear and tear so that is an area that will need to be addressed soon. The room was well kept and we had enough clean towels etc.
We had breakfast both morning’s in the restaurant and was more than satisfied with the offerings. The concierge recommended a great place to eat the night before our cruise. It is called Truluck’s and was absolutely brill so thanks for the great recommendation.
If we ever need a Hotel prior to a cruise again I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

There's something missing at this hotel, but it's hard to put a finger on it. After spending 4 nights in February we realized that it has no heart and no soul. The staff is seems to care, but you need to prompt them. Some of the staff seem new, and some seem like old-timers. The lobby really doesn't have the stature of a premier luxury hotel lobby. Every time (and there were only a few) we sought out some assistance there were friendly faces and good effort, but this hotel is a loose confederation of employees.

The valet guys were great, and always friendly. The concierge was willing to engage and help. Our room was very nice with a large marble bathroom with double sink. But there was a distinctiveness and character that was missing.

Our meals were mixed at best. The East End Grille faces the beach but also faces the busy and noisy main drag. Day one lunch was great, but maybe it was just the energy of our first day. Breakfast on day two was pretty good, but $50 for eggs and coffee is just too expensive. Day four lunch was really bad; they refunded our money but only after we complained twice. Day 3 lunch at the Ocean Terrace Café was below average.

We felt safe and the Atlantic has a really good location. No real complaints, but also no moments where we were glad we chose this property. Our recommendation is to give the Atlantic the opportunity but to make sure you get a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Senior, I am sorry to hear that you did not find your experience distinctive or polished. That is a failure on our part. I apologize for your lackluster experience. I hope that we may have the opportunity to show you the experience that most guests have. Please contact me at the hotel if I may offer additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D. C.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just returned from another visit to the Atlantic Hotel. We have stayed at this hotel and a number of other hotels at Fort Lauderdale previously and none of the other hotels is as nice as the Atlantic. The Atlantic has an excellent location and is a boutique style hotel rather than a massive chain hotel. The facilities and staff are all great and not over crowded. The rooms are very large, comfortable and tastefully furnished, and have a nice kitchen setup. We prefer the partial ocean view one bedroom. These are larger than the studio ocean view rooms yet still have a nice ocean view up the beach. You can't go worn with the Atlantic. Check the various discount hotel sites to get your best price.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Logcolb, Thank you for your praise! I am delighted to hear how you are enjoying the Atlantic. It means so much to all of us. I realize that you have many choices for hotels - thank you for choosing ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Escapio, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.