We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to get run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martindale at the Beach

Save Saved
You added Martindale at the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martindale at the Beach
3016 Bayshore Dr., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Starting to get run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I've been to the Martindale for several years now and with each visit I keep hoping they will have spruced it up but instead each time I visit it keeps looking more run down.

I can quickly name a few issues I encountered: peeling bathtub finish (can't take a bath), windows that were cracked and couldn't close properly so you heard the kids partying late at night, floor tiles cracked, dead plants throughout the grounds (sprinkler system appears not to work), some times no hot water, sometimes scalding hot water in the shower, hard mattresses and noisy beds, television speaker appeared blown so the audio was distorted, knob broken on stove.

Also, the clientele used to be either families or older adults but this time there were lots of college kids staying at the adjacent Sandy Shores motel (also managed by Sable Resorts same as Martindale and Shell) and they partied till the early morning so much that I was woken up three nights out of six between 2 AM and 5 AM. I understand it was March Break but the motel should really invest in night time security and have someone come around every hour. It's unacceptable to allow a party to occur and let college kids drink and swim in the pool in the middle of the night for several hours.

Unfortunately I feel this is my last time to visit the Martindale in a while. The only positive thing I can write is that it's inexpensive and close to the beach. However ever since the W went up across the street, even the location is impacted as there is a constant wind-tunnel effect on Bayshore from the high-rises surrounding the Martindale.

Room Tip: Because of the poor quality of the windows, rooms on the west side facing the Sandy Shores get all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wow, is this place ever ready for the wreaking ball! What a decrepit, tired, filthy dirty, run down, trapped in the 50's dump.
There were more tiles broken on the floor than not and was it ever filthy! A quick walk across the tile floor and my white socks were black on the bottoms. The bathroom was something out of a SAW movie. There was not enough room between the toilet bowl and the wall to walk past and get into the shower. And the tile in the shower had been painted so many tiles that it was a dismal hodge podge of various flaking spray paint colors, old cracked tiles, places where the original 50's tile was showing through - just unbelievable that anyone would try to rent anything so dilapidated! The furniture was such a milieu of junk dragged in from some local Goodwill or picked up off the curb as to defy adequate description. And the kitchen had a refrigerator that had a compressor that buzzed so loudly that you would think you were close to the airport and a jet was about to land.
The photo's are all extremely deceptive and must have been photo-shopped or from many years ago!! And it is over 700 feet to the beach - double checked it with my GPS. There is just not one good thing I could try to find to say about this dump. As I said when I began, just raze it and put it out of it's misery and thereby putting everyone else out of theirs!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Better than Sandy Shores. Stayed at Sandy Shores (on the way to the Florida Keys) the previous weekend and had booked one night on the return trip at Sandy Shores again. The rooms were double booked so they moved us to the Martindale instead. We needed a two bedroom and they gave us two adjoining rooms. This was a large room with a spacious living room, kitchen good sized bedroom and moderate sized adjoining room with its own bathroom. Not fancy but clean and neat. The beds were very squeaky to say the least but for one night they were comfortable. Nice quite swimming pool and surrounding area. Very close to the beach. I would stay here again for a weekend but for a week long trip I would look for a bit more comfort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booking.com described this accommodation as a hotel. I booked for two nights. On arrival we discovered this was a motel a sign directed us to check in at an office in a premises next door. It was late in the evening and after travelling for over ten hours the last thing we needed was to end up standing outside this office for over 30 mins waiting on the receptionist to turn up. We were booked into a room called the "hideaway" . The room was probably the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. The front and back door in this studio were not fit for purpose the rear door did not close completely you could see daylight through a gap. The tiled floor was not clean after having a shower the soles of my feet were black with the dust on the bathroom floor. ( i told the receptionist the next day that the towels were dirty because we used them to clean the floor) The only positive thing I can say about this motel was its location it was close to the beach and the bed was clean and comfortable. But would advise anyone to check the room before checking in.

Room Tip: Please look before you book a room in this motel not a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Awful, very poor motel. Totally different compared to information in internet.
Lazy and tired (to life?) person in reception, always face upside down.

Room was crappy. Warm water available, only thing to be happy.

Free parking in front of the mote was only positive thing.

Room Tip: Do not book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a convention nearby. When we first arrived the room was clean and neat. After several days we had to find a maid to get fresh towels everyday and they never made up the bed. My main concern was that the bathroom was clean, which it was. The pool is nice and out of the way and the walk to the beach was short and convenient. It is an old place so you can't look too hard at the construction but it was okay. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sontag
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were in Ft Lauderdale for a family reunion. The hotel staff was excellent. Our room was
spacious, very clean. We loved having the kitchen so we could make coffee etc. The hotel
was very accomodating in allowing us to utilize the outdoor patios for our get together.
The beach and shopping/restaurants were all within easy walking distance.
We will recommend this hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martindale at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martindale at the Beach

Address: 3016 Bayshore Dr., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Martindale at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martindale At The Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martindale at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.