We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mount Dora, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Gee (sp?) was very helpful and nice. The room was clean, bright and airy. The pool(s) and grounds were very well kept. Easy, short walk to the beach, shopping and dining. Will definitely stay again, glad we found this hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    131
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
95
179
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I needed a place for a weekend get away and thought I'd try something different (I usually stay at the Hampton Inn or something similar).

This was rated pretty high on TripAdvisor so I have it a try. Not a bad price, decent location but a little walk to the best parts of the beach. Parking was tight.

We checked in and the staff was friendly, a miscommunication led to us not finding our room for about 20 minutes while we waiting for a another staff member to return to the property. Lots of sweat and mosquito bites later we found the room.

Room was nice, Ikea decor, but very clean. The air conditioning left a lot to be desired, we had it on 68 and the room never really got cold. I slept without covers to stay cool.

Three pools, seemed clean but we never made it in. So, overall, a nice place for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at Tranquilo at two occasions in February and March 2014. At our first arrival we had some trouble at check in, as we received a smaller room than reserved. This was probably due to an error made when we changed the dates for our stay. Though this was all sorted out by the helpful personnel in the reception.

The two rooms we stayed in were very nice and clean. I really like the tranquility of staying at a smaller hotel with a more personal touch, than many of the large complexes at Fort Lauderdale Beach.

After our first night we ate breakfast at the sister hotel Robindale Suites (now merged with Royal Palms), where had great service and a very delicious breakfast. During our second stay in March, The Plaza Bistro had replaced the Robindale Suites breakfast service. This was a huge disappointment, with very long waiting times (2 toddlers having to wait 1 hour for breakfast is not a pleasant experience) and it didn't taste very good either, This was our only major downside from our stays at Tranquilo. I sincerely hope that Plaza Bistro has improved their performance since. But on the other hand it would be unfair to blame Tranquilo for our bad breakfast experience, as this was not included with our room.

I would highly recommend Tranquilo for a stay at Fort Lauderdale Beach and would gladly go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Loved everything about it, clean, stylish and great location! Will definitely be going again next time we are in the area. Loved the decor and the amenities. Must visit Bonnet House which is right next door. The beach is just a stones throw away and we were lucky to get the king suite that faced the water.

Room Tip: Ask for king suite facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Booked for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was lovely. The rooms were clean and the decor was minimalist and fresh. Staff were polite and very helpful. The pool area was clean, tidy and a nice area to relax and cool down. The hotel is not big - it is small and personable. We felt it should have been rated higher.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed 3 night sin July 2014. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, you feel at home. kitchen and regular refrigerator is plus. Very close to beach, 5 minutes walk. It is close to shopping and dining areas in Fort Lauderdale. We recommend this hotel and we will stay if we will go to FLL again. Thanks to Tranquilo team.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked two rooms here for a family of five. Three daughters having the two queen bedded room on ground floor and we had a king room on first floor.
The rooms were very clean. large and modern with a handy kitchenette. We stayed only one night to enable us to 'do' Sawgrass Mills Shopping and Sawgrass Recreation Park, before cruising out of Port Everglades.
It wasn't as near Sawgrass or the port as I expected, but was very nicely located a block from the beaches - which, had we been staying longer, would have been very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.