We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pillars!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Hoboken, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Pillars!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

We just stayed at the pillars for a 3 day weekend getaway and absolutely loved it. We read reviews of the Pillars on Tripadvisor before booking and wondered what the staff could possibly do to deserve such raving reviews, and after staying there, we saw it for ourselves. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful at all times and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant. They were very flexible with our check-in/check-out times and Christopher and Jessica (who were both just wonderful) gladly offered many fantastic restaurant recommendations upon our request. There is food available from the hotel kitchen, which you can eat just about everywhere-including the many tables and chairs outside the rooms, around the pool, and on the dock. The pool is lovely with padded lounge chairs with pillows, free lemonade all day, and a beautiful view of the intercoastal. The beach is just a short walk away, which made it easy to walk over just for a quick swim whenever we felt like it. We really felt like the hotel was in a good location-although not directly on the beach or Las Olas Blvd, it sits somewhat between all the major spots, so nothing is too far away by cab or watertaxi (which stops at the hotel). Our room was very clean and cozy, and although it was smaller than most hotel rooms, the amenities more than made up for it. I do not recommend this hotel to families with children, however, it is definitely more of place for couples and groups of adults. There is definitely a reason that this hotel is rated #1 in Ft. Lauderdale though-We can't wait to go back and enjoy another vacation at the Pillars!!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing-it was all great!
  • Tips/Secrets — go to Charley's Crab for a great dining experience to complete your trip
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    79
    21
    15
    3
See reviews for
48
375
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

What a great place.

After a flight from Scotland then a drive from Orlando this hotel came as a very pleasant rest place for 3 days prior to our cruise.

Manager gave us a great welcome and glass of wine... nothing too much trouuble.

Good parking, wireless internet, good food nearby and hotel food first class on their deck by the river.

Cannot praise this place enough!!

  • Liked — small quality hotel
  • Disliked — builders!!
  • Tips/Secrets — pool room upper floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

I am in the international hotel business and deal with the “front of the house” managing guests and service. I am very impressed with the location of the Pillars Hotel, the staff and amenities.

When selecting any hotel, you should write a list of things that are important to you e.g. noise concerns, free parking, can I deal with having a shower and not a bathtub etc. Once your list is compiled, search for hotels, inns, B & B’s etc. that match your personal needs and preferences.

I have stayed at all of the chain hotels in the Ft. Lauderdale area and I can assure you that it will be hard to find free parking and free internet in which The Pillars offers.

Location: 2 blocks from the beach and all bar and restaurants on A1A-where all the action is at. If you don't plan to go out of Ft. Lauderdale, you won't need a car. Although, if you do have a car, the parking at the Pillars is either right in front or to the side of the hotel on a short residential street.

The hotel is overall very peaceful. Even if you do have the only room that is in the front of the hotel with the private courtyard, I found it quiet unlike the review from the members in Scotland. As for the private courtyard, anyone can see you from high above albeit if you are on your balcony in any of the other rooms, you can be seen as well. I would only caution that indeed this room does have a small bathroom with a shower only. If you ask what you are getting beforehand and express what you need in a hotel room, you can make an informed decision hence no disappointments.

You can sit on the dock area and watch the yachts go by on a comfy lounge chair. You can also dine in this same area which is very romantic in the evenings. For a great convenience, the inter-coastal water taxi stops right at the hotel dock.

Staff: Friendly, personable and outgoing! You will get far better service and more for your money here than at any chain hotel. They bend over backwards for you as they feel you are a guest in their home, not a nuisance at their workplace.

This is a wonderful hotel if you are looking for tranquility, free internet and parking, friendly service and more personal attention than any chain hotel can ever offer!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at the Pillars the Friday night before we departed on a weeklong Caribbean cruise. We wish we had stayed at the Pillars for the week instead! The hotel is a small, charming property. We were greeted by the manager who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and take good care of us. The package we booked included transportation from the airport and to our cruise ship, a bottle of wine, and breakfast in bed. The hotel staff brought us bug repellent to make sure we wouldn't be eaten alive by mosquitos and helped us with umbrellas during a sudden downpour. The room was small, but very comfortable with high quality linens and toiletries. The continental breakfast was tasty. All in all, we felt very comfortable and would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Fort Lauderdale.

  • Liked — great service, location, room comfort and amenities
  • Disliked — location difficult to find, room a bit cramped, price
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We just returned from a 6 day, 5 night stay at The Pillars. The stay was just wonderful. Our room was pool side, quite and always clean. Anything we needed was graciously gotten. Thomas and Jessica were great. It is just 1 block from the beach and the water taxi stops directly at this hotel. The perfect vacation retreat. WE will definately stay again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — Best rooms are poolside!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed at The Pillars at New River Sound in March of 2006. This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. We stayed in the Plantation Suite, Room 21. This is a lower priced room than most suites. The room was gorgeous with careful attention paid to details. The setting is on a river with a 5 minute walk to the beach. The staff was wonderful and can't do enough to please their guests. Breakfast is available daily and we had ours every morning on the upstairs patio. The pool and grounds are extremely well cared for. There are even towels and drinks available poolside. Also, a resident iguana can be seen roaming the grounds. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

My husband and are big fans of the Pillars. A great little hotel in a great spot in Fort Lauderdale - located on the Intercoastal and only a few minutes from the beach. The rooms are very warm and comfortable and the service is exceptional. However, when making plans for a trip to Florida this fall, we were surprised to note that the Pillars is reported on Tripadvisor as having an average nightly room rate of $448! We became quite concerned about the affordability of staying there so we contacted the hotel directly and were pleased and relieved to find out that the their average rate is in fact somewhat lower than the reported average.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillars Hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH) and a Conde Nast Johansen selected hotel. The property is an elegant and sophisticated 18 room hotel ideally located right on the Intracoastal Waterway, and only a few short steps from the beach. The Pillars offers its hotel guests an outstanding dining experience and an exceptional level of personal service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.