We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilo

Save Saved
You added Tranquilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquilo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've been there late october and I really enjoyed the stay.
The hotel is brand new. The room has a beautiful decoration, it is large, comfortable beds. They are working in the area (North Village) and constructing new small buildinds, such as The Ocean Gate, but this didn't bother us, by the way, the neighborhood is very silent.
There is a small kitchen, that might me used (we didn't) and also a safe box. The free wi-fi worked very good to us. Free parking is also available.
There's a nice pool too, that due the bad weather, was not possible to use it. Here is a suggestion: the pool could be heated.
The girls from the office are always ready to help you. I've bought some things and asked to deliver in the hotel. I had a problem with one package and Amanda was always ready to help me to solve it.

The beach is in 3 minutes walk. Las Olas Boulevard is also near, but you'd prefer go by car (also 3 minutes).

Well, it is a small and an excellent option to stay in Fort Lauderdale. Would return without doubts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Fmiri,
What a nice review, thanks so much. We really love what we do and are so happy that it shows. We are actually looking into getting a pool heater and hope that you will enjoy a nice (warm) swim the next time you visit! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    108
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
77
149
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from a great Florida trip. The Ocean Gate is one block off the ocean. Looks to have been totally remodeled in the past 1-2 years. Its quiet, clean, and safe. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The two young women in the office were quite nice and helpful.

I would definitively stay here again. Its a great location and well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
cebakes,
Thanks so much for your review. We hope that you can stay with us again very soon. We know that there are a lot of choices on where to stay in Fort Lauderdale and really appreciate you choosing the Ocean Gate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent the last weekend of the summer at the Ocean Gate hotel on Fort Lauderdale beach and it was an amazing experience. We were greeted by Carmelita and check in was easy and hassle free. The location was great, we were in walking distance from the beach and the pool at the hotel was clean and very inviting. Our room was modern and we also had a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances which was very convenient for the kids. Porsha one of the guest services managers made sure our stay went flawless and provided lots of towels and information about the North Beach Village area. The hotel is located near lots of shops, restaurants, and even a state park which made it easy to find things to do, and they also provided bike rentals for us to get round. The Kids and I had a great time at the Ocean Gate Hotel!! No complaints just a little sad we had to leave so some and head back to school.. Thanks OG staff for making our last weekend of the summer unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Farfan64,
We hope that you will come visit during the next school break. You are always very welcome! Being just one block off the beach makes it a breeze to get to the ocean and also cuts out all that busy traffic on A1A, making it safe for the kids to enjoy the area, especially on the beach cruisers you mentioned! Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent two lovely weeks here in April. The location is great, less than 300 meters from the beach, and the staff really friendly. We had a one-bedroom apartment which had a large bedroom, a nice living area and a surprisingly clean and well-equipped kitchen. Although we came for and preferred the beach, it was nice to have the swimming pool just outside the door. The hotel provided plenty of large towels both for the bathroom and the beach. Two things that could be slightly better are the wifi (unstable) and the noisy air conditioning (wall unit). Some more information about the facilities of the NBV hotels and the surroundings would also have been nice. But all in all a very nice and friendly place, well worth the money and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
asamaja,
Thanks for the lovely review. We always appreciate guest feedback and always appreciate suggestions on ways to improve. Thanks again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway to Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is very easy to find, a couple of blocks to the beach and within 15mins walk to the hip area of Fort Lauderdale where all the bars and restaurants are. It is roughly 20mins drive from the airport. The pool is nice with several loungers on the deck. We stayed in a Queen bed room without kitchenette (equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee maker) as we planned on eating out for the duration of our stay although there are rooms available with these facilities and more. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and large enough for two people. The linens were clean and the bed was nice to sleep on; the only issue we had was that there were no ammenities in the bathroom except for a small tube of toothpaste and a soap bar. Beach towels were provided and exchangeable for fresh ones daily. There are some restaurants nearby, but we usually ate near the centre of the action. Plenty of happy hour locations with drink and food specials between 4-7pm. The hotel also offers free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Ocean Gate hotel while visiting some friends in the area and had a great time. The hotel was very conveniently located just two short blocks from the ocean, and had a very quaint and cozy feeling to the area. Amanda checked us in and was very polite and informative in explaining about the hotel and also giving local restaurant recommendations. She even remembered that I had told them it was my birthday when I booked, a very nice personal touch!

The room was very modern, with a large flat screen tv and alarm clock with an ipod/iphone dock. It was the perfect size for a couple, and I loved the space saving design with the fridge/microwave in the closet.

I will definitely recommend to friends and family if they are looking for a nice reasonably priced beach motel, without the hassle and fees of the big branded resorts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
GatorJS3,
Happy belated birthday! You're right, the staff is pretty awesome. We just opened a spa at one of our other hotels that all guests can use and we are also now offering in room massages! Now doesn't that make you want to celebrate your next birthday with us as well? We hope to see you soon. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend of July 21st. The room was beautiful! The decor reflected the fact that you were near the ocean. The pool was literally two steps outside our door. Customer service was superb! We couldn't have been more pleased. The price for the location was unbeatable. We could literally walk to all the area bars and resturants. Enjoyed myself! Would definately stay again and recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tranquilo, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
BrittneyCL,
We'll always leave the "gate to the ocean" open for you. You are welcome anytime! You can't beat the location and affordable rates of this awesome hotel. The super friendly staff are just the cherry on top! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo

Address: 2909 Vistamar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquilo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most everyone dreams of escaping to the tropics. Is it that we wish to let go of stress, feel warm and renewed? Do we desire to strengthen family bonds with laughter and eye-opening discoveries? Sunny Fort Lauderdale is legendary for fulfilling these universal instincts and known for inspirational beaches, chic shops, nightlife, kid-centric entertainment and cherished family locales like North Beach Village’s highly rated boutique hotel – Tranquilo. Highly rated and low rates helps us create a remarkable value. Our nearness to sandy beaches you can walk to in 3-minutes and lush tranquil ambiance with soaring palms and heated turquoise pools is what helps us stand out. It’s our concierge-like hospitality that’s the essence of Tranquilo’s mystique and success. Guests love picnicking on sun-kissed beaches, taking water taxis to watersport thrills, cool shops and hot nightlife, but appreciate coming back to Tranquilo – where our outstanding hospitality adds up to an affordable and memorable getaway!Tranquilo’s 49-rooms are “modern with a sleek décor,” stylishly refurbished with flat screens, refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi and smiles are complimentary. Resort fees are forbidden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gate Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Gate Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.