We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day stay before cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Chicago suburb
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two day stay before cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Free airport shuttle was prompt. Room was ready for check in about noon when we arrived. The room was very clean. Front desk was helpful and courteous. I would stay there again before a cruise. The location is good for taking the city bus or the water taxi. You can walk to many restaurants and two large grocery stores and two large liquor stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review of our property. I'm ecstatic that you thought our rooms were very clean and that the front desk was helpful and courteous. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    66
    48
    16
    6
See reviews for
30
68
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Adequately clean, but needs a douche. Additionally both my husband and I woke up with some bug bites. Don't know if pets were allowed an they were fleas. Sheets were scratchy and the mattress was too noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that you had issues with pests during your stay. Please accept my apology. My team and I are launching an investigation to ensure this never happens again. I hope that you will contact me directly, at fls@extendedstay.com, so I can gather additional details. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. This place is close to both the Fort Lauderdale airport and the cruise terminal. Its very clean and in excellent condition. The location is nice--coffee shops and restaurants all around. The price was very competitive, actually better than comparable properties.

There is a free shuttle from the airport and to the cruise port. We were disappointed that there was a 45 min wait for the shuttle on the day our flight came in. We ended up taking a cab ($16 including tip). But the shuttle to the cruise port was very efficient.

Be sure you understand this is not a full-service hotel. There is no pool or restaurant. And teh breakfast is a "grab and go" with fruit, energy bars, coffee and juice--just enough to get your morning started.

Would I stay here again? Yes, for sure, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and we apologize that you were disappointed with the hotels airport pickup service. Please know that we are continually working to provide our guest with the best experience possible. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got there and checked in very quick.

Room was very clean, no problems at all. Shuttles to the cruiseport were often enough and had zero problems. Would stay there again!

It's in walking distance to a Walgreens, right across the street from a Chipotle, Starbucks & Einstein Brothers for breakfast. Liquor store 2 blocks away as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for such a delightful review. I'm glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable, as we want every guest to consider Extended Stay America their “home away from home”. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for one night. The entire staff were efficient and helpful. Only complaints were that the sink was getting a crack rm 112 and the bed spread kept sliding off of the bed. There are great restaurants in the area. We ate at the Southport Raw Bar which has great seafood and is only two blocks. I would return .especially since it is so affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review . It's great to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed here twice, once back in 2009 and again in 2012. We needed a place to stay before our cruises and this hotel fit our needs perfectly. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the staff were pleasant and the hotel is in a fantastic location. That was all we were looking for.

The room had a large refrigerator and a small kitchenette which we did not use, but would definitely be useful for a longer stay. The hotel was not very large, which made it easy to get around and easy to exit. This is where this hotel pays off. Location..location...location.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to a grocery store, a Walgreens, a liquor store and several restaurants (we eat at Duffy's). We were able to buy all of our cruise supplies and walk them back to the hotel (we used the alley behind the hotel because it is much faster).

We had coffee and fruit from their free continental breakfast before the shuttle (Included free, must sign up) took us to the cruise port. The hotel also offers a shuttle from the airport, but we did not use it. We will definitely stay there again if cruising from Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm thrilled that you found our hotel as a perfect fit for you cruise. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just returned from a one-week cruise out of Port Everglades (Fort Lauderdale). We arrived the day prior to the cruise and stayed overnight at the Extended Stay America (Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruiseport). The online reservation process was easy and we had good communication from the hotel with all the information we needed prior to our stay. When we arrived at the airport in Fort Lauderdale, we phoned the hotel and were given clear instructions to find the shuttle pick up location. The shuttle arrived in a few minutes with a friendly and helpful driver. At the hotel we were greeted warmly by Brian at the front desk, and check-in was handled promptly and efficiently. Our very clean and fresh room included a kitchenette with refrigerator, stove, microwave oven, toaster, and coffee maker. The sink faucet had a Culligan fresh water filter. In the cupboards were plenty of dishes, glasses, and flatware. In addition to our queen-size bed, the rest of the room included closet space, iron and ironing board, chest of drawers, desk and chair, large soft easy chair, flat screen television, and wireless internet service. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom. Although the hotel provides bath and face soap along with the usual paper products, they do not provide shampoo. For any convenience items that may be needed, a Walgreen pharmacy is down the block on the corner. Next door to the hotel is an outstanding new Italian restaurant, Carabbas. We slept great in a comfortable bed and quiet room. In the morning the hotel provides grab-and-go breakfast items including varieties of instant oatmeal packages, assorted granola bars and oatmeal-to-go bars, packaged Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, oranges, apples, bananas, coffee, hot tea, and hot chocolate. For a more substantial breakfast, the Harbor Café next door serves breakfast and lunch starting at 6:30 a.m. and there is an Einstein Bagels in the strip mall across the street. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Port Everglades cruiseport, which is actually only a couple of blocks away. We chose this hotel because of the great rate (after checking other hotels in the area) and convenience to the airport and cruiseport. The quality of our room, the service, and the staff will definitely bring us back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you were happy about so many aspects of your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.