We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ice Cream!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yo Mama's Ice Cream

Yo Mama's Ice Cream
901 Sunrise Ln, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3315
954-567-6002
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sunrise, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The strawberry ice cream was amazing! I hadn't even planned on buying ice cream but it was soooooo good. The staff was friendly and gave out great samples that also had members of my group buy popcorn, another of their flagship products.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello Lydia,

THANK YOU!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!
Glad you and your friends enjoyed our shop.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Homemade ice cream with toppings available. They charge by the ounce. Very good. Staff helpful and gave free samples.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the 5 stars!!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Ice Cream & Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Employees were very friendly. Ice cream was good - wish they had a wider variety of toppings like peanut butter and wish the hot fudge was thicker but we went back 2 nights of our 4 night stay in Ft Lauderdale. Try the hot buttered popcorn flavor - it was surprisingly delicious! - they will give you free samples. Parking is tight but the store is cute and they also sell good caramel popcorn they make on site.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello Dcgogirl,

Thanks for spending time with us. Glad you enjoyed our store!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't eat there unless you like hair in your ice cream...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What can I say...at 6 months pregnant and walking in the Fort Lauderdale heat, there's nothing better than spotting a mom and pop ice cream shop right when a craving hits. After choosing my ice cream flavor, adding all my favorite toppings and eating about 1/2 of the cup, what do I see? Someone's short brown hair in my cookie dough ice cream. I was so disgusted that I threw the rest out and didn't even bother going into tell them, because really what are they going to do? Check all the ice creams for other stray hairs? Wear your hair nets people. That was DISGUSTING! This was on Saturday 4/6, for reference.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Vanessaknits,

Wow, I am truly sorry that this happened. E mail me right away so I can make it up to you.

lee@popscorn.com

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“Went here when Jaxson's was too busy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really wanted to go to Jaxson's, but lines were out the door. This was a bit of drive, as it's in north Ft. Lauderdale. It was worth the drive, as ice cream is homemade and waffle cones were fresh. Good variety of flavors. We ate our cones while checking out the surrounding souvenier shops.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee F, Owner at Yo Mama's Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Tamaralea,

Thank you for taking the drive to see us. We're glad you enjoyed our Homemade Ice Cream!

Thank you for the 4 stars!!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Mama's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Yo Mama's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo Mama's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.