We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View trumps the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 15th Street Fisheries

15th Street Fisheries
1900 S.E. 15th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
954 763 2777
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For an authentic waterfront experience of food and fun, visit 15th Street Fisheries directly inside the city’s famous nautical landmark Lauderdale Marina. Dine on the waterfront but stay for the nightly tarpon feedings on the restaurant’s docks.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“View trumps the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a privy place for average seafood. The bread appetizer is great but the fish plates can be hit or miss. I have had good food but more average than good. It does have nice atmosphere but they could improve on the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    24
    15
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Part of the Ft.Lauderdale experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely love the 15th street fisheries. I recommend dining downstairs;the prices are MUCH lower and the food(in my opinion) is better. However, upstairs has a SPECTACULAR view, so if you are willing to spend a good amount of money, go for it. This restaurant is so family friendly! I come here with my two toddlers and they love feeding the big tarpon on the dock! You can buy some frozen shrimp from the dock store and let the kids have at it! They can also feed koi in the koi pond for 25 cents. They recently added a fish tank with several lionfish, which is pretty neat. The menu has a lot of great options. I HIGHLY recommend dining here(:

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Kids liked feeding the Tarpon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I like to keep my daughter out of the sun when it's really hot and sunny, so this was a nice activity to get the kids out of the house for something fun and different.

We were a group of 9 adults and 4 children (2-6 yo). We bought two bags of frozen shrimp for $3 each at the little shop that's on the dock. We walked down to the dock closer to water level and broke the shrimp into a few pieces. I threw the pieces onto the dock and the kids picked them up and threw them to the fish. Lots of big fish splashing as they jumped for the food. Probably spent 20 minutes between feeding the fish and watching others do so.

Caution that there is no railing at the lower dock. A child was running and accidentally knocked a person in our group into the 4 year old who then almost fell into the water. It was a scare.

We then ate at the restaurant. Waitstaff wasn't very attentive nor friendly and seemed annoyed at times. Overall the food wasn't special but there was a decent variety on the menu. I ordered the spinach salad that was actually very good as was the sangria. There were kids meals offered as well as crayons and coloring sheets. After eating, the kids occupied themselves standing by a fenced railing watching people feed the fish. Note though that they can climb the fence so you have to watch them.

We were there for an early dinner, but I heard that they light up the water at night so you can see all the fish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good food and feed the tarpon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We ate outside in the lower level so the grands could watch the waterway, boats and eventually go feed the fish. A great dinner which we were celebrating a birthday....conch chowder was really good and we tried many of the apps with crocodile being one of the faves. Shrimp was great too! Salad with bleu cheese was excellent. Then the kids had waited long enough and we bought tarpon food and went down to let the kids throw the food to the tarpon. It was a feeding frenzy...the kids loved it! Be careful if you have really little ones as you don't want them to fall in and the birds will swoop to get the food if you don't stay active with it....we had 5 and 8 year olds and they loved seeing the fish go after the food. And no one fell in! You can get here by the water taxi or a cab or a van from your hotel which is what we did. There is valet parking also.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Boca raton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“15th Street Fisheries wasn't good at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I invite my wife and mom for dinner.
Table and chairs wasn't clean. Place itself didn't look clean at all.
There was a strong smell of kitchen inside and nice view outside. Small tiny tables for 4 people.
I ordered dish described as the best choice for 30 years in this restaurant.
Usually we ordered different meals to compare the taste.
But ingredients from the menu mad our choice.
My wife was discussed with the best dish. Mom pretended looking for something in the plate.
I optimistically eat dinner because I was hungry. Later I couldn’t understand why I would do it.
The evening was ruin

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 15th Street Fisheries also viewed

 

Been to 15th Street Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15th Street Fisheries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.