We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cafe italia

cafe italia
3471 North Federal Highway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306-1019
+1 954-561-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $12 - $35
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

best prosciutto and buffalo mozzarella! came in just before 5:30 and he let me sit in and watch some soccer that was one with prosciutto and buffalo mozzarella! and with the bread, salt and olive oil its the best lunch i had in a long time

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic...real Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food was fantastic. We had a group of 8 for dinner. Half of them just arrived from Italy. What we ate was all unbelievable. Yellow tail, sea bass, carbonara, risotto and the veal chop. Fresh, simple and fantastic. Our friends from Italy still rave about it whenever we speak. We have returned 8 times so far this year an cannot say enough. Compliments Francesco and thank you for your personal service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Eaten here 60 plus times, usually great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

For appetizer, split porchini mushroom pasta. For dinner, fish, as long as FRESH, is excellent. All pasta dishes are great. Bring your own vino for $10 corkage fee. Owner Francesa makes you feel like you are eating in Italy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Don't be fooled by the unassuming location on the first floor of the Roselli building, this is Italian at it's finest. We have frequented this place for many years now and always look forward to our visit. The chef/owner will sit at the table to discuss the menu with you. The decor is simple but if you want great food at a good price try this place. I ususally get the snapper but all the dishes are fabulous. There are more romantic places if you want that (casa d'angelo) but for good Italian food this place can't be beat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service - Reminded Us of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Cafe Italia was recommended to us from a local Lauderdale by the Sea resident - said if you like Italian it's one of the best around - not to be fooled by the location (strip mall). Had a little difficulty finding it but they had kept our reservation for 5 despite us being a bit late. Owner (I presume - elderly man) greeted us, sat us and welcomed us asking how we heard about them. I'll get right to the food - fresh bread was among the best we've ever eaten, antipasti of eggplant rolotini were excellent (filled with broccoli, cheese, with a fresh marinara sauce), salads that came with the meals were excellent - light, fresh and provided a great foundation for what was to come; veal marsal was very good with side of pasta, meatballs excellent, fresh fish of the day excellent, lasagna bollanese excellent and the youngest loved her spaghetti with marinara (note: the owner was disappointed with the lasgna and spaghetti orders and thought we should have ordered other items. The table next to us had great looking pasta with shrimp and broccoli and they also had the mixed seafood item - a mound of assorted seafoods with linguini I believe (both looked amazing and all were completely gone when they left). Would highly recommend this place and yes, venture out and enjoy the fresh seafood and fish Florida has to offer with Cafe Italia's take on them. You may take in your own wine for nominal corking fee (many others did, but we opted for a good bottle of cab for a very reasonable $30). This place is great - as almost everyone else in the place were locals - as another reviewer may have mentioned - a nice statement for the place. Lastly, if you love Olive Garden or any other chain, Cafe Italia is likely NOT for you..

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe italia also viewed

 

Been to cafe italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cafe italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.