We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the view we paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Here, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not the view we paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a king oceanview suite and our view was of nasty dirty hotels nearby with a side view of the ocean! The resort is nice and clean! I went in to check-in and my husband followed. I looked back at the valet and they were rather upset with all the luggage, etc we had. We were headed to the Keys after our stay there and needed alot of clothing, fishing poles, etc. I didin't appreciate their attitude "behind my back" and it started our stay off with a bad taste. We hung out at the bar a few nights and the bartender was having a bad day on the second night. It came to the point where I actually asked him if he was having a bad day!!! He said " oh my, I am glad you said something" but he continued to be cold and almost angry. It truly brought us down! It was way too hot in our room no matter how low we set the air. I have a feeling it is controlled by the resort. Part of our booking included 2 free drinks which we never received. We talked to the front desk and were given coupons after the fact. The free breakfast was not good. I will not stay at the Atlantic again. Beware, the pictures on the internet are deceiving!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    292
    104
    50
    22
See reviews for
227
637
48
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

2 nights recently at the Atlantic. Chosen due to an offer from a "Snique Away".

Far exceeded expectations. Had a Ocean View King Suite. Huge room wide ceiling tall windows looking directly at the Pool, Ocean and Beach. NIce outside balcony to sit.

Treated ourselves to a SPA day. We were well cared for. Good facility, all the accoutrements.

We walked around. NIce little place for breakfast bagel a few blocks north, and Starbucks a couple blocks south. Hotel restaurant and bar nice too... great Happy Hour! If you go, don't miss a dinner at Plaza Bistro just two blocks west.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Do not pay full price for a room. The room was somewhat rundown, tile falling off and cracked in spa, and shabby neighborhood close to nothing. Way overpriced. People nice; beach could not be closer. No gift shop or newstand. TV did not work right. We were assigned a handicap room so we could not take a proper shower. Much better locations nearby. Parking $28 a day. Had to eat off the coffee table.

Room Tip: join the Preferred Partners plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at this hotel which looked like it could do with a it of a refurb and a coat of paint around the pool area, but it was a nice hotel and the staff from the moment we arrived made us feel so welcome!
The room although an ocean view was on the side of the hotel and very dark. The room was spacious and clean and able to make coffee and cook if needed.
We had to pay $28 pre night valet parking BUT we did get breakfast vouchers for free everyday, and it was gorgeous, when you are there ask for Andra or Patrick they are superb!!!! Loved Patricks stories....
Also it was a great experience eating at the bar in the evenings, prices are good and Marcela is so lovely, made us feel special!!
The pool area needs work and not enough beds, but the pool guys are great.......the noise from the road was hard to take at times.
Enjoyed our stay and near to most things, Bars shops etc.
Thanks for a great stay...

Room Tip: check the room when they say "Ocean view" was on 7th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Originally the hotel upgraded us to the ocean front room by the poolside with your balcony. Such a nice gesture but we wanted something a bit more private. So we changed to what we brought which was a ocean view room. Amazing suite was so nice and super clean. The hotel staff were so nice especially a lady called Lilly, she was so welcoming and was always nice seeing a friendly face. Would really recommend staying at this hotel, it's not cheap but it's well worth the money. Beach isw literally a stones throw and the supermarket publix is a good 15 mins walk but a really nice walk as it's next to a mall called the Galleria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 7 days at their double room that was kind of a studio with a nice mini kitchen, spacious bathroom and bedroom. The room got a balcony with a great view to the sea.
Be aware that you'll need to pay quite a lot to leave your car with their vallet, something around USD 28,00. We never had time to check their swimming pool but everyone seemed to be having loads of fun there. Also, being in front of the beach, in my opnion makes it difficult to leave the sea and sand to stay in the hotel.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 1005
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After a our euphoric massage we enjoyed the afternoon at poolside with a view of the Atlantic Ocean. A light lunch with wonderful drinks. A very good value for the price of a relaxing afternoon. Summer vacations in Ft. Lauderdale with less tourist without the snow birds are great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Escapio, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.