We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one week at Tranquilo end April. Every aspect of this hotel was excellent. Our first point of contact, Kimberley, ultimate professional. As were all the staff, from the front of house to housekeeping. The standards at this new property are extremely high. Our first taste of Norhth Beach VIllage hospitatility. It will not be our last. Suite3201 was the best. Special mention also goes out to Amanda. Thanks so much to you all. Best wishes Melissa + Russell.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Melissa + Russell,
We're happy that you enjoyed your "first taste of North Beach Village Resort" and we hope that you can sample every part of it! We are now offering breakfast at one of our sister hotels, Royal Palms and we have tons of great plans for the future! We hope to see you soon...suite 3201 will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    164
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
115
212
21
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murphys, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent two nights in mid-April, pre-cruise, and found service to be severely lacking. Husband & I arrived late afternoon after 7-hour flight and were greeted by…no one. Informed by other guests that check-in was now located across the street, at the Tranquilo Hotel. Feeling hot, sticky, and weary, I left husband and four suitcases near the pool and trudged across the street to the lovely neighboring hotel…to find the office door locked up tight with no note or “time return” posted on the door.

Fortunately, a young woman arrived within 5 minutes (if we hadn’t prepaid the first night’s stay, we would have grabbed a cab and gone somewhere else to stay) and entered the door, followed by a distraught looking young man (who closed the door behind himself) – when I attempted to enter behind him, the door was still locked. My knock was greeted by the same young woman, with a harried look on her face, who, upon learning that I wanted to check in across the street, turned her attention to me and ignored the man’s request for glasses in his room. (Guess who else never got glasses in their room!) She walked me back across the street and showed us to our upstairs studio room, assisting with our luggage – this was unexpected and very much appreciated.

HOWEVER, she neglected to inform us of a number of perks, including the availability of bicycles and the fact that ice was available at the Tranquillo, behind a locked door accessbile via an entry code. This info should have been clearly stated in the room in the vicinity of the ice bucket, which remained empty throughout our stay. (Our repeated attempts to obtain info from the office concerning ice were met with a locked door…) But perhaps most disappointing of all was the fact that guests at the Ocean Gate were allowed to use the beautiful pools at the Tranquillo, something we learned the morning that we were to check out.

And let’s talk about check-out…at 10:55 the morning we were to leave, we, along with several other guests, were again greeted by a locked office door. The lack of service, of which other Tripadvisors have raved, was completely unacceptable – I’ve never experienced anything like this. The room, however, although small and sparse, was comfortable, as was the bed and bathroom – exactly as we had expected and perfectly adequate for our short term needs. And the location is perfect – within walking distance to everything. But we would certainly not consider staying here again, or at any other North Beach Village Resort hotels during future visits to Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Christine Too,
We were sorry to read your review. What you experienced it not the norm, as you can see from the other guest reviews, and we hope that you will give us another chance. Give us a call and let us offer you a special discount for your troubles. Again, we are sorry for your experience and hope that we can have a chance to redeem ourselves. Thanks, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. Our stay from start to finish was exactly what we were looking for. Note: Check in was across the street at their sister hotel Tranquillo. Not a big deal, there were signs. You're allowed to use their pools as well. Amanda is great. She greeted us at the pool the next day with frozen grapes and water and asked if we needed anything. The hotel has two courtyards with grills. My room had a kitchenette which was great for the price I paid. The rooms were super cute, beds were comfy. Only downfall about the hotel is the location which I knew beforehand. I picked the hotel because of the good reviews and the value. The hotels closer to Las Olas I felt were cheap or too expensive. You are in walking distance of The Deck, McSorley's, Subway, liquor store, Mama's Market, sandbar, Primanti Bros Pizzeria (amazinggggg pizza), Yo Mama's Ice Cream and Pop's Corn, Red Dog Cantina just to name a few. There are a couple other things to walk to but taking a cab is necessary. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Slc021,
Thanks so much for your review. Next time you're visiting you have to check out the Plaza Bistro, NBV's very own al fresco cafe. It's another place to enjoy good food without having to go far from your hotel. We know that guests have a lot of choices when it comes to hotels in Fort Lauderdale and we appreciate you choosing Ocean Gate! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had originally booked at another hotel that was recently bought by the owners of Tranquilo. It needed some work, so we asked Tranquilo if we could stay there instead. They graciously moved our reservation over on the spot. The customer service was wonderful.

We were in for a wonderful surprise. The rooms, which are huge, look brand new and our very, very modern. Our room had a microwave/toaster oven, fridge, sink, etc. The TWO flat screen TVs were huge. And the beds were very comfortable (if you like firm). They had free wireless as well. THey closet space was quite roomy. The bathroom came with robes, hair dryer, and shampoo. The shower, although a bit small, had good water pressure. My only suggestion would be a mirror in the main room in case someone is in the bathroom.

The Tranquilo has two pools that are beautiful. Booth pools are surrounded by the rooms. Each room comes with a set of chairs right outside the door, so people would be sitting outside their rooms and hanging out by the pool. It was a great atmosphere.

The hotel is probably 3 blocks from the beach in a safe neighborhood and probably a mile from the main restaurant strip (we definitely walked). It was a very good area to stay in - not too crowded but near everything.

All rambling aside, I will be staying there EVERY time I go to Ft. Lauderdale. Good crowd, great service, great rooms.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room overlooking waterfall pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Meghan Y,
Isn't it nice to be pleasantly surprised? We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Tranquilo. North Beach Village Resort wants our guests to feel comfortable and safe in any of our boutique hotels. We hope that you can come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Ocean Gate Hotel is an AWESOME place to stay if you're enjoying the sunny city of Ft Lauderdale!! Great and helpful staff!! We were treated like royalty and given all the resources needed to enjoy our stay. The place is pristine, the decor is beautiful and they have all the amenities for those looking to lay back and relax on vacation. Eco-Shuttle can take you anywhere in the area and it's just a few minutes away from the gorgeous beach!! We had a wonderful time and will return on our next trip to Ft Lauderdale!!

Room Tip: The main floor (1st floor) rooms are wonderful because you open your door directly to the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
FrugaliciousDiva,
To get 5 stars from someone called the FrugaliciousDiva is a huge compliment! We try hard to offer superb service and modern decor at a very competitive rate. Thanks so much for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

AMAZING !!! The place is immaculate, the property has 2 beautiful pools !! The rooms are modern yet cozy and literally steps away from the beach. The manager Amanda is an absolute sweetheart and answered any questions I had w/ no problems. She made sure I was comfortable and happy in every way. I WILL DEF BE STAYING THERE AGAIN !! Thank you Amanda !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
LbananaJ,
Our mission at North Beach Village Resort is to create an area where locals and visitors can find love and happiness. We're so happy that you found that at Tranquilo, and in our guest service manager. We're here whenever you'd like to come back and visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Brand new hotel, pristine rooms, 2 pools, really close to everything. Great management staff who bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. Only drawback, the room air conditioner was loud...didn't sleep well. Being new they need to stock up more on basic room items, we could only find one wine opener!!!! Would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: corner suites great but all room are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
ann h,
Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate guest feedback and will definitely work on adding more sundry items to the rooms for our guest enjoyment. We are hope that you can come back again to experience more of North Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.