We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tried it again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 State Road 84 West, I-95 at Exit #27, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Albany ny
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“tried it again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were sailing out on the 19th of Jan. so we only needed a 1 night stay. We had stayed here before and the only thing that changed was the flooring. They took out the old smelly carpet and put in some linoleum type flooring. The staff was very nice,but this place really needs to totally renovated. The bedding was the worse for sleeping. Next years cruise we will stay some place else. Cheaper isn't always better.

Room Tip: a few restaurants and a winn dixie/publix were within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    22
    12
    20
See reviews for
12
26
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

So, after flying in early in the morning, I was looking for something close and cheap to hold me over until I could get a better room. They gave me a room that was a double bed, handicap access, and smoking. I should have known better. I walked into the hallway and there was a puddle of water.. ON THE CARPET. I walked into my room and it smelled like a dirty nursing home. And it reeked of smoke. I almost gagged opening the door. It is truly as bad as the reviews. I immediately went inside and asked for a refund. They should be immediately stripped of the franchise title.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. That's my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Upon arriving at the motel we realized it was not in the best of neighborhoods. Upon checking in the rate quoted was not the rate charged and I had the front desk call corporate who told me there was nothing they could do. I was not happy but only having one night to meet with friends we did not have the luxury to drive around looking for a room. Which would have been difficult to find in this area because we were right by the cruise ships and what I had found on line was that most of the places were booked. Then when we went to our room it smelled very much from cigarette smoke which it was a non smoking room. The bed sheets also smelled of cigarette smoke as did the hall and the maids room which tells me the maids were smoking in the linen room thus the smell. I will never stay at this or any Motel 6 ever again. The rate change was the topper for me!

Room Tip: I don't think there is one room that would be any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let me start by saying we had just spent a week in a 2 bedroom suite at Wyndham Palm-Aire and needed a 1 night stay before catching our flight the following day. We were very relunctant after reading the reviews about bugs, lice, dirty sheets, nothing in the room working, smell in the hall, bad location...you get the idea. After all it was just for 1 night, close to the airport and price was O.K. We decided to go for it and was pleasantly surprised. Check in was quick and friendly, room was clean and no bugs and everything worked including hot water in the shower. We still had a rent car so going out to dinner was no problem. I never felt threatened by the area, Yes there was some odor in the hall but not in the room. It served our purpose and would stay there agin if the need arises.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok...lets just start by saying...I am not a hotel snob at all. Otherwise I would not book a Motel 6 in the first place. I always hear...you get what you pay for...and with this motel...its very true. The rate was great...and location for what I wanted to do was also great. But...its clear that the hotel staff and management do not care about its guests. The carpets in the hallways...and the room were in need of serious cleaning. The air conditioner had some kinda smell coming from it...and not a very pleasant one...but even the a/c in the hallway had the same smell...so I knew changing rooms would not end up any better. The sheets and towels were clean...thank goodness. Sooo...I opted to spray my room often with Lysol Air Spray...when I was in the room. I would never stay there again...and would not recommend this one to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place stinks really bad and is in dire need of some attention. You are better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I cannot believe this is a Motel 6. It reminds me of a cheap hotel on Lincoln ave in Chicago. If you get there late you deal with the front dest thru a security window outside the place. The staff was fine and friendly... those poor folks have to work there so give them a break. First room we got had a stench that hit us when we walked in the room...needless to say we asked for another room. Next room was nicer and smelled better since it had recently gotten a new fresh plastic shower curtain....ah that new plastic smell ! Bed was surprisingly comfortable and no sign of bugs. Towels were clean & fresh along with the bedding. Room carpet was much newer then the "worn to the bone" hallway carpeting. Morning coffee was just that in a styro cup w/ powdered creamer. Bottom line, it was a place to crash after our plane arrived at FLL about 1AM...and we were out by 10 AM. Didn't unpack anything, quicky shower and off we were. For the price of about 75 bucks you really cannot complain. Oh yea, and for some reason they charge you a few bucks less if your traveling solo.....so just say your alone and save about 6 bucks.....they will never check so book the room with your wife or whoever in the car.

Room Tip: Dunkin down the street for coffee, avoid the rear rooms that face the parking lot....seedy looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1801 State Road 84 West, I-95 at Exit #27, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Ft. Lauderdale is located near shopping and dining. Visit Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center, Boomer's, or the Museum of Discovery and Science. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Motel Six Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Motel Six
Fort Lauderdale Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.