We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food in a carpark like ive not seen b4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Bistro

The Plaza Bistro
2900 Belmar St, Only Open Friday and Saturday Evenings, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
+1 954-245-2574
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plaza Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Birch Rd
Description: Welcome to The Plaza Bistro, conveniently located on the corner of Breakers Avenue and Belmar Street. Set in the heart of North Beach Village, the Plaza Bistro offers a wide selection of American cuisine; including an international fusion from salads to pasta dishes, brick oven flatbreads and desserts. The Bistro has successfully paired imaginative food and wine with caring hospitality, comfortable surroundings and exceptional value.With outstanding dining under the stars, seasonal ingredients, an emerging beach side location and a mission to support the local community, The Plaza Bistro has changed the restaurant landscape in the North Beach Area. Dinner service hours: Sun-Thur from 5pm - 10pm, Fri & Sat from 5pm - 11pm.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food in a carpark like ive not seen b4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was great.

Go. Nice experience. Top class dining in a carpark. You don't expect it, but its trendy and cool.

Forgot to tip the waiter. He came back and enquiried why. Made me feel embarrassed. Just not use to it thats all.

Otherwise great. And unexpected.

Would def recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
TravellingMrT,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your business and welcome all your friends and family to dine with us. We try our hardest to create a fun loving environment for everyone to enjoy.

We apologize for the incident with your waiter. Please know that we do not by any means encourage this type of behavior rom any of our staff. We will make sure it doesn't happen again to any of our dining guests.

We hope to see you soon and please don't stay away for too long. Keep in touch!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    78
    30
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a tiring day of shopping, walking and spring breakers, we were so blessed to find this hidden gem of a restaurant. In a parking lot, with white lights strung around umbrellas and shrubbery presented a relaxing and fun atmosphere. This unique little treasure, was a diamond find for us. The meal was excellent, the service was equally as good, and the price was the most reasonable dinner I had paid for in a week!! I wish we had found this place on our first night, rather than our last, but it a place I will definitely visit again (and again, and again..)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
gheath1369,

We would love for you to visit us again and again and again! Based on your review it seemed you had a busy vacation. Sometimes being a tourist can be tiring with so much to see and do. We were fortunate that you took the time to dine with us. We hope that you were able to separate yourself from all the hustle an bustle at our restaurant.

Our restaurant is designed to provide a fun, loving, and happy environment for all and we are happy to hear that your experience was just that! Your review means a lo to us and we thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This bistro was only a block from where we were staying. But didn't try it till the last nite and I wish we had earlier. We got happy hour prices so it was very reasonable. Had the pizza and split a salad with some wine. Had a great meal and will go back on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
ttolford,

Better late than never! Thank you for stopping in and dining with us! We are glad we were your last dinner stop on your trip to Fort Lauderdale. Sometimes you just have to save the best for last! We are delighted to know you made it home safe and sound and we hope that you visit us again soon.

Please keep us in mind when visiting Fort lauderdale. We welcome you and invite you to try our new menu.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

When we first walked up to the Plaza Bistro for breakfast, we found it to be an outside bistro set up on an old tennis court with a food truck for a kitchen...immediatley I was in LOVE with the place...like nothing I have seen before...quaint tables under big white umbrellas, white chat sets all around, a fire pit and small stage where I hear the have the most amazing piano player on the weekends(he one Europes Got Talent!). Our waiter Tim was one of the most interesting people we have ever met, being a career waiter in surrounding establishments for 30 + years, he had some amazing stories of celebrities that have frequented Fort Lauderdale...Onto the food, the menu was small, but they offered an all you can eat breakfast with eggs, bacon, the best homefries I have ever had, fruit and bagels and $5 mimosa that did not come in a 2 oz flute but a stemless wine glass filled almost to the top ...it was delicious , my husband went back for seconds on breakfast, I was stuffed so I went for a second mimosa! Since it is a short 30 min. drive from where we live we are definitly going back for dinner!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
fla1199,

It is always a pleasure to know that even our locals visit us. Thank you kindly for the review. We agree with you, our restaurant is a gem! Our breakfast menu is a work in progress. We recently added breakfast hours to our establishment and hope that many of our locals take advantage of all that we have to offer. Our set up is unique and we are fortunate to be outside giving us the freedom of setting up differently as we choose.

Tim is a great asset to our restaurant and his experience in the hospitality business is reflected in his service to our guests. We believe in creating a loving and happy environment for all.

We have currently re-designed our breakfast menu and you will pleased to know that we now offer a more diverse menu. We invite you to stop by soon and enjoy one of our many breakfast items. Let us know what you think!

We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Orlando made our night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a great find this place was.

Yes it is a food truck (very chic these days). The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. They had a $3.00 Guinness special, pianist (yes, pianist, at least the Friday night that we were there), color lighted cubes, linen, and it was very well run.

Very large and tasty salads. The entrees were delicious and dessert did not disappoint.

We had a wonderful time. Orlando was our waiter and he really made the night for us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
MrJulius,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write us this review. Thank You! Our food truck is very unique and we try our hardest to make sure that each one of our guest's experience the best service and are completely satisfied with the quality of our food.

Our ambience is like no other and we are very fortunate to have great entertainment. Our pianist is from Colombia and he is amazing. We have re-designed our menu and we are sure it won't disappoint you. We hope you come back soon and dine with us again.

We were delighted and honored to have you dine with us. Our staff is trained ensure that everyone's experience is positive. Orlando does a great job and we are proud to have him as part of our family.

Please keep in touch and stay tuned for other surprises in and around our area. Sfe travels and we welcome you anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Bistro also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to The Plaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.