We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If they could sound proof the rooms, it would be perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Gardens

Save Saved
You added Beach Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Gardens
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   533 Orton Ave., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly windamar beach club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
seattle
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“If they could sound proof the rooms, it would be perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a gem of a property consisting of a cluster (4?) of small "mid- century modern " two story buildings with exterior entrances opening onto breezeway catwalk walkways. Stairs only. I had a standard queen room for $108 ($120 with tax). This is the "hotel industry queen" so it is a much smaller bed than our queen bed at home. Sleek tile floors. A safe, small wardrobe, fridge, micro, coffee maker, flat screen tv, ample lighting, small bathroom with single sink and shower. They have the basics covered and it is appealing in the retro modern way (think IKEA). Quiet area about 10 minute walk to beach. Free outdoor parking. Small pool. On site management until 8 p.m.. But if you are sensitive to noise, the walls are paper thin, (as in I could hear verbatim the conversations on either side of me) and you might need to consider earplugs. Would I stay here again? Yes, given the price and greenery and access to both the beach and airport ( I enjoy the walk), it fits the bill.

Room Tip: Upstairs End room for noise buffering on at least one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
travelmutter,
Thanks so much for your detailed review. You're right, Beach Gardens is a great place, with a great location and a great value. We appreciate your feedback and will look into ways to help minimize any noise. Thanks so much, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
28
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel while on a business trip. It is in a great location on Orton, only a few blocks from the beach and a great deal for the price. The rooms are decked out in modern Ikea furnishings, including microwave, cupboards, dishes and mid-size refrigeration -- all very clean. The staff in the office were very friendly and even helped us with our bags to our room. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
vankent,
With a variety of room types, including one bedroom suites with full kitchens, Beach Gardens is a great place for guests traveling for business or pleasure. Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate the feedback! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel prior to leaving on a cruise. The hotel is a few blocks from the beach but it is an easy walk. The staff in the office were very friendly and held my bags until the room was ready. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable with a table, microwave, fridge, and even plates for eating. The shower was large and clean.
The pool area was a nice spot for lounging, though I did not have a chance to swim in it. I would recommend it for others who are looking for a place off of the busy A1A avenue but want to be near the ocean beaches.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
skyllo,
Thanks so much for your detailed review. You're 100% right, Beach Gardens is the perfect hotel for guests looking for a place that's close to the beach but slightly removed from the noise and busy traffic on A1A. We're so happy that you found us and hope that you'll come back to us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem ma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Looking out of my huge picture window, at healthy tall palms and fan palms with flowers and shrubs made this naturalist feel like I was in heaven. My room was spotless, thanks to Natasha
who has a wonderful smile and personality, Everything in my room seemed brand new and my
king mattress was heavenly. Even the towels and shower curtain was first class. Kimberly at the front desk is always upbeat and helpful. The pool is very refreshing as the temperature was 87 for
my 2 day stay. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
SalemMaRinaldo,
We can't wait for you to come back either! What a nice review, thanks so much. It's definitely easy to relax at Beach Gardens, and we're so glad that you were able to do just that! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stood only one night but that was not enough.

STAFF
The room we stood in was very clean the maid Denice was very pleasant. She welcomed us with a beautiful smile and reassured us that we were in good hands. The room was not ready for us when we arrived but Denice was helpful, prompt and efficient she turned our day around, she also helped bring our bags in the room and hold the door for us.

VIEW OF HOTEL
The hotel it self was beautiful. Well maintained garden very. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The outside area wa peaceful, the pool was clean and big. The location was about one block away from the beach all was walking distance.

Pros:
- Staff
- Location
- View
- Rooms
- Pool

Cons
- Front desk
- Had to ask for pool towels
- kinda far from restaurants
- Not to much parking spaces

Over All
Great place to stay at, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
travelingfanfamily,
We are already looking forward to your visit next year. You'll be happy to hear that we have a front desk right at Beach Gardens now, so that con will now be a pro on your list! We're always working to improve and we appreciate your feedback. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ennismore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean, renovated and worth a stay. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. The pool area was nice with complimentary beach towels; unfortunately the pool is not heated. The room was tiny (one queen bed) but well done with "ikea" furnishings. The bathroom is also small but is new and attractive. (A fan in the bathroom would be a good idea) The location is close to the beach, and in an area of many hotels like the Hilton. You could walk up to the trolley and water taxi. Parking is included. You could hear some noise from the room next door but was not too bad. The balcony is not private but was very comfortable to sit out on. A great find!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
jwj0909,
Your review title was spot on - Beach Gardens offers guests a clean, comfortable stay at a really good value. We are constantly checking the rates of our competitors and are so happy that you noticed our very low rates. We appreciate your review and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We chose this hotel by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. This hotel is a recently renovated property in the North Beach Village (NBV) collection. It is crisp and clean. It is a short walking distance to the beach and to a variety of places to eat and shop. On-street parking is free. Staff is now on-site (until this month, you had to check at another NBV) and they are very friendly and helpful. Pool is nice. When we were there, the guests were families and couples of all ages. Walls are thin and you can hear people talking in the next room. Wi-Fi is free.

Other than the pool, parking and wi-fi, amenities are sparse (e.g., no vending machines, ice machine, no phone in room, fitness center). I think they got the most important ones right. We didn't need a fitness center because we walked everywhere and didn't need a phone in room because of cell phones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Beach Gardens, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
FlyerInMinn,
Thanks so much for your review. You'll be happy to hear that we are very close to opening our very own fitness center in North Beach Village! It should be open in about one month, and we hope that you're able to come back and check it out soon! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens

Address: 533 Orton Ave., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly windamar beach club)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Gardens 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Gardens is the newest addition to the North Beach Village Collection of boutique hotels. Located at 533 Orton Avenue in Fort Lauderdale, this 26 unit building offers a variety of room types, from studio's to one bedroom suites. With connecting doors to several of the units, we can accommodate parties of any size. Shuttle service (surcharge) is available. Like all of the NBV properties, wi-fi is always complimentary and excellent guest service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Beach Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Villas Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.