We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #76 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good Pre-cruise hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

My husband and I along with another couple were looking for a reasonable priced hotel that was close to restaurants, stores, etc. for a one night stay prior to our cruise. We were very happy with the location and condition of this property. Coffee and bagels were right across the street and a grocery and wine store were just a short walk away. Coffe was provided in the lobby in the mornings but they were a bit stingy on the cream and sugar.

Front desk staff was very friendly and even provided a free dessert coupon fro the Italian restaurant next door. (which was very good). Beds were a little hard and appeared smaller than stated as we were in a king room but the bed was much closer to a queen. Overall the room was very basic but most importantly it was very clean. We would certainly stay here again for a pre-cruise night.

  • Liked — the location. price, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — hard beds and pillows
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lesilek48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SF, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

Several neighboring hotels were already booked, and we wanted a location close to Pt. Everglades.

This hotel provided a decent night's stay as our pre-cruise stopover before boarding our cruise ship the next day.

We booked directly at the hotel website for the lowest rate we could find compared to other travel sites.

While the beds are small, and it's a pretty standard hotel, it is very, very close to the Port. You could walk there, but they don't allow it--you must be driven in, so get a taxi and pay $5 or so for the ride of a few minutes.

Convenient location: a popular bagel store is across the street, a Walgreens is down the block (heading toward the Port), while the Publix supermarket and shopping complex is within a ten minute a walk going the other direction toward the Embassy Suites hotel.
Overall a great value for the same type of lodging you'd find elsewhere.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Bed could be larger. Supposed to be a queen; feels like a slightly larger full-sized bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night both before and one night after after our cruise on the Carnival Miracle in December. Excellent shopping within walking distance - the nearby Total Wine store was awesome! The rooms were not fancy, but overall the hotel offered excellent value. We used a $10 off coupon on the hotel's site, bringing the cost of a one night stay to under $100, including taxes. At this price, the othel is definately worth considering.

  • Liked — location, price, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the cooking smells in the hallways
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were staying for one night pre cruise. The rooms were clean, spacious and had new carpet and bedding. The cost was much less then any of the hotels in the area. The only drawback was there were no amenities. No ice, breakfast, etc. The hotel is located conveniently to shopping, grocery stores, drug stores and restaurants. All within short walking distance. The air conditioning worked well and we had lots of hot water for showers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — no amenities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank phaze06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed for 1 night precruise at this hotel. I was a little apprehensive because of lack of reviews for this hotel. But I did not have anything to worry about. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who checked us in very quickly. The hotel was going through some renovations/redecorating, but that did not interfere with our stay. Room was large and comfortable, with small kitchen facilities. Bathroom was good size. We were within walking distance to Publix where we bought some last minute items and water for our cruise. Lots of restaurants in area to choose from. We ate at a Thai restaurant that served wonderful food.

After a good nights sleep, we walked to a little diner nearby and had a great breakfast. We asked the desk clerk when we returned if she could get a cab for us. We came down at agreed time, checked out, and cab was waiting outside to take us to the Port. I would recommend staying here...it is no frills, but for one night, I cannot complain. Clean, comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No frills...just basic room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank mtinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for a conference for four nights in March 2007.
Hotel is in a good location on 17th Street about two blocks from the Convention Center. There are many restaurants conveniently located within walking distance.

Check in was quick and efficient and the desk clerk was friendly. We had requested a room with two beds, were first given a room with a queen bed. Asked to have it changed to a room with two beds, which was done.

My non-smoking room was on the first floor. When I got out of the elevator, I noticed the odor of stale cigarettes in the hallway - it smelled like it was in the rugs.

The room itself had no odor. Upon entering, there is a small kitchenette with two burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, cabinet, coffee maker and sink. There were some dishes, mugs, glasses, silverware and a few pots and pans and a dishrag.

If you are staying more than one night, you'll need a roll of paper towels, tissues (none provided in the room!) and dishwashing detergent if you'll be using the utensils - no cleaning supplies are provided. If you use the coffee maker and use your own coffee, you'll also need coffee filters. You'll also need to bring your own shampoo and any conditioner or hand lotion you use- the only toiletries provided in the bathroom were toilet paper and soap.

The room was very clean - carpeting is the first thing I look at and the carpets were very clean, as was the bathroom. There is one dresser with four drawers, a nightstand with one drawer and a small table.

I purchased internet access for $4.99 for the entire stay - a bargin. However, there was no connectivity in my room - no signal at all on my laptop. The desk clerk gave me a phone number to call and I was on the phone for 20 minutes with someone trying to see if the problem was my laptop before finally saying he would send a signal boost and see if it helped. I went to dinner, came back and indeed had internet access restored. I just wished he hadn't wasted a 20 minute cell phone call when he could have tried boosting the signal first.

There also is no shuttle service provided by this hotel to the airport or cruise terminal, but they have a car service they can call for you - it was $12 plus tip from the hotel to the airport. The Trolley stops next door and for 50 cents you can get a ride to the beautiful beach.

The hotel was quiet as was the room and the air conditioning worked well.

If staying for more than one night, you won't have any cleaning done - you'll have to make your own bed and take your towels down to the desk to change them. You can add "refreshening" service for $5.00, but that doesn't include changing sheets, etc.
If that doesn't bother you, this is a fine choice of a hotel. It is perfect for a pre or post cruise night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No shuttle provided nor a pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank HappyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

Having stayed at the nearby Amerisuites many times I was happy to try this property as I like the location. Full kitchen. Internet "$4.99 for one night or one month", just needed that months code to log on though. Bed fine. No sofa bed. Our kitchen had pasta and can goods in it and must assume it had been left by previous guest .

I went ahead and booked this on Hotwire. While the hotel had a deal on the dates we were staying for $79 with 2 double beds I could not resist chancing a $43 rate that came up as 2 star on hotwire. It did not show that it was a suite or kitchenette on hotwire by the way but was listed as a 2 star. (extended stay hotels are normally only 1 star with priceline )

As Hotwire guests they refused to 'give' a room with 2 beds and offered an 'upgrade' for $35 which would have brought the rate up to normal levels for the night. Too bad they didnt grab the extra $10 or $12 we would have paid for the bed option. The hotel appeared to have very low occupancy on the night of our stay.

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — bed
  • Tips/Secrets — comes up as 2 star with luandry on hotwire
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank madflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#34 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#49 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#54 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#21 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#69 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#47 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing