We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (Downtown Fort Lauderdale)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #34 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Basic, but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After staying in several Hilton hotels in/around the Ft. Lauderdale area, this Hampton Inn is actually much better. The rooms are basic, but very neat, modern, and clean. I would stay here again over other Hilton hotels in Ft. Lauderdale. There is not much to walk to in the evening in the area, but not a problem if you have a car. The staff is nice. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms good sized. My only complaint would be about the fact that the breakfast was poorly stocked when we were there. It was a bit messy and out of several items. I'm sure they would have re-stocked it if we had stuck around. I was fine with cold cereal. Breakfast is complimentary for everyone. As a Gold member, we got a room on the top floor, 2 drink coupons, and a free snack. Good job, Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank-You for choosing the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center - Downtown. I am always delighted to read reviews that offer extensive feedback. This way I am able to offer a pat on the back to my team with a little constructive criticism in efforts to improve for your next stay! At the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center / Downtown we do try very hard to ensure every guest is treated like an individual and your stay is memorable. We did just add a full service bar with food items on the second floor that has proven to be a real hit with our guests! We are just a few short blocks to Trendy Las Olas Blvd. which boasts over 40 restaurants and boutique shopping... If you do not want to walk a taxi is about $5.00 / 5 minutes away ( very convenient ).

Thank-You for your positive comments! I look forward to seeing you and your colleagues during your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    166
    77
    24
    12
See reviews for
115
154
54
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great location for our visit to the Ft. Lauderdale Int'l Boat Show. Easy reservation, offers no fee cancellation within 24 hours prior. Easy check in, received complimentary drink for business trip. Room was very good, comfortable temp, comfortable bed. Check out was exceptionally easy. Complimentary breakfast offered everything you could ask for. Definitely recommended! My only complaint would be the rate of the room which was a shocking 50% higher than if I stayed the very next week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello from Fort Lauderdale ,


Thank-You for choosing the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City center / Downtown. You are correct! We are a great location in proximity to so many things ( The Fort Lauderdale Boat Show , fortune 500 companies, Trendy Las Olas , Fort Lauderdale Beaches and so much more ). Our rates do fluctuate given supply and demand. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that my team treated you well.

I do look forward to seeing you on our next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliso viejo, ca, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

very nice for a quick turn around ( 1 or 2 days, business room good for 30 to 60 people, breakfast okay, not special, value okay, expected a little lower rate for the time of year, no shuttle to airport, around a $20.00 cab ride. Overall I would give it a (B-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Greetings from sunny Fort Lauderdale -

I am excited that you took the time to share your experience with us. I see that you visited us during our Fort Lauderdale Boat Show which is a great annual event that sells the area plus some out ( hence the higher rates ) . I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and the area. Our hotel is just few blocks or a $5.00 / 5 minute taxi ride away from Trendy Las Olas which has great shopping and restaurants!

I do look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stay at this location pretty much every week for business and the staff and management is superb. Cheryl and her staff are very special people. They have been very accommodating to me and my company. The hotel is very clean, very nice and a great location!

I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank-You for choosing the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center / Downtown. As you know as one of our regulars we do try to make everyone of our guests experiences personal and memorable. We love what we do and it shows ... Hopefully, while you are in town you have a chance to spend a little time on Las Olas that is only a few short blocks from us that boasts over 40 restaurants and boutique shopping . A nice little get away after a hard day at the office!

I hope to see you and your colleagues on your next stay at the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City center / Downtown!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Hampton Inn at City Center had everything that we look for in a hotel and we were pleasantly surprised! It was clean, staff were helpful and accommodating, and the hotel and parking garage felt very safe and secure. We were in town for only 1 day for an event but wish we would've stayed longer! From the moment we walked in, we felt catered to. We were put on a waiting list for an early check in and able to get in our room a little earlier than normal. I didn't catch the guys name who assisted us but he was great (afternoon of 11/2/13)! The front desk staff even gave a courtesy call to make sure we were completely satisfied with our room. The free breakfast buffet was much more than we expected; not just a continental breakfast, but hot foods such as eggs, sausage, and french toast sticks. The pool and jacuzzi area looked very nice, unfortunately we did not get to use it this trip! The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The lobby bar on the 2nd floor was nice, we would have gone sooner, but it didn't open until 5. The 2 free drink tickets were a nice treat! The entertainment area full of bars, restaurants, and museums are a quick cab ride or walk away. We ended up walking to everything. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello from Sunny Fort Lauderdale!

Thank-You for your comments! We are a great value and offer amenities that prove to have a cost savings benefit. Complimentary breakfast , shuttle for two to Port Everglades, free wifi , two free drink tickets at check in for our brand new full service bar with tapas food items as well as a Shop and Drop package that offers a shopping and meal gist card along with other goodies... definitly something to look into!


I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sunny Fort Lauderdale!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

While on business we stayed four nights at this property. As others have reviewed the location to the airport, Las Olas and the Riverfront is great. Exceptionally clean and wonderful bed/bedding.
David at the front desk was exceptionally accommodating. The breakfast served is very good for yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, muffins, oat meal and waffles. The scrambled eggs were weird and the potatoes were tasteless. The pool area is very nice and well maintained. Overall it is an excellent property for the money. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had four rooms on the 8th floor. All were fine with pleasant views. One was adjacent to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Greetings from Fort Lauderdale -


I am always excited to read a review with some meat and potatoes to it ... the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center is centrally located right in the heart of downtown Fort Lauderdale! Just moments from Trendy Las Olas and the Riverfront. Great Location! Easily walk-able or a $5.00 / 5 minute taxi ride ... Our rooms are exceptionally clean with great attention to detail as I believe I do have the best housekeeping director out there ... She loves what she does! My staff truly loves what they do ... The entire team goes above and beyond daily to ensure great service and personal attention. I do hope to see you on your next trip to Sunny Fort Lauderdale!


Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

October 23, 2013
Kelley Malone
General Manager
Fort Lauderdale- City Center/Downtown
Dear Ms. Malone,
I want to tell you about one of your wonderful employees.
Her name is Kelley Matera. Kelley is a really great representative for your company.
Kelley has wonderful customer service skills and she makes the customers (like me) feel like a million dollars.
I had a special request (high floor, two beds, etc) and Kelley was able to accommodate my needs.
I only fly Delta. I only rent cars from Avis, I own a Volvo and I love staying at the Hampton Inn on North Andrews Avenue when I am in Fort Lauderdale. I am super brand loyal to Delta, Avis,Volvo and Hampton Inn/Hilton.
I am brand loyal to those four brands because of people like Kelley Matera.
Please tell Kelley how much I appreciate the kind way that she treated me.
I am so very impressed with Kelley.
Please give her some gold stars.
Thank you.
jDS
PLEASE TURN THE MUSAC OFF IN THE BREAKFAST AREA IN THE MORNING. THE TELEVISION IS BLARING AND THE MUSAC IS BLARING AND IT IS DRIVING ME NUTS... I HAVE ASKED SEVERAL OF YOUR STAFF IF THEY WOULD PLEASE TURN THE MUSAC OFF DURING BREAKFAST. NOBODY SEEMS TO BE ABLE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU FOR MEETING WITH ME.. JDS Gainesville Florida

Room Tip: Ask Kelley to help you get a nice room. Kelley is a really great staff person at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton_GMCityCenter, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Greetings from Sunny Fort Lauderdale!

I appreciate the time you took to write a review and note one of our shining star employees... Kelly is a keeper for sure! At the Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale City Center we always try to ensure great service with the emphasis on individual attention and exceeding and anticipating your needs! As for the musac... This was resolved within moments of your request after we met! Thank-You for brining it to my attention ... I do understand your frustration.


Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.

Address: 250 North Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Downtown Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamically located in the heart of Fort Lauderdale exciting downtown district, easy access to Las Olas shopping and entertainment district, Port Everglades, Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport and beaches. We feature 156 appointed guestrooms featuring FREE HIGH-SPEED internet access, FREE HOT BREAKFAST, FREE local calls, FREE parking w/gated & covered parking available, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, 2 telephones w/voice mail, TV w/extended cable, business center, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, convenience store, coin laundry, hospitality suite, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Downtown - City Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hampton Inn City Center
Fort Lauderdale Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.