We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Lovely as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our recent visit to the Pillars Hotel was as perfect as we have come to expect, after visiting this peaceful oasis severeal times over the years. We enjoy the beautiful ambience tucked away behind the busy main road and find the staff at the hotel very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The rooms are always extremely clean which is a big factor for us. The dining is excellent and to have a meal oceanside is so lovely. it is difficult to choose from the wonderful selections on the menu and the servers are excellent.
i love the warm pool and the peacefulness sitting outside amongst the palms and the orchids.
Nick, Isabella, Sheri and Carmen are always ready to accommodate any requests willingly.
i have no complaints and will definitley return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    90
    27
    15
    4
See reviews for
55
440
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely small hotel, great staff, and a good location to enjoy Lauderdale but it has a serious flaw. The hotel allows smoking on the grounds which can be very annoying if you want to enjoy seating outside. We wanted to have dinner outside our room but the people next to us were smoking like a chimney and we were down wind. This is uncomfortable and unhealthy. There is no reason this should be the case. The footprint of this hotel is too small to allow on campus.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked The Pillars last-minute through Travelocity and could not have been happier with our choice. We were immediately welcomed with a drink and walked down to the intracoastal to check out the view. It was amazing. The pool was just the right size with a good number of chairs and loungers. We ended up walking around Fort Lauderdale while our room was set up. We were in the room right next to the reception, but it was not an issue for us. The room was large, with soft music being played, extremely neat and the bathroom was huge. I am only assuming this was the ADA room. After 3 nights sleeping on a fold-out couch of my in-laws, the kind-size bed was a welcome relief for my sore back!

We were also able to reserve a table for dinner....do not miss this! The view, service and company was amazing. If we decide to come back to Fort Lauderdale, we will make sure not to miss The Pillars!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Escaped the latest snowstorm up North to a warm ( in many ways) welcome at The Pillars. A lovely oasis secluded from the HighRises in Lauderdale. Every newcomer, including ourselves, heads immediately to the beautiful views of the Inter-coastal. It was hard to leave our Plantation Suite which was strikingly decorated and anticipated every comfort.
Each member of the Staff is ready to help at once with a big smile. Meals can be served anywhere,breakfast appears magically under the palms. But a romantic outdoors dinner was the biggest treat for us Northerners. The Chef is outstanding, as were the Servers. And the complimentary drink.
Kudos to Sheri, Luis and Sonya. We never got the name for the Blonde Pixie who helped us with any tech issues. So great.

Room Tip: Corner suites if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford lincs
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is true lily a lovely place the problem is the staff, there just isn't any the waitress was the chamber maid poolside attendant the breakfast cook and basically everything else that needed doing she done, the focus is more so on the evening restaurant they only have a chef in the evenings so breakfast and lunch are pretty bad, the hotel and guests are pretty neglected, we did complain to the manager and she admitted that they needed staff training or more staff, I cut my foot on some glass that was left in the courtyard the dressing gown with blood stains was just hung up and left until I mentioned it to a member of staff then it was changed the glass was never cleaned up! It could be fabulous the location is wonderful the restaurant at night is lovely it's just not run properly like I said the restaurant is the main thing in the evening for the locals who leave big tips, there's much more I could ramble on about but I'm not going to my point is it's a shame because it could be fantastic. I would go back again as I enjoyed the peace and quiet I just hope they can get the hotel staff right. It's not a child friendly place which is good.

Room Tip: We had a room out the front with a courtyard nice but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were met at check in by two employees that could care if we were there. They were not rude they just made you feel... Not sure how to explain it just no smiles, no warmth. We asked to have dinner and were told they were booked so we opted to sit in the pool area and had drinks. All the while looking at half of the dinner tables sitting empty for the entire hour... ?
The next day we sat in the pool area for about 4 hours and no one once came to ask if we needed anything. They are losing a small fortune not including pool drinks/food.
We returned to our room at 4 pm which had not been cleaned. The room was super small and the toilet was approx. 3 feet from the bed - little to close. Very dissapointing, has great potential and good location but could possibly be worst service ever. Also the lobby area smells awful like ammonia. I had to hold my breath every time I walked through. I dont give bad reviews often but this was a not so great end to our trip. Ps do not order the in room pizza- the guy at the desk (employee that checked us in) said it is a microwave from publix- not what you would espect from a luxury boutique.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PillarsManagement, Operations Manager at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are sorry you had a bad experience, and certainly appreciate the feedback.
From what our staff reported, you were unhappy with the room due to its location. However, it should be explained that you booked last minute, when we had one room remaining. For obvious reasons, this room may not be in the best location. All rooms are decorated similarly, but some with better locations on the property than others.

Where we are most apologetic, and is not acceptable on our part, is that you were not accommodated for dinner. Our restaurant The Secret Garden is considered one of the best private dining clubs in Fort Lauderdale. It is our policy that all hotel guests are accommodated for a dining reservation, even if they book at the last minute.
The reason you saw many empty tables is due to the way we arrange one seating per table per night. This enables us to hold tables for honored reservations for both hotel and club guests. It is our aim to have tables available upon arrival for guests with reservations and to allow our guests to dine for the time span they wish.

Even though you were not properly accommodated, but should have been...Unfortunately, it appears that it was not explained to you, but the menu for the Secret Garden is also available for room service.
Unless the hotel has an Italian restaurant on property, if they serve pizza, it is highly likely that it is also frozen.

Regarding the smell in the lobby, we have an aromatic system integrated into our air condition filtration. This system has been implemented for over 5 years, and this is the first complaint we've ever had. All comments have been complimentary. For whatever reason, the aroma was not pleasant to you.

Your comment regarding pool drinks and food is also a first time remark. Actually, we do very well in accommodating food and drinks around the pool. Ever since we've opened, guests have been happy to ask a passing staff member or go up to the front desk to order from our 24-hour menu and wine & beer list. One of the reasons why guests like our hotel is because we are not pushing food and beverage when you are here to relax.

Your comments are certainly very important to us and our operations.
And although we strive for perfection, we do sometimes make mistakes.
We appreciate the feed back and have taken action to ensure both effective communication at check-in and priority dining accommodation for hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This charming boutique hotel is 2 blocks from the beach and "miles" away from the Ft. Lauderdale scene. The service is top notch. From the minute we entered we were greeted in a warm and friendly manner. If though it was cool for Florida, the pool was heated and delightful.The location on the intercoastal is a lovely view with breakfast and dinner available on the water. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet and nicely appointed. We overlooked the pool and water. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accomadating. There is parking available, which in Ft. Lauderdale is a big plus. You are within walking distance of the beach and many restuarants. Well Done

Room Tip: Overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillars Hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH) and a Conde Nast Johansen selected hotel. The property is an elegant and sophisticated 18 room hotel ideally located right on the Intracoastal Waterway, and only a few short steps from the beach. The Pillars offers its hotel guests an outstanding dining experience and an exceptional level of personal service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.