We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, turn-of-the-century internet connection with expansive views of the parking lot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quaint, turn-of-the-century internet connection with expansive views of the parking lot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I used to live across the road from this hotel and I watched it being built. Plus I was one of the very first people to stay at it back in the mid-90s when it first opened. Since then I think it's been painted twice and they've replaced the carpets at least once. They've also replaced the TVs with LG flat screens.

I used to stay here a lot, mainly because it was the first hotel I can remember that had broadband. Then for some bizarre reason they got rid of it around 1999 and then around 2000 they put in a wireless connection that runs at 512 kbits/s (half a megabit for those of you too young to remember) - and they've still got it! If you want to pay you can get two megabits, oooooh.

The hotel is starting to show its age now, but it's reasonably priced and it's near the beach and the shops. If you stay nearer the beach you're going to be paying a lot more (except at the Yankee Clipper which is frankly a dump) and if you want to stay in a newer hotel you will be nowhere near the beach (e.g. the Crowne Plaza).

One thing I did notice is that they need to invest in some new linen, the stuff in my room smelled of sweat even though it was clean and being an Extended Stay America they only change it once a week.

It's a better deal than the Holiday Inn Express opposite because it has a kitchen, but don't delude yourself into thinking you'll be in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
64
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great hotel at a great price. We were in Fort Lauderdale on black Friday and spent one night at the hotel before leaving for a cruise. The staff was incredible. About 14 of us arrived at the same time and well before check in time. Every effort was made to get us to our rooms with no delay. The rooms were clean, well equipped and comfortable. We needed some extra pillows and they were brought to us as soon as the request was made. Many thanks to Tiffany who took one of my party back to the airport to meet another person who was arriving very late, waited for them and brought the two of them back to the hotel. What a wonderful person.

The hotel is close to everything, airport, seaport, restaurants and shopping. Shopping at Ross and Dollar Tree filled the hours we spent there.

There was a slight smell of cigarette smoke in the elevators and the hallway on the first floor, but this did not detract from the overall great stay we had at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel was conveniently located on 17th st. near the causeway and cruiseport. There were serveral restaurants nearby. The rooms were clean and adequate. This is a basic hotel but has a little kitchenette which can be convenient with stove, microwave and 1/2 size refrigerator. Elevators had strange noise when opening and closing. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Although, internet is advertised in public areas, I had to pay a fee on the one night stay of $4.95 for connection. Connection in the room was a breeze with very fast internet. These types of hotels can have some strange characters staying in them, so be aware. This seems to be one of the better Extended Stay hotels.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I actually work for Expedia and normally do not fill out reviews. But I must say this is a great property. I would recommend this hotel to any of my clients going on a cruise. The room was very clean and the staff was OUTSTANDING!!! The hotel is located close to a Walgreens, Winn Dixie grocery store, great resturants. Interenet service is $4.99 for your entire stay. The property is very close to the cruise port and and they have a complimentary shuttle that will take you to Port Everglades.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My name is Willin Belliard, I am from the Turks and Caicos Islands and I have travel to many places and I know a good Hotel when I stayed in one.

This Extended Stay Hotel should be rated 3.5 Stars or above. The service is excellent. The manager Ruben Escobar goes the extra mile to accomondate you. I had the opportunity to sleep in two different rooms 230 and 217 and both were of equal excellent quality.

The location is within walking distance to every place you need and want such as Browards General Medical, Ross, CVS pharmacy, Walgreens, Starbucks, Dollar Tree, Publix, Dennys, Taco Bell, Burger King, Pollo Tropical and McDonalds just to name a few.

You will not find a better value for your money in the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

It's a good last minute find for good value. Hotel is a bit on the older side, and it seems that double-bed is the only choice, even though we booked a queen.
Hotel staff are nice, and friendly. They will hold your luggage post check out. Very good tip, if you have a few hours to kill between check out and boarding the cruise.
Good location, with many good shops around, and possibly the best wine store I ever seen in the shopping complex next to the hotel. It had a 2000 Petrus for a small price of $15K. I wish the cruise would allow you to bring wine onto the ship, I would have bought a few bottles. For those of you who plan to bring wine onto the cruise (if they allow it), purchase your wine there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Extended Stay is very reasonably priced , clean, and perfectly adequate. WiFi is available for a nominal fee. It is an easy walk to the Convention Center. Don't miss having dinner at the Art Institute culinary kitchen, which you pass as you walk to the convention.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.