We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Piece of Heaven in lively Fort Lauderdale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet Piece of Heaven in lively Fort Lauderdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Friends found the Pillars Hotel for us, and we're glad they did. This is a small, secluded hotel in the middle of busy Fort Lauderdale. The rooms are perfectly appointed. Beds are great. The bathrooms, though small, are completely updated. The patio surrounding the pool is meant for relaxation. Each room has a table and chairs out front. We found ourselves outside sipping coffee with the complementary NY Times each morning. Lounging on the dock in the late afternoon with a chilled glass of wine was a treat. You overlook the busy Intercoastal Waterway.

The staff is warm, friendly, totally helpful, yet not intrusive. During our four-night stay there was even a small wedding, kids and all, but it was welcome experience rather than intrusion. Unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to try the Hotel restaurant, with its dining on the dock, but we heard great reviews from other guests.

No complaints, only praise for this gem of a hotel. If you want a big hotel with all the people, confusion, multiple pools and bars, this is not for you. If you want a quiet oasis in the middle of the hustle, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    79
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
42
335
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway someplace warm but without having to go to far. The Pillars Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale was the perfect spot for a weekend of relaxation. We were greeted with a glass of wine and spent the next few day unwinding at the small but very peaceful pool. After an amazing dinner by the water, we took a short drive over to Las Olas to walk around. Hotel is well staffed and very close to the beach without being too loud or crowded. Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Room 114 is a great little suite with it's own outdoor table. Ask for a room with outdoor seati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stay here every year for the Lauderdale Boat show. It's very close to the show (walking distance) and a great change form staying in a large hotel. Small and intimate. Great service and a wonderful restaurant. wE are coffee freaks and when we wake up and call for coffee its at our room in about 3 minutes. Really

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opwijk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Perfect stay: location, staff, rooms, quality of the food. The final touch: have a diner outside on the terrace with the view on the marina: wonderful! Not too many rooms= not too many people. Even if i try too find something wrong, it's impossible!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband surprised me with a stay at this lovely 1930s era villa turned hotel during a layover in Ft Lauderdale. It was so delightful, we really had no need to leave the hotel during our stay. It's a complete haven from the sketchy beach crowd that inhabits the nearby boardwalk. But, with that said, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach if you get bored of the calm intracoastal and want some ocean action. We felt like we could easily be in Portofino or Nice while on the grounds of The Pillars. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. We enjoyed champagne upon checking in and lounging by the water with dockside bar service. There is a small pool in the middle of the property that is perfectly adequate for cooling off. The rooms were comfortable and cozy with updated bathrooms. Some of the suites have fantastic private balconies overlooking the water. That evening we dined on the dock by the water while watching the boats pass by. The food and ambiance were delightful. There is a bar indoors and lounge area that most likely was the home's original parlor. Our only regret was having to leave the next morning. We hope to return for a weekend getaway in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Reception in the hotel is very friendly, personable and helpful. I had a room by the swimming pool. I did not swim, but the pool looked nice enough, albeit small. Each room at the pool also has a table and chairs so you can sit outside. The room was normal size, nicely Decorated and clean. The villa is special and made me feel like being in Singapore in Raffles, just special. Inside the restaurant etc are modern. Probably more for couples than families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

After two days of hell in airports and American airlines cancelling flights . What a little slice of heaven. No lines at check in, had enough of those . Staff who seem to really like what they do. Don't see that to often. Small property that feels like you are a guest at a rich friends villa . I could go on . I ask why stay anywhere else? But please don't tell to many others . We would not want the owner to get a big head. Lol

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PillarsManagement, General Manager at The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad we were able to offer "a slice of heaven"! On the other hand, please, do tell others, we promise we won't get a big head, we just really like what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Address: 111 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillars Hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH) and a Conde Nast Johansen selected hotel. The property is an elegant and sophisticated 18 room hotel ideally located right on the Intracoastal Waterway, and only a few short steps from the beach. The Pillars offers its hotel guests an outstanding dining experience and an exceptional level of personal service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillars

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.