We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Budget friendly quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Tranquilo consists of 3 small buildings, each with their own pool, lounge furniture, outdoor dining furniture, and grill. The rooms were of adequate size and the eat-in kitchen for four included everything you needed to prepare a meal. The bathroom has some new items (sink, toilet) along with updated original items from the 1950's. Furnishings are clean & crisp, mostly from Ikea. You can easily walk the 3 blocks to the ocean and this is towards the quieter side of Ft. Lauderdale Boulevard, which we liked. Los Olas Drive (section where the restaurants/shops are) is not close enough to walk to, but we had a car. Parking was FREE and there is NO RESORT FEE! Those 2 items alone save you a lot of money so that was really great.

Room Tip: Room 200 is oceanview, with a clear visual path down to the ocean even 3 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
travelgal058,
Thanks for the detailed review. You're right, Tranquilo provides a great value in a great location. We're always adding to North Beach Village and hope that you'll visit us often to watch the village grow! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    119
    19
    8
    0
See reviews for
86
164
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was recently updated, clean & comfortable. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Any question about local attractions & eateries was answered with solid suggestions. I would recommend Tranquilo to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Bill H,
Thanks for recommending Tranquilo! It's the best form of flattery, and we appreciate it very much. Whenever those New Jersey winters get a little too cold, you can come and warm up with us! Thanks so much for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff at Tranquilo have mastered the art of customer service etiquette.Their politeness, attention to detail and accommodating nature added to the satisfaction of our recent stay. While our room wasn't ready upon arrival, one was quickly made available when the staff were reminded that an early check in had been requested. The guest orientation was thorough and helpful. A nearby demolition project didn't have any negative consequence during our visit. Accessibility to our ground floor Deluxe Studio room was effortless. Two comfortable queen beds and an abundantly spacious room with full kitchen and two nicely situated televsion sets were desirable aspects. But negatives were also apparent, the most obvious of which was a tiny bathroom sink with inadequate surface space for even the most basic sundries. The lack of a full length mirror anywhere in the room was also a drawback. The dingy stained floor and shag rugs could easily be overlooked because of the general pleasantness of the room. The spotty WiFi reception in the room was. however, a legitimate gripe.
The pools were excellent and never overcrowded and there were plenty of very well appointed areas for relaxing and taking in the sun. This made the visitors content.
On balance, it was an enjoyable enough stay

Room Tip: The hotel is situated a few minutes walk west of the Fort Lauderdale Beach. The hotel is within easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
hiddenvacation,
Your feedback is very important, and we are going to look into the items you mentioned right away. Thanks for mentioning the staff. We love our guests and are happy that you felt welcome! Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was so wonderful. The staff was out of this world. I love that when you checkin they walk you to your room. The rooms were updated and very clean. Bianca, Amanda and Sarah were just great. They were very friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough nice things about the property. It was within walking distance to restaurants and the beach. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. All rooms are by the pool, they have 3 pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
susan t,
Thanks so much for your 5 star review! Making guests feel welcome is our number one priority, and we are so pleased that you noticed! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

came came highly recommended by friends very familiar with Ft Lauderdale. It lived up to their praise.

Totally renovated and modernized. Located mid north end of the beach was perfect for walking entir This e beach but also easy walking distance to the Galleria Mall on Sunrise. No need for a rental car.

We arrived about midnight and the night staff were very friendly and helpful. Later found the entire staff to be excellent.

The Queen room was a little small and right on one of the pools. Spotlessly clean. The only negative was we could hear the TV and what sounded like an off hook phone from the adjoining room. Recommend trying to book a room without the connecting doors.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with connecting door to next rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Barry H,
We're happy that Tranquilo lived up to your friends recommendation. You're right, it's a great place in a great location. With a 24 hour front desk, guests can easily check in any time. We hope that you can come and stay with us again, you are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved staying at the Tranquilo for its convenient location, huge rooms and nice pools. We had a great time and felt like we were vIsiting Europe given that we found no other Americans among the dozen families that we met. The front desk staff were nice if lackadaisical. The housekeepers maintained the rooms well, although they were so consistently inattentive that in addition to never replenishing coffee or leaving pool towels, they also neglected to collect tips from the housekeeper tip envelopes in the room. We would stay often at the Tranquilo except that the ultra-soft beds mean that we probably won't return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
CM10583,
Thanks for your review. Don't let the beds stop you from coming back! Just give us a call and let us know your needs, and we would be very happy to accommodate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This property has it all: location,great staff, and all the amenities. It is within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. The staff is fantastic. They go out of their way to make your stay outstanding. The two pools provide a cooling relief. The rooms are not fancy but have everything needed. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Wrigley48,
Thanks so much for your 5 star review and the 2 thumbs up! We know that guests have a lot of hotel choices in Ft. Lauderdale and we're so happy that you picked us! We hope that you'll be able to visit us again soon, you are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.