We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai Restaurant Along Ft. Lauderdale's Route 1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge

Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge
1620 N. Federal Highway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
954 306 2663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Korean, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Dapur is the most recent and highly anticipated creation by renowned designer, chef and restaurateur Edi Mulyanto, who conceived Fort Lauderdale's most popular Asian and Thai restaurant. With his big dreams and cutting edge concepts, Mulyanto is always one step ahead. Alongside Mulyanto is one of South Florida's most sought-after chef. Almunir, has been known for innovative Indonesian and Malaysian cuisine. His artful dishes receive praise from critics around the world. Simply put, Dapur will be a cool, trendy spot with great food and drinks that will keep you coming back for more.
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Thai Restaurant Along Ft. Lauderdale's Route 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Dapur had an interesting vibe going on. A separate room for parties and drinks, another for dining, very pretty. The food was interesting and tasty, not spectacular. Service was good. Tapas was available, as were larger portions, and the variety of entrees was good. Our crew of diners were pleased by what they ate, and we would recommend Dapur on a night when you wanted to eat in a pleasant atmosphere and not gorge on heavy foods.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    50
    17
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh, Friendly, Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

THANK YOU for another wonderful dining experience! This was our third visit and now that each one has been outstanding, it's high time we sing your praises.
We try new dishes each time and the food always tastes fresh and made with skill. One of our favorites is the Rock Shrimp...OMG!
This was our favorite visit because we adored our server, Duvier. He is experienced, friendly, able to make fantastic suggestions and he knew just the right balance of times to check on us and times to leave us enjoy ourselves. He even brought us a sample of something we were oogling over (at someone else's table)! A+ service!. He, and this whole place have beautiful energy - a real atmosphere here - to include the huge Buddha and alter with fresh pineapples to feed him. On our way out, we got to meet the owner, who was so humble and fun to chat with. We felt so welcomed and enjoyed every single minute of our 2 hour experience! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!
Love & Light from, "The Ladies in White."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food ... worst service ever.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went with two friends and had no reservation. After arriving at 7:20, we waited at the bar for at least an hour. Then it took another half hour to get the attention of our waiter. Basically, it seemed that everything there is measured in half hour increments. Over three hours later, we were finally out the door and on our way home. All of that would make me nuts, except the food was outrageously good. We had scallops, kimchi, tuna tartar and short ribs. The ribs were disgustingly fat and were pretty much inedible. Everything else was award winning.

I am torn about this restaurant. If they got rid of the ridiculously horrid waiter and sped up the delivery of food, this would be Ft Lauderdale's best restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good service and varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Ordering tapas style here gives you a taste of lots of dishes. Some better than others. The coco shrimp was excellent and the tempura calamari tasty. There were brussels sprouts sent to the table compliments of Eddie the owner and they were the tastiest Brussels sprouts I have ever tasted, crispy fried with maybe a bit of garlic.....very interesting considering I avoid them at all costs.

The Martabak beef didn't really do it for me but the chicken dumplings were lovely.

Service was great from Duvier who was very friendly and Eddie took time to come and chat and sent over some complimentary drinks which was greatly appreciated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Small Portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Unfortunately we went to have a nice dinner and drinks sitting at the bar. The place was nice inside but empty for a Friday night. DJ was good and then we ordered. $16.00 for 3 Small Scallops on a plate hence why they call their dishes SMALL PLATES. The Brussels Sprouts were good but again cut in very small pieces to look like a bowl of food but again SMALL but tasty. Then came the Short Ribs which was one rib cut paper thin into 4 pieces and very under cooked to the point of raw. VERY dissatisfied. Drinks were good but will not go back if they gave me free meal.. I did speak to the manager/owner and to let him know after the meal that we were not looking for discounts and had already paid but we were dissatisfied with the meal and the quantity. It is very rare I can eat with another person 6 small plates and 2 drinks each spend 115.00 dollars and still be hungry. All he could say is well what do you want me to do? and It costs a lot of money because we are slow so we cut back. I thought that was a very poor response. Good luck if you go but I will not be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dapur Asian Tapas & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.