We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Bistro

The Plaza Bistro
2900 Belmar St, Only Open Friday and Saturday Evenings, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
+1 954-245-2574
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plaza Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Birch Rd
Description: Welcome to The Plaza Bistro, conveniently located on the corner of Breakers Avenue and Belmar Street. Set in the heart of North Beach Village, the Plaza Bistro offers a wide selection of American cuisine; including an international fusion from salads to pasta dishes, brick oven flatbreads and desserts. The Bistro has successfully paired imaginative food and wine with caring hospitality, comfortable surroundings and exceptional value.With outstanding dining under the stars, seasonal ingredients, an emerging beach side location and a mission to support the local community, The Plaza Bistro has changed the restaurant landscape in the North Beach Area. Dinner service hours: Sun-Thur from 5pm - 10pm, Fri & Sat from 5pm - 11pm.
Windham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unusual treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent food. Great outdoor atmosphere. Great Value! Perfect outdoor dining with music to boot. Try the duck ravioli!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Norman B,

Your review is greatly appreciated. Thank you for making us one of your dinner destinations while in Fort Lauderdale. We hope you can visit us again sometime soon.

Our food is carefully selected by a group of chefs enrolled in or graduates of the Art Institute. They prepare each dish delicately and the importance of flavor is applied.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    78
    30
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were staying at the Aqua and since our hotel and Trip Advisor gave it great reviews, we decided to try this restaurant on our recent pre-cruise stay in Fort Lauderdale. What a pleasant surprise! Seating is outdoors under charming lights and umbrellas. Waiters are prompt, friendly and courteous. You would never ever think food this good would come from a little "trailer"! I forget exactly what we had as we ate so much over our entire vacation (haha) but I remember really enjoying it. They don't serve mixed drinks, but our waiter suggested a "fruity tasting" wine for myself (I don't like wine) and I really enjoyed it! You won't be disappointed if you give this place a try. Will definitely be back next time we're in Florida! :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
AllieMBee,

Our food truck produces great food and our ambience is like no other. We try to create a memorable dining experience for all of our guests. It is great to know that you enjoyed our establishment. Our staff is committed to all of our guests and we excel in providing the best possible service.

We expect you have a great time on your cruise and we completely understand that you can't recall what exactly it was that you ate with us. Our success is only because of guests like you. We make it our job to make everyone feel like family.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us such a kind review. We await your return with welcoming arms!

Well wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Unique, fun & friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We tried this al fresco bistro based on other Trip Advisor reviews--only 4 blocks from our hotel & well worth the short walk! Yep, it's on a former tennis court & the food is cooked on a trailer, but it's great!! The margherita pizza was divine & the crab salad made me cry, it was so good! Service was friendly & welcoming--we'll return!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Pam M,

Our food was enough to make you cry... now; we are experiencing tears of joy! What a delightful review. Not so much a tennis court now; however, you are correct, our restaurant sits and is located right on top of a tennis court.

Thank you once again for your kind review. We hope you can return soon!

Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As we only had 1 night in Fort Lauderdale, we looked to the locals and tripadvisor for a recommendation. The manager of our hotel highly recommended Plaza Bistro and tripadvisor as well. We were not disappointed. Our waiter was Orlando (sp?) and he was friendly and efficent.
Although the place was packed and appeared to have a tiny kitchen, the food was outstanding. My son, who is a pizza fanatic, pronounced theirs to be outstanding. My wife had shrimp and I had the mahi mahi which was nicely prepared and tasty. The atmosphere is probably what stood out the most as there was a nice vibe and those color changing cubes were... different?
Give it a shot and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
William c,

Your decision to make us part of your dinner plans on your one night visit to Fort Lauderdale truly was an honor. To know that locals and surrounding hotels recommended us makes us feel so special. We are delighted to hear that you were not disappointed!

Orlando is a great employee and his experience in guest relations is extensive. He's a great mix to our team.

WOW! Children are always honest and for your son to pronounce our pizza to be outstanding means we are doing something right! We are so happy to know that you and your family were not disappointed!

We can't wait for your return and please make sure you let your son know that we would love for him to try of our many other dishes and let us know what he thinks!

Well wishes to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent even in unseasonal weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Just been for dinner tonight based on the reviews here. Being a Friday they had live music which was excellent unsurprising it was rather quiet. They offered a blanket which was gratefully received.
Nice short wine list with a good choice and the waiter was very helpful with the menu. The food was excellent I had surf and turf steak was as requested and very tender. I shall return later this week when warmer :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaBistroAdmin, General Manager at The Plaza Bistro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Adsandkev,

To know that we were your dinner destination on a Friday night means a lot to us. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your review truly is what is important to us. This allows for other people to choose where they'd like to have dinner and allows us to only make ourselves better.

We hope that you were able to return later during your stay! It is with such pleasure to be able to host multiple visits to our establishment and we hope that each time you leave with a memorable experience.

Please keep us in mind every time you are in the Fort Lauderdale area. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaza Bistro also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to The Plaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.