We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infamous Elbo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elbo Room

Elbo Room
Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #319 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Northport, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Infamous Elbo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rating is for the historical/hysterical site still being open. The infamous Elbo Room. People go to say they have, enjoy the location directly across from the ocean and 1 block from the historical International Swimming Hall of Fame (very worth seeing). It is VERY ultra casual and rustic. However, I prefer to see very casual and clean go hand-in-hand. I'm not talking about sand. How about a coat of fresh paint, maybe wash the chairs, tables, bar, bathrooms - this place gets very busy on a weekend night with live music. Fun. Reward your customers with a little spiff up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great night! (Rough morning)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had the best time at the Elbo Room during a recent trip to sunny Fort Lauderdale. (Had to stop here as my boyfriends parents first met here in the 60's! Aww..) It's a prime spot right on the beach. Drinks were tourist prices (we found cheaper "happy hour" drink down the road). But still hung out in the afternoon and came back for more in the evening (till they literally kicked us out!) Can't even remember if the service was good or bad, but it just seemed like The Place To Be if you're not into the club scene. Some live music, and cool people (mostly tourists there to have fun!) Personal highlight: rubbing elbows with a couple of the Toronto Maple Leafs (and their dads!) at the Elbo Room the night before their game.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We even had our portrait drawn for free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I found out the Elbo Room was famous as I was sitting there having a beer. I had no idea it had been in a movie and was a staple of Fort Lauderdale. It was fun being in a place with that much nostalgia, and I agree with other people, the pictures on the wall were very cool to look over. As we sat, listening to live music, an artist came by with a portrait he had sketched of my boyfriend and I. How fun! He said it was free, but being the mother of a starving artist, I insisted we pay him for the sketch.
Great bartender, great music, and as all places in that location, great people watching. I'll go back again next time we're in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Staple of Fort Lauderdale and Spring Break History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have never ate at the Elbo Room, so i cannot attest to their food but I can tell you that I always had a good time here. The Elbo Room in Fort Lauderdale has been in business for a long time (i think they just had a big anniversary) without much change. It has photographs all over the walls of Spring Break past. Friendly bartenders who are knowledgeable about the area and the Elbo Room history. It is right across from the beach, so you can walk right in with your flip flops and be casual. No frills about it, just a bars bar. Outdoor seating available. Just a really fun place with a lot of history. I really appreciate the Elbo Room and hope it stays around for years to come!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Had better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I wasn't a fan of this place. It has a great location for hanging out, drinking, meeting people (30 and under) but I wasn't impressed by the service. We had to get our own drinks. There is some small seating outside, don't move though, someone will take your seat. Not a very clean bar/restaurant either. Tables, stools not wiped down. Small dance floor and you would think with there being history here it would have better upkeep. We never went back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elbo Room also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Elbo Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbo Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.