We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a place not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fort Lauderdale Breakfast House

Old Fort Lauderdale Breakfast House
333 Himmarshee St, Fort Lauderdale, FL
(954) 530-7520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #401 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This is a place not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This restaurant does so many things right that you wonder why it so special when you find one that does. First time try to have breakfast here, you will understand how it got it's name. Fresh baked breads and pastries, local free range eggs, outrageous house made sausage and some of the best cheese grits. Top this off with excellent service, beautiful surroundings and free parking and you can't find anything that would keep you from visiting here frequently. Do not miss this new favorite of ours!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    48
    26
    17
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Come with an appetite and leave with a doggy bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate here mid morning on a Sunday in September. There was a queue of both locals and people like us who had received a recommendation. The guy at front desk estimated the wait time and encouraged us to go for a walk rather than just melt in the sunshine. Minutes later ha came sprinting down the street to say a table would be coming free sooner than he thought and asked us to head back.
Inside freshly squeezed juices were delicious and the breakfast menu big enough to cater for all tastes. I had an egg sandwich- lightly scrambled egg and spicy tomatoes in thick cut fresh baked slices of bread and a generous side of thick cut crispy bacon. My friend had a buttermilk pancake that could have passed as a family sized sponge - cooked to perfection and smothered in bananas and maple syrup.
Quality food and enough of it to satisfy even the biggest appetites.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I changed my views.. Glad I went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went back to this place after a bad experience. Glad I did. Staff was friendly , food was great! Try the BLT. Yum! The host told me they are now serving dinner. I'm going to try it

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Only my first visit but it's the best breakfast I've had in Fort Lauderdale for sure.......everything is delicious and local. The best tasting bread, real butter, fresh farmhouse eggs.....I wouldn't even call it gourmet; just the best tasting! I can't wait to go back for dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We haven't dined here for dinner yet (soon!), but have been several times for b'fast. Expect a wait, especially if you go on the first Sunday of the month, when the Sunday Jazz Brunch takes place in the park right across the street. No seating or shade while you are waiting, but the staff does a good job of trying to move the line as quickly as possible. Inside is crowded, but not uncomfortable. Food is wonderful. The corn pancake everyone raves about is a must-have for us and I really love their omelets. Light, fresh and delicious. Only real complaint for us is their coffee service. They do not take a pot around and it looks like they have to order coffee from the kitchen and wait for them to pour and deliver to the wait staff for pick up. Takes a lot of time and even longer for refills - since they don't really refill, but have to order additional cups. Because it takes so long you are never sure if the staff has forgotten and they get a little testy when you ask again. Is it cheaper this way? Don't know, but it is really, really inefficient and borderline annoying. I hope they will look at this and change it. Everything else is so wonderful, it's a shame to have this glitch. BTW - they play really, really good music, but inside is so noisy it is hard to hear.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Lauderdale Breakfast House also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Old Fort Lauderdale Breakfast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fort Lauderdale Breakfast House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.