We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 State Rd. 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roach Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

This place is awful, do not stay here. It is dirty, noisy, not even worth a dollar.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    71
    105
    71
    171
See reviews for
83
128
62
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawson, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

This was the worse place I have ever stayed. The toliet paper was damp, like it had be dropped in water and set out to dry. The 1 towel that was in the room was dirty. There was hair in the toliet. The room smelled musky. It was HORRIBLE. We were also told we could get a shuttle to Port Everglades to catch our boat. Shuttle didn't start untill 30 minutes after we were suppose to be there. It also ended 1 hour after we were due back, not even counting time to get off and get our luggage.

  • Liked — Nothing! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
  • Disliked — It was filthy
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

i stayed at this place because it was half the price of the h.i., where i had been staying and i only needeed a place to sleep as i had a 7am flite and they had a free ap shuttle. no problem with the ride, but the room was a pig sty.the bath room was filthy, so much that i didnt use the shower and did the hover for bms. although it served its purpose with location and transport to the ap, how much effort with the abundance of cheap labor in that area could it take to keep the rooms clean? i didnt even turn the sheets down or take my pants off when i went to bed (not sleep) LZ from NY

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

we only stayed two nights and found it was not that bad.nice swimming pool area.great wild life park across the road.we have stayed in a lot worse.the restaurant there was excellent and the price was right.did have a woman on the desk at night that could use some personality but the people were good in the daytime

  • Liked — location close to main highways
  • Disliked — could use new ac unit
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

this is one awful hotel and i see by the other reports that we
aren't the only ones with this opinion. we called twice to
confirm that they would pick us up at the airport after 10 pm
and once we arrived they said the service stopped at 10 and
we should find our own way! find a better hotel this pigpen
should be shut down!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Almost cancelled our stay after reading the reviews, but for the price decided to give it a try since we didn't expect a 5 star hotel for the price we were paying and the shuttle was a plus. There were three couples in our party and we booked two rooms. We called for the shuttle from the airport and it arrived within 15 minutes. Upon arriving the hotel looked fine from the outside. Checked in and asked for a handicapped room ,one in our party had a wheelchair ,and were accomodated with a non-smoking one on the first floor. The room was clean, "no bugs", air conditioner working, bathroom had towels, soap and shampoo.
The attached restaurant was nothing fancy. The food was fine and the waitress pleasant. There even was entertainment! There were three shuttles. One going to the airport and two going to the port. There were several people waiting, but it went smoothly and the driver was helpful. The hotel is old and renovations are going on so maybe we were lucky with our rooms, but can't complain. The pool looked fine even though we didn't use it and the surrounding grounds could have used some upkeep. So for an overnight stay for the price we found it quite adequate.

  • Liked — near airport and cruse port
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I went there for my first ever stay in fl. It was'nt the greatest experience but it was'nt the worse either. The room was damp and smelled like mold but it went away after a lil while. The room was cleaned every day the staff was nice. The pool was clean and the area around it was ok. It was also cheap if you are looking for a cheap place just to shower and sleep then this would be it. Your not in your room all the time so what difference does it really make?

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 2460 State Rd. 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Red Carpet Inn Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.