We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five Star Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Five Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am just pleased with service. Everyone is so attentive to your needs. My stay at ocean gate is one of the best I've had in awhile. The propety manager Erika really put the icing on the cake. Her professional skills and leadership roles really show throughout my stay and the motel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonP305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
DonP305,
Thanks so much for the five star rating! We really appreciate your review. Come back again soon and let Erika and the rest of the staff provide you with more of the 5-star treatment we know all of our guests deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hamilton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked the Ocean Gate Hotel as part of our 20th anniversary celebration. We only stayed one day to get a feel for the area and to consider the hotel for future return visits for ourselves, family, and friends. It also gave us a comparison of a smaller hotel offering before checking-in at our larger hotel at the Hilton Ft. Lauderdale Beach Resort. The saying, “big things come in small packages” is reflected in this great little Ocean Gate Hotel! I highly recommend the Ocean Gate and would happily make another reservation!!
This small hotel has surprisingly spacious rooms dressed in all white IKEA-like décor. We stayed in the Deluxe Studio with Queen Bed in suite #206. The grounds and our suite, as other reviewers have noted, are very, very clean!! It has a full kitchen in stainless steel, a glass-top dinette, refrigerator, toaster, microwave, iron, and ironing board. It also has a large HDTV with cable. I also liked the white pine looking flooring and full length mirror. There is a pool in the center of the hotel to enjoy as well as the Ft. Lauderdale beach and ocean just 2 short blocks away! The hotel’s neighborhood is quiet and clean with other neighboring small resorts and quaint residences. We felt very safe walking through and around the neighborhood and the A1A strip both day and night; in fact, I got up and out for my morning run without hesitation. We walked comfortably to and from shops, restaurants, and the Galleria Mall. When we checked out, we again walked 3 blocks to our other hotel on the A1A strip.
The manager on duty, Destiny, was very pleasant and helpful at check-in and during our stay. Destiny gave us recommendations of where to eat and things to do. My reservationist, Klare, was also very pleasant and promptly sent my reservation confirmation via email within minutes, if not seconds. It was a joy to experience folks in a service industry with good attitudes that respected our choosing their business and clearly wanted our business now and in the future. The Ocean Gate Hotel is a great place and has earned my recommendation and repeat business when I return. A great price, great location, great accommodations, great staff, and super clean!! Book it! Enjoy it!

Room Tip: Spacious Deluxe Studio with Queen Bed & full kitchen in stainless steel Short 2 block walk to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveM4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
SteveM4Jesus,
Thanks you so much for your extremely kind review. We would happily help you make another reservation!! You're right, it's refreshing to see employees who truly enjoy what they do. Service with a smile still does exist! Thanks again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 days at the Ocean gate hotel with our 1,5 year old daughter. The personnel is very kind and helpful. They offered us and another room that was more suitable for 3 persons. When we went to the beach we could take beach chairs and an umbrella. Rooms are very modern and clean. Also Fort Lauderdale is a very nice place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim188580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
kim188580,
We're so happy that we helped make your first trip to Fort Lauderdale a memorable one. We have a lot of hotels and know that we can always help you and your family find the perfect place to stay in North Beach Village! Thanks very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've been there late october and I really enjoyed the stay.
The hotel is brand new. The room has a beautiful decoration, it is large, comfortable beds. They are working in the area (North Village) and constructing new small buildinds, such as The Ocean Gate, but this didn't bother us, by the way, the neighborhood is very silent.
There is a small kitchen, that might me used (we didn't) and also a safe box. The free wi-fi worked very good to us. Free parking is also available.
There's a nice pool too, that due the bad weather, was not possible to use it. Here is a suggestion: the pool could be heated.
The girls from the office are always ready to help you. I've bought some things and asked to deliver in the hotel. I had a problem with one package and Amanda was always ready to help me to solve it.

The beach is in 3 minutes walk. Las Olas Boulevard is also near, but you'd prefer go by car (also 3 minutes).

Well, it is a small and an excellent option to stay in Fort Lauderdale. Would return without doubts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Fmiri,
What a nice review, thanks so much. We really love what we do and are so happy that it shows. We are actually looking into getting a pool heater and hope that you will enjoy a nice (warm) swim the next time you visit! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from a great Florida trip. The Ocean Gate is one block off the ocean. Looks to have been totally remodeled in the past 1-2 years. Its quiet, clean, and safe. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The two young women in the office were quite nice and helpful.

I would definitively stay here again. Its a great location and well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cebakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
cebakes,
Thanks so much for your review. We hope that you can stay with us again very soon. We know that there are a lot of choices on where to stay in Fort Lauderdale and really appreciate you choosing the Ocean Gate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent the last weekend of the summer at the Ocean Gate hotel on Fort Lauderdale beach and it was an amazing experience. We were greeted by Carmelita and check in was easy and hassle free. The location was great, we were in walking distance from the beach and the pool at the hotel was clean and very inviting. Our room was modern and we also had a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances which was very convenient for the kids. Porsha one of the guest services managers made sure our stay went flawless and provided lots of towels and information about the North Beach Village area. The hotel is located near lots of shops, restaurants, and even a state park which made it easy to find things to do, and they also provided bike rentals for us to get round. The Kids and I had a great time at the Ocean Gate Hotel!! No complaints just a little sad we had to leave so some and head back to school.. Thanks OG staff for making our last weekend of the summer unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Farfan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Farfan64,
We hope that you will come visit during the next school break. You are always very welcome! Being just one block off the beach makes it a breeze to get to the ocean and also cuts out all that busy traffic on A1A, making it safe for the kids to enjoy the area, especially on the beach cruisers you mentioned! Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent two lovely weeks here in April. The location is great, less than 300 meters from the beach, and the staff really friendly. We had a one-bedroom apartment which had a large bedroom, a nice living area and a surprisingly clean and well-equipped kitchen. Although we came for and preferred the beach, it was nice to have the swimming pool just outside the door. The hotel provided plenty of large towels both for the bathroom and the beach. Two things that could be slightly better are the wifi (unstable) and the noisy air conditioning (wall unit). Some more information about the facilities of the NBV hotels and the surroundings would also have been nice. But all in all a very nice and friendly place, well worth the money and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asamaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
asamaja,
Thanks for the lovely review. We always appreciate guest feedback and always appreciate suggestions on ways to improve. Thanks again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#2 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,754 reviews
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#26 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#50 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#4 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#56 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing