We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as our previous stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Reef Guesthouse to your Saves list
Coral Reef Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   2609 NE 13th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as our previous stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the property. The property itself is very nice. We stayed in the private room off to the side that has a "garden view". The garden was pretty dead looking for it being springtime in Florida.

During our first stay, we encountered an employee by the name of Bobby who absolutely made our stay so enjoyable. He offered to help us and point us in the right direction in every way possible. We found out after returning that he was no longer with the coral reef guesthouse. That was terrible to us. Our stay was completely different without him there.

On our first morning we were hounded to have our room cleaned. I guess we hung around the room too long. We told the owner that we didn't need it cleaned and that we were staying until Monday. We left for the day and came back noticing that someone had been in our room even though we clearly stated we didn't want it cleaned.

Overall, the stay was ok. The rooms are nice and the property is beautiful just not back by the "garden" where we were. We didn't get as much bang for our buck like before. Not sure if we will be back.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoralReef, Manager at Coral Reef Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We had to clean your room. Other guests were complaining about the smell of marijuana smoke coming from your room. It was so strong that I could smell it from the office 200 feet away from your room. All of our rooms are non smoking. We had to clean your room and let in some fresh air. We could have charged you an extra cleaning fee but we took into consideration that you had stayed here before and want to make you comfortable.

I don't think our hotel is a good fit for you. Please stay somewhere else next year.


Aaron Adams
Manager / Coral Reef Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
33
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

As a world travel, I have always stayed at Brand name hotels..Well last minute trip to Fort Lauderdale on spring break all hotels were booked, or doubled in price due to being spring break. I came across the Coral Reef Guest house, Arron and Wayne where so helpful in accommodating us a last minute. The rooms where clean and upto date, the whole resort was excellent, the breakfast the guy"s supply in the morning is delicious. I will never use a brand name hotel in Fort Lauderdale any more when I can use Corral Reef Guest House.
Thank you Arron and Wayne for the hospitality you will all ways have my business every time I'm in Fort Lauderdale.
Thanks guys
Robb & Sean

Room Tip: Excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I have been coming to this property for many years and its a wonderful b and b. Very relaxing. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff very accommodating. And its a great location! Close to the beach and excellent dining. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come back again

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We had stayed here before several times in the past. made a reservation March 10 for two nights mid week (less busy) based on their Google link description.

Apparently their policy had changed and now their are a hotel for men and women no with clothing optional", Aaron informed us in an email after our reservation was made. This was not what we were led to believe by seeing their Google link "gay male clothing optional" and from our past experiences there. We called and left a message to cancel the reservation and seek a refund.

Aaron seems to rarely answer the phone, so contacting them was strictly by voicemail or email. We waited to hear from them.....no reply ... all the while having $260 plus tax held on our credit card. No reply until the next morning when I came by in person to ask that our deposit be refunded. The owner, RW, said that he was going to give us a refund but now he didn't like my "attitude". That "attitude", I developed after getting no reply from them for the past day, which seemed to say something about his concern for our message. When I raised the issue of their advertised policy, RW didn't seem to be aware what their Google link currently said about their establishment a sought to quickly end our conversation by saying "talk to my manager". I'm thinking "wow an owner that can't approve a refund or negotiate". He said, "I was going to give you back 50% but your I don't like your attitude".

After my visit, and promising to return to talk to Aaron, I finally got return call and an email from him. He too claimed that he was going to refund our deposit, but he didn't like the tone in our last email. So Im led to believe that by not returning our calls or emails and standing behind their cancellation policy of no refund for cancellations with less then __21__ days prior. that he was going to make good on this claim. Why would someone say that they were going to refund your deposit if they felt no responsibility for the confusion...I'm fine with them changing their policy or demographic just return our deposit and change your advertising, and inform returning guests before accepting a reservation.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoralReef, Manager at Coral Reef Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
You Made the Reservation Directly through our Website. On our Website, it Clearly States that We Are an All Welcome Resort. You agreed to our terms and conditions before you made your reservation, in which you agreed to our polices of "clothing optional in accepting company" and our cancellation policy. How confusing is that? You being upset about our clothing optional policy is a testament to your intentions. We want all our guests to feel comfortable. The last thing we want is a guest taking the clothing optional thing too far and making other guests feel uncomfortable. For "clothing optional in accepting company" to not be enough for you, shows me what your intentions were. Stay at some other place if you’re looking for a place to hook up and play BECAUSE THE CORAL REEF IS NOT THAT PLACE. We are a High-End Luxury Resort, Not a Bathhouse.

As for as my responsiveness, I corresponded with you 3 times the afternoon you were arriving. And as I was leaving for the day, everything was still fine and you were still coming. 20 mins after I leave you change your mind and don't want to stay any more. We held that room for you for a whole week, would have loved to rent it out to someone but your last minute cancellation is of no fault but your own. Our cancellation policy (which you agreed to, yes I already stated this but your not so good at reading so I'll say it again) allows me to keep your deposit if you don’t show. Your the cause of your own problems.

Showing up at 10am the next morning, unannounced and trying to physically intimidate the Owner is the lowest move a Guest has ever made here. The owner felt threaten by you and went inside to get away from your advances. You should be ashamed of your actions.

The next response from you was an email where you threaten to leave a bad review if we didn't give you back your money. I am noticing a trend; you think you can bully people to get what you want. I am sorry, that is not how this works. You’re not getting your money back, your review is laughable, and we couldn't be happier that you didn’t stay at The Coral Reef Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The minute you are welcomed and shown around by the owner or manager you begin to sense you are on to something special at The Reef.
The pictures of the rooms and grounds are absolutely accurate. Everything is up-to-date, attractive, and welcoming.

If you want to socialize with the other guests, you'll find a cosmopolitan group. On the other hand, if you prefer privacy that's certainly possible too.
But there is an air of congeniality at The Reef that is hard to ignore. The owner is a terrific host.
I'm a regular. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

This was my second time at Coral Reef, and it was as amazing as ever. Whether sitting by the pool sipping wine, or going for a late night swim, it was absolute paradise. The hospitality was great, and the service was excellent. I will definitely be staying there again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed one night prior to going on a cruise. Great friendly, clean and luxurious accomodation. Stayed across the street from the main part which was not a problem and the room had a whirlpool bath. The owner RW was extremely friendly and helpful even dropping us off at a restaurant in evening. Location is a short cab ride to Wilton Manors. Would definately recommend. Wifi could have been faster - but was free.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if your room is across the street - it is very quiet street and safe neighbourh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Reef Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Guesthouse

Address: 2609 NE 13th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Reef Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the superb hospitality at this haven for gay men, in quiet, upscale Coral Ridge. Eight scrupulously clean, cheerful rooms and suites cloister around a verdant, clothing-optional courtyard, with sparkling pool and 12-man Jacuzzi. Included: designated parking; continental breakfast ; computer/printer access; Wi-Fi in poolside rooms; bicycles (as available). Close to beach, restaurants, shopping, bars, Wilton Drive, Downtown/Las Olas; walk to the Galleria Mall. Gay owned/operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Coral Reef Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Guesthouse Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.