We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saisfactory, not excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estoril Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Estoril Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Estoril Paradise Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2648 NE 32 Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Saisfactory, not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Summary
We stayed for one week in a small efficiency studio with a small kitchen area and refrigerator at the Estoril Paradise Inn and in comparison to other locations we consider the Tripadvisor ratings too good. We certainly had a different expectation from the ratings we had seen. You should be aware that there are many rules that need to be adhered to. At one moment we felt we were in a holiday camp for teenagers and not an inn for adults. This is a business run facility.
The facility does not justify a 5 star rating but is a good location for a stay in South Florida. The drive to the Inn along Route 1 can be very slow if you travel at the same time as all the commuters, I95 is better.
The facility is essentially two buildings with approx. 12 rooms, in a C-form around a 40m x 13m terrace. The terrace has an area to sun, relax, eat a meal or grill on the gas barbecues and is protected from the road by a 2m high hedge and garden. The terrace is good because it can be quite windy on the Fort Lauderdale beachs. Parking on the other side of the hedge, off road.

The property has a variety of positive and negative aspects to it:
Positive aspects:
The beach is within 15 minutes walking distance. The road is well lit and appears safe even in the evening. There is a great Italian ice cream and cake shop on the left hand side going to the beach - don't miss it. Parking at the seafront usually costs 1$/hr at the meter (max 3 hours).
The pool is heated and very clean. It is across the road but no problem to access from 9 am until evening.
The facility is very tidy and the daily cleaning is good.
The lighting in the rom is bright.
No pets are allowed
There was a clean microwave and a coffee-maker in the room.
Free internet via WiFi or cable access.
The road in front of the facility is a quite residential road
A washing machine and a dryer are available at $1.25 a load.
There is a cinema as well as Publix and Target supermarket 5 minutes walk down the road.

Negative aspects:
The fridge is loud, it is new and clean but we had to switch it off in order to sleep at night.
The a/c is loud and can not be left on at night. We could even hear the units from neighbouring rooms.
The bathroom and bedroom each have a fan and these are also loud. The fans do stop condensation in the rooms, which is good.
The shower rail and a lamp in the bathroom were rusty.
There was mould in the bathroom and this was cleaned away on the same day.
The main desk is not occupied on Sunday but the owner can be called.
Rules: for exmaple: which towels should be used for what.
The smaller rooms are small and space is tight, fatter people would have more freedom of movement in the larger rooms/suites.

Travel
We hired a car from Hertz that we picked up at the airport . It was cheap and we were well looked after. The gas/petrol is cheaper outside of Miami or Fort Lauderdale. The tolls on I75 are usually only $1-1.25 per toll and worth paying instead of taking the other roads (I95 can be used too).

Places to eat:
Locally
Frankie’s and Johnnies, 11 am -11 pm, on Oakland (just round the corner from the Estoril Inn), was always busy and must be good.
Fort Lauderdale Ale House, South on Route 1, r.h. side. Typical sports bar with standard range of edible dishes.

Further away
1. Grand Lux Café at Sawgrass Mill. Excellent food, excellent atmosphere,interesting eating area, very high quality, very tasty, excellent service and value for money. The Devil’s chicken is outstanding and the Warm Rustic Apple Pie is made freshly and enough for 2 people. A really good place when you want a break during the shopping trip.

2. Emerald Coast, 16850 Collins Avenue, RK Centre South, Sunny Isles Beach, just off A1A in a small shopping centre, almost in North Miami and 35 minutes drive from Estoril Inn. An outstanding buffet. The buffet (evening meal $24, lunch $10) is full of crabs legs, shrimps, salads, sushi, meat dishes and has a good variety of desserts. The place is well frequented by locals (always a good sign) and even offers special prices for children less than 12 years old. If you want to try lots of different seafood this is the place to go.

3. Billy’s Stone Crab, 400 Ocean Drive, Hollywood on A1A, 20 minutes from Estoril Inn. Directly on the waterway from the harbour with a balcony where you can watch the boats coming back in the evening. Great atmosphere. The service is good, the food too. Try the excellent scallops or the crabs. It is a little more expensive but the food is worth it.

Places to visit.
Besides all the breaches, the following places are worth a visit:
1. Sawgrass Mill Outlet Centre. Easy to get to and great when it rains.

2. The Everglades: we drove along Route 41 and took a airboat ride ($20 for 30 minutes). Well worth the money and a great experience, we even saw two large alligators. It is better to go on the boats later in the afternoon and not at lunchtime, as the animals stay in the shade at midday.

3. Kennedy Space Station, Cape Canaveral. The drive took 4 hours from the Estoril Inn. It is much better to book the tickets before you go there and there are even discounts available for AAA or other car club members, but you have to buy the ticets at an AAA location, no discounts at the cash desk. The tour we took cost $40/pers. and lasted approx. 3 hours. It was very good and it is even worth going there when it is raining as there are a great deal of attractions inside - even a complete rocket! There is a great deal to see, including a 3D-Film and as usual everything is professionally set up for families. After the visit, drive into Titusville (5 minutes) on US1 and have a meal at “el Leoncito”( 4280 S. Washington Av., Titusville). The food is Mexican and Cuban and is really good. The margaritas have been awarded prizes and everyone seems to drink them.

4. Key West. This again is a nice 4 hour drive (if you take I75 south of Miami).You see lots of coast/water and the keys are worth seeing once. On this drive, you go past so many boats and marinas that you start wondering just how many boats are in Florida…. There are plenty of places to stay on the way, if you decide to take two days to do the journey. Key West is interesting, very uaint and residential and it is really Duval St. and Trumann Av. that are the very touristy locations. There are lots of bars in the town, as well as lots of T-shirts shops. When we were there, there was also a cruise ship in dock and there were visitors everywhere. Apparently it gets very full in the evening. Not necessarily worth a second visit. There is a Coach Outlet shop on Duval Street which is worth a second visit and if you go there on the slower days (Mo/Tues) there are special discounts sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosios, General Manager at Estoril Paradise Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
We were quite shocked and disappointed by some of the stark remarks made regarding our professionally managed boutique hotel.
As the General Manager I want to set the record straight and honest.
1) This guest made unwarranted comments about our rules.
We do not state any rules to our guests at any time while are enjoying their stay with us.
The only thing that comes to mind is that we are going "Green" and ask that each guest place towels they want replaced into the shower or tub, otherwise your towels that are hanging will not be replaced. We also have a sign in the bathroom indicating this. I cannot see how this would upset a guest. Most of our guests are pleased that we are caring enough to work on going green and being a environmentally focused hotel.
2) We have completely renovated our hotel where well over half a million has been spent in creating one really beautiful boutique hotel.
All of our A/C and Fridge units are brand new and with the highest "energy efficiency ratings." They both operate with a compresser that provides cold air. They are much quieter than their predecessors. We recieve 2 complaints a year on this issue but if we were to remove them both would surely see a mountian of complaints I'm sure. So what would you propose?
3) Prior to this guests check in there was "No mildew" in their bathroom. If you do not leave the bathroom door open after taking a shower or leave the exhaust fan on the walls and floor will not dry due to our high tropcial humidity thus providing a great opportunity for mildew to form. Upon our guests advising us of this issue we had our housekeeping take care of it on the spot.
4) A holiday camp for teenagers. First of all we do not accept "Spring Breakers" at our hotel who travel without their parents. March through Easter Holiday in the USA is a large spring break period where lots of families travel and book hotels. We had many families during your week stay with many children and some teenagers at our hotel. If this upsets you then please let us suggest that you reserve an "All adult" hotel which is very hard to find and rates will be more likely be much higher. We cannot control who books our rooms or suites. We will suggest not to book a hotel in the USA during the month of March through the week of Easter if you do not want to be at a hotel that accepts families with children.
4) We will be changing our lamp and shower rod. We find it very difficult to find anything with chrome that will last more than a year or two in our salt air environment. We end up replacing A/C units every 2 to 3 years due to the salty air corroding the units as well. So we always have new and the latest A/C's as well.
5) Our office is indeed closed on Sundays.
Our family has owned and operated the Estoril Paradise Inn since 1970. We are celebrating our 40th year anniversary this year. Aileen and I are the second generation innkeepers and prior to starting a family we operated our Hotel 7 days a week. When we started our family we found that we had to keep Sunday as a family day and therfore we are closed on Sundays. I do not know of any other family or friend that works 7 days a week. It's not healthy especially if your raising a family. We provide a phone contact for all of our guests and they know that we live right across the street from our hotel if they need to reach us for any urgent situations. Family values are a high tradition with the Ambrosio family. We provide exceptional personalized service with more than 12 year of many hospitality awards to show for all our hard work.

In closing we are very caring and passionate about the high level of service we provide to everyone of our guests everyday.
Our measure of success comes directly from our customers and from hundreds of surveys that we hand out to every guest who checks into our hotel. The countless smiles and compliments, both verbally and in writing are so wonderful to recieve and thank many of our guests for taking their time to communicate their experiences with us.
We take all shortcomings very serious and we will solve all problems immediately or as soon as possible.
We thank each and every one of our guests for providing us so many raving reviews as well as the credible reviews where we need to improve on.
We will continue to improve our business each and every day. We have grown from 6 units to now 20 units and added 2 more vacation rental properties in the Florida Keys.

Thank you so much and have a great year in 2010.

John Ambrosio
General Manager
Estoril Paradise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
38
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I enjoyed my stay which lasted a week during Spring Break 2010. It is in a great location near the main roads and conveniences. I traveled alone so safety is a concern as a female. The area is very safe and parking at the hotel was always available. It is a small places but well decorated. I was happy with my room overall. It was clean and well kept up. All of the rooms are on ground level. One complaint that I have is that even with windows closed, it is very easy to hear what is going on outside. I heard kids yelling at 8 a.m. which went right into my room. So sound muffling isn't part of the stay there. Every conversation outside can be picked up. The outside area of the hotel is beautiful! It makes you feel as if it is beachfront with the tiki bar, torches and decor. The pool was quaint. Very much like a pool in someone's backyard. It was very private, quiet, had tall wooden fences around it and was heated. If you are looking for something more "happening", try the beach. When I was there, there were two other people there reading books.
The room has a coffee maker, but no coffee is offered. A good tip is for you to bring your coffee (they have filters), tea bags and any sugar/sweetener. The fridge is a good size for a smaller sized room. It held all that I needed it to. Another tip is that towel/room service is not offered on Sundays, so make sure you request additional towels on Saturday to hold you over.
Another thing I had to do upon checking in was fix my blinds on my windows. All they have are blinds for covering. The way the blinds were set, although seemingly closed all the way, needed to be adjusted a rechecked before settling in the room. Otherwise, the outside world would receive quite the show as they walked by. Be mindful of that and check with the light on and off in the room. I would go back if the prices were still reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosios, manager at Estoril Paradise Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
We were very pleased to receive such a nice review from one of our guests.
I wanted to point out that we have purchased all new "impact" glass windows and french doors that are very quite except when someone is talking right outside your windows, talking loud or screaming toddlers.
We do have families from time to time with little toddlers who will scream. Fortunately we do not have this issue very often and I apologize to our guest who was disturbed by this. We use levolor blinds with the 2" wood faux style in the suites and 1" in all of our rooms. They are very new do close tightly. Perhaps one or more did not function properly. We will have our maintenance check the blinds in all of rooms this week and change any blind that may be malfunctioning.
We are adding coffee, cream and splenda packets to all of our hotel rooms starting Apr. 15, 2010.
We thank each and every guest for writing a review about the award winning Estoril Paradise Inn.
We are a family owned and operated since 1970 and will be celebrating our 40th year anniversary this year in 2010.
We look forward to the return of each and every guest as well as our new guests that have not experienced our wonderful boutique hotel.

Warm regards from our little piece of paradise,

John Ambrosio
General Manager of the Estoril Paradise Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The room was called "efficiency". It was very well furnished, the bed was great, everything was clean and well kept, the price was very reasonable and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The supermarket was within a five minute walk as was the post office, movie theatre and several restaurants.

The area was safe and quiet. I have to say that I would recommend it highly and would go back there with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This was second time I stayed there...
The hotel is very comfortable, clean and organized. I was treated like a king.
The bedrooms are so soft and I recommend too much this hotel to anyone who wishes to spend great time. Hotel is Great!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed at the Estoril Paradise Inn for 7 nights in August 2009. It’s a small but very nice and clean hotel located in a very quiet and peaceful neighbourhood. The yard around the hotel is very well done. A lot of trees and plants so you cant see the parking and the street, self-serve bar, self-serve BBQ and lots of chairs and tables. There is also a very nice pool right across the street (the hotel as two buildings, one on each side of the street). The office is open 10am to 6pm everyday (it’s closed on Sunday) so you have to call them to arrange your check-in if you plan to arrive outside this timeframe. It’s worth noting that upon check-in, they give you a number where you can reach them 24/7 in case of emergency.

The location of the hotel is great. It’s 2 minutes by car from the beach (parking is free at the hotel, meter at $1,50 per hour at the beach), there is a lot of dinning options at a walking distance (from fast food and sushi to fine dinning), there is a shopping center with a Publix supermarket, nightclubs, drug stores…so just about everything you will need while on vacation. Try the Bayview Café and Tokyo Sushi !

We booked a “small efficiency room” which was a little bit small but very clean and well equipped with brand new furniture (new double bed), appliances (stainless fridg) and electronic (flat screen TV). The kitchenette was also fully equipped with everything you need to make your own dishes. The bathroom was also very clean. Don’t look for shampoo, conditioner, razor and that kind of stuff, there is only moisturizing body wash in the shower and hand soap for the lavatory. They do the room everyday (cleaning, doing the bed, replacing the towels) but the sheets are replaced only once a week. So we had the same sheets all week. Internet access is free (wired and wireless). But I have to mention that the internet was down for the first 3 days of our stay due to technical problem by the service provider. The owners did compensate us with a free bottle of wine.

We did enjoy our stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Check my video for a tour of the hotel and the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at Estoril, am sure this is a great place for families seeking some quiet and comfort, and not concerned about the dated appearance of the room. Our room was the smallest and cheapest, and was cramped but had everything we needed and was clean.
Pool across the road is a bit boring. Air con is very loud, we found this in other places in Florida though. Excellent value for money, especially if, like us, you are looking for a place to lay your head and not too bothered about location or aesthetics.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We (2 adults + 2 kids aged 8 and 10 y.o.) are from Germany and spent 1 week in this hotel in a 1 bedroom standard suite. Basically, this was the best choice we've made, based upon reviews in trip advisor. We were not disappointed at all. The positive feedback from other guests fit very well with the reality. The place is not direct at the beach, however within a walking distance of approximately 10 minutes from the nearest small beach. The largest, never-ending beach can be reach by a regular bus (1 US$), special bus (free) or by car within 10 minutes of driving time. The nearest shopping mall is located within 5 minutes waking distance. Numerous restaurants within 5 minutes. Despite the close location to the shopping centre, the place is very quite (hidden in a small street).
The appt. allows basically to feel like at home with all daily activities that one can do at home (cooking, eating in front of the appt. etc). The park lot is free of charge. A pool is included. The owners are very helpful and offer always a solution to problems.
The place is clean and nice to stay.
Overall, we ar thinking to come again to this place. The best was that are both children like the place very much, since they felt like at home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estoril Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Paradise Inn

Address: 2648 NE 32 Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Estoril Paradise Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estoril Paradise Inn has achieved a high recognition among the elite list of small hotels and vacation rentals in Florida as a "Superior Small Lodging" establishment since 1989 by the Superior Small Lodging Association and the Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention and Visitors Bureau. The staff of the Estoril Paradise Inn was just awarded the "White Gloves Award," a very honorable recognition by the Superior Small Lodging Association where you must score 100% on the housekeeping part of our annual inspection. This award was only presented to very few Superior Small Lodging properties in the state of Florida. Superior Small Lodging is a quality brand for independently owned small hotels, bed and breakfasts, vacation rentals and inns. To qualify as a Superior Small Lodging, each accommodation undertakes a rigorous annual inspection on key elements of hospitality standards: cleanliness, professionalism and service. This means you're assured well-maintained grounds, attractive decor, comfortable accommodations, and naturally, a friendly, hospitable staff. Our Fort Lauderdale hotel is a tropical jewel located in an upscale and elegant area of Fort Lauderdale. The entrance to our Inn is filled with colorful bougainvilleas and hibiscus where a transformation takes place the moment you step into our tranquil and relaxing tropical oasis. You will be surrounded by palm trees, tropical flowers and foliage of many colors accented with tasteful landscaping. Truly a stylish, relaxing setting that takes you away from the daily grind. Our accommodations are decorated in a tropical motif taken from the surroundings of Fort Lauderdale and South Florida. Coming for Business? We are just a 10 to 12 minute drive from downtown Fort Lauderdale and The Broward County Convention Center. Estoril Paradise Inn is your home away from home offering quality furnishings and comfort. We offer direct dial telephones with voice mail that can be retrieved from anywhere outside your room. We also have added Wi-Fi "Wireless" high speed Internet service that can be obtained from anywhere on our property. We also offer fax service and will place all your incoming faxes in your room. Conduct your business and then drive a few golf balls until 10:00pm at a lighted driving range just 2 minutes away or play a round of golf at nearby golf courses. Coming for a Vacation? We are located in one of the best areas of Fort Lauderdale, just a 2 minute car ride to the beach, water taxi, waterfront cafes, golf driving range, shopping mall, fine dining; 5 to 10 minute car ride to diving/snorkeling, fishing boats, jet skis, entertainment centers and Beach Place; 15 minute car ride to the Fort Lauderdale Airport, Downtown Riverwalk, Las Olas, Port Everglades Cruise Ships, golf courses and many area attractions. Let us book your tours or 1 to 2 day cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Estoril Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estoril Paradise Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estoril Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.