We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel close to beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Save Saved
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Newent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel close to beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ocean Gate is very close to the beach, 2 minutes walk, but is in a very quiet location. All amenities are within easy walking distance and the trolley service stops nearby. The water taxi service is also nearby. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, and all the staff are very friendly, special thanks to Destiny for being so pleasant and helpful. The North Beach Village group also have a number of other properties in the immediate area which look equally as good as The Ocean Gate. The only complaint we had that the outdoor music system was left playing one night which made sleeping somewhat difficult.

Room Tip: Our room had a fridge and microwave, but larger room have a kitchenette, table and sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Malcolm17450,
What a kind review, thanks so much. We're sorry that the music was left on and are implementing better options (ie: timer for the stereo) so this doesn't happen the next time you visit. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Destiny will be waiting for you with open arms! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    107
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
76
148
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in Tranquilo from March 18 to 22. I originally booked Tropi Rock and since they were over booked, I was moved to this brand new hotel. I was travelling alone and kind of demanding! ;) the hotel is very nice with two pools (that I noticed). A very spacious room with every thing one might need, eg fully equipped kitchenette, a lot of storage...the bathroom was a little small though which is nothing compared to other features of the room. :) also nicely decorated with white furnitures and green accent pieces :)
The check in time was 11 am and I got there at 10 am and they accommodate me in about an hour.
All the girls there were very helpful and cheerful and went out of their way to to help me.
My return flight was at 9 pm and I got free late checkout at 3 pm so I had one extra day to enjoy the beach :)
The hotel is two minutes walk away from the ocean and it's located in a quite area. I was alone and still felt very safe in the hotel and the neighbourhood even late at night.
This was my first travelling solo experience and Tranquilo made it a memorable one! :)
I will definitely stay at this hotel again and you should hurry while the hotel is new and shiny. ;)

Room Tip: Most rooms have views from outside so no walking around naked! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Ella M,
We're pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded stay and are especially happy to hear that you felt safe and comfortable in North Beach Village. Whether you're traveling alone or with a large group, we can accommodate you! Thanks again for your review. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently attended a party at Tranquilo and I was quite impressed with the property. While the best aspects of the mid-century buildings were retained (human scaled two stories, terrazzo floors, large pool decks, clean building lines), the property was significantly and stylishly renovated. The room furniture, bedding, windows, pool deck and pool deck furniture are all new and well chosen. The style is simple modern design which complements the property.

Tranquilo is a great new option for people visiting Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Billbr,
What a great review. Thanks so much. We wanted to preserve the historic architecture of the mid-century modern boutique hotel while still providing modern design and amenities. We're so pleased that you noticed and really appreciate your feedback. Even though you're a local, why not treat yourself and come stay with us sometime? Just let us know, you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had originally booked a room at Tropi Rock for spring break 2013. They were overbooked and moved us to Tranquilo, their brand new property just a couple blocks away. Boy, were we lucky girls! Our hotel room was gorgeous, newly renovated and we were directly in front of one of the pools. The beach was a two minute walk and the hotel was very luxurious. The staff were helpful and called us a shuttle when we left, as well as letting me back into our room after I had locked myself out. Our double bed room had a full kitchen and two flat screen tvs with cable. The beds were super nice and very comfortable. The only thing they could really add is maybe a grill and it would be nice if they had pamphlets for other attractions/restaurants/bars in the office. They did give us a pamphlet for the restaurant they own and one of the friendly office ladies said we could go grill at a different hotel a few blocks away. Overall, a very fantastic experience! I will definitely book again with this company.

Room Tip: 2 double beds have an efficiency kitchen with everything needed to make most meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
ccook,
Isn't is nice to be pleasantly surprised? We are so pleased that you enjoyed Tranquilo, the newest addition to the North Beach Village Collection. We really appreciate your suggestions and are adding items, like bicycle and iPad rentals, every day to make the experience even better. Oh and next time, you can definitely enjoy a nice steak on the grills that we are having installed! We are looking forward to spring break 2014, see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter was getting married at the Westin Ft. Lauderdale Beach. We needed to give our guests options of other hotels nearby. After reading the reviews and seeing the Ocean Gate for myself there was no doubt it was the best option ever. Amanda blocked out the whole hotel for our guests which consisted of mostly family, a big family reunion. It was absolutely wonderful. She was extremely accommodating and I appreciated it so much. The price was perfect including free parking and internet for our guests. The rooms were very clean and modern. Our families were able to hang out with each other outside and even barbecued on one occasion for lunch. We couldn't have picked a more perfect hotel and it was walking distance to the Westin where the wedding took place and other guests stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
denisepg,
Congratulations on your daughter's wedding! We're so pleased that we were able to be a part of it. Amanda and the rest of the staff truly care about the guests and always go above and beyond to make sure our guests are happy. Why not come back for her 1 year anniversary party? We'd be happy to have you! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Ocean Gate hotel is a small, clean, nicely decorated and economical hotel. We had a 1 bedroom place & yes it was decorated with Ikea furnishings but it looked fresh & clean. WE had a flat screen TV in the bedroom & Another in the living room! It was a quick walk to the ocean and there were restaurants within walking distance. The chain that owns this place also has other hotels in the area, including one they were renovating across the street. Overall we were pleased with this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
JenStAlbert,
Thanks so much for your review. You'll be happy to hear that Tranquilo, the hotel you mentioned, is now up and running. You'll have to check it out next time you visit! Thanks again for staying with us, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

No Drapes..lights keep you awake..only has mini blinds..all floors tile (noisy & cold) cheap IKEA type furniture (modern, chrome, formica, vinyl..really cheep sofa..very uncomfortable & no other sitting chair in condo like rooms)..wall air conditioner in Liv Room and small wall fan in wall to try to cool bedroom (cold in LR & warm in BR) none in bathroom and no exhaust fan in bath..watch your food ants come out of walls...cleaning service has minor problems when regular is not on...TV has limited channels, no movies available...water is YELLOW (something I didn't have in other hotels in area) Remember what the eskimos teach their children.don't eat the yelloe snow...outside grounds and pool are nice with plenty of parking....Remodeled old florida motel...OK for overnite for cruise or weekend I guess...I stayed in another one similar to this and have similar complaints...didn't know owner has 6 or 7 remodeled motels in area...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
ChrisAllentown_Pa,
Thanks for your review. We have numerous properties in the North Beach Village. These include properties that cater to those long term stays you mentioned. Please give us a call next time you're in town. We know that we can help find your perfect fit! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.