We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Ext. Stay America
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #62 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Westfield
2 reviews
“Why spend more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Extended Stay is very reasonably priced , clean, and perfectly adequate. WiFi is available for a nominal fee. It is an easy walk to the Convention Center. Don't miss having dinner at the Art Institute culinary kitchen, which you pass as you walk to the convention.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
23
58
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We booked this hotel online for two nights before our cruise and one night afterwards. We were told by the hotel that when we arrived in Fort Lauderdale to call and they would have the shuttle come and pick us up. Well the shuttle only runs on certain days and it was not on the day we arrived.
We booked two rooms and only one of them was what we has asked for. Having the kitchen was great as we picked up breakfast for the next morning. Beds are comfortable, showers were great. Rooms were not that clean, discovered a nasty hair ball in the corner of the kitchen the first night. Keys to the room are a bit different. Staff were ok, some were friendly and some I think needed a day off.
They do not have storage for your luggage; however, they were helpful in letting us keep it behind the desk.
Great location thou, very close to the port, we walked down and saw the ships the day before we left on our cruise, lots of places to eat, the Publix is only a block away.
Starbucks is across the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here 3 nites prior to our cruise.
Basic hotel but clean. Kitchenette handy as we went to the grocery store just up the street and got breakfast materials and snacks. No restaurant but they did have free coffee in the lobby for the morning.
The location is what counts here. Just around the block from Total Wine and a large mall and down the block from another liquor store and grocery store. Next door to a Greek restaurant with great food. Across the street from some take out food as well.
We walked to Hilton Fort Lauderdale and got on the water taxi. Something I would really recommend doing. Both for the tour it self. The narration was great and for use as a "taxi"
We did walk all the way to the beach but I guess it was about 21/2 miles so maybe not for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford ct
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Location, location, location!!!! I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE spending one night pre-cruise because of price and LOCATION. Don't expect any bells or whistles to come with your stay here. The rooms are spartan though they do have a kitchenette with them and a decent bathroom/shower. That being said the desk staff is warm and friendly, and once again the location is great. In any of the other hotel immediately surrounding you can expect to add $70.00+ (minimum) per night to your stay.

You are surrounded by places to eat (Einstiens Bagels for breakfast- a GREAT italian restaurant across the street, a few pubs and a great raw bar around the corner. There are stores for last minute forgotten items, and a publix for wine and champagne. Best of all youi can take a ten minute walk down the block and see your ship in the morning. Those in my group on the upper floors saw the ships from their bedrooms.

Room keys are odd and you need to get the hang of them andBe aware if you are booking via the internet, you may NOT get the bed request made so it is best to call the hotel to book.

More than one night I would recommend looking for a few more amenities.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

i thought this hotel was pretty good for the amount of money paid.. no it's not the best things but it wasn't dirty and didn't have bugs.. i would go again..the only thing i would recommend is to bring your own pillow because theres are flat..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I am a former "Road Warrior" who has spent many nights in Extended Stay hotels. I have not been travelling for the past few years. On a business trip to Fort Lauderdale, I decided to see how Extended Stay was holding up. If this hotel is an example of the the rest of the chain, they are doing just fine.

I was greeted at the Front desk by Tahelia who was a delight. She has been with that hotel foever and seems to make all guests welcome as they arrive.

The guestroom had been updated with new furniture, new flooring, and new colors. It was clean and comfortable. The manager, Ruben Escobar, must be doing a great job because everyone I spoke with was pleasant and accommodating.

The hotel appeared to be very busy but it was quiet and overall a great place to stay. This old "Road Warrior" was happy to return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michgan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed at the hotel pre and post cruise. Although the hotel itself was more then fine, it was very unaccomadating to us. There is no place to store luggage if you need to check out before you can get onto the cruise or if you are unable to check in afterwards. The hotel right next door was far more willing to accomadate their guests luggage, and thankfully ours.
The lady at the front desk was rude and not helpful in anyway. There is very limited times that they can shuttle to or from airport or cruise lines.
The room value is pretty good but not worth the headache of caring luggage around town and dealing with the person at front desk.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay
Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.