We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, easy location for cruisers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #55 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, easy location for cruisers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This place seems to have bad reviews but ppl need to stop expecting the ritz for sixty a night. The rooms were very clean, and the location was great for someone who doesn't have a car on their trip. There are plenty if places within walking distance to eat and shop for little stuff you need.
The staff is the biggest plus for this hotel. They were at the airport within 5 minutes of us calling, and are really great about getting us from the hotel to the cruiseport as well. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel will come highly recommended by me for someone staying in the area for a layover or before a cruise. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that our team made your stay with us an enjoyable one. We will make sure that we thank them for that.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. As well, we would love to host you at any of our other locations around the U.S. and Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
63
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our (three couples) cruise ship was delayed so we had two additional nights to spend in Fort Lauderdale. One of the couples had been here a couple years earlier and so we called last minute and found that they had vacancies. We told them that we would be there in 30 minutes.
We were not disappointed. Staff was AWESOME!! Very helpful and knowledgable. As Tropical Storm Isaac was arriving, they even supplied us with pertinent information regarding how to handle the impending storm. Rooms were very clean. Only a couple complaints - no shampoo/conditioner, but they had some in the lobby (but we never made it down there). Also the "breakfast" is simple (fruit or breakfast bars or packaged muffins and coffee) in the lobby, but staff had to be reminded to refill the small baskets as they went fast.
We liked the location as we could easily walk to the grocery stores, restaurants, and other shopping. There was a microwave, full sized refrigeratore, cooktop, and a sink with plates/utensils/pans, etc. Laundry was onsite - ($2 to wash and $2 to dry).
Transportation to the cruiseport was included and the lady that drove us was so informative - she had been in hotel hospitality for 30+ years and it was obvious she loved her job! Again, the staff was GREAT and so friendly! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! We really appreciate your feedback and great words regarding the staff. We will be sure to pass your comments to all of the team members!

Thank you for staying with us again. We hope to see you the next time that you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel staff was nice, knowledgeable, respectful and courteous. Staff was quick and efficient. Even though we saw a bug in our room, we were quickly given another room without hesitation. Hotel was close to many activities we did. I'm very satisfied with the overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for such a great review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We value your great comments and will share them with the entire team!

Thank you again, for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is one of the nicest Extended Stay's in the area. The only flaw with the property is the bedding. The beds are too hard. The rooms are very clean. The staff is very friendly. We felt like we were staying with friends instead of staying at a hotel. We will always remember that!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina. We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks regarding the bedding. Please accept my most sincere apologies. Given how hard we work to provide our guests with outstanding accommodations, I was troubled to read your remarks about the bed in your suite. Please know how important your comfort is to us. We have chosen bedding that we think best fits our customers' needs, and we continue to look for new ways to satisfy everyone's sleeping preferences. I have shared your great comments regarding the staff to all of our team members and they truly appreciate that they excelled in their goal to make our guest feel like they are at home, or in your case staying at a friends instead of a hotel. I hope that we will see you again in the future and if there is anything that I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Staff was absolutely amazing and very helpful!! The room was very clean and accommodating. It did not have shampoo/conditioner, but the front desk does have free samples (either Tres Semme or Garnier Fructis), amazing I know!

The property is smaller and from talks with the staff, some rooms are being completely renovated and changed into all non smoking, which is great! Changes were made to the grill area, which is a nice area to have while staying long term.

I would highly recommend this hotel for guests who are staying more than one night. :)

Room Tip: FYI- no pool or gym at this property, but you're only <2 miles away from the beach/Las Olas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! You did hear correctly from some of our team members that some of our rooms have been completely renovated and have changed into non smoking rooms. We will be continuing these improvements in the future as well! I am highly appreciative that you will recommend our hotel in the future and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to the area!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I relocated to Ft. Lauderdale for my job in 2011. A co-worker told me of her experience with Extended Stay and how she enjoyed her stay in Washington, DC. She suggested that I try it. What a great choice. The room is perfect with a beautiful view, with all of the ammenities of being at home. The Manager and Staff are very professional, courteous, friendly, and extremely helpful; they have gone above and beyond to ensure that my stay at Extended Stay is comfortable, safe, and enjoyable everyday. I highly recommend Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina to anyone who is planning a visit to Fort Lauderdale in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
"I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina.

If I can be any assistance in making future reservations at this location or any other locations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the property! Hopefully my staff and I will see you again in the future! Thank you for staying with us! "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

our family really enjoys these chains of hotels.we are able to have a great vacation and have some of the amenities of still being at home,like laundry facilites and the kitchenettes. the manager was very friendly and extremely helpful.after leaving one hotel we were left with a truck full of luggage and 4 sleepy kids.the manager helped us with booking a room to fit our family's needs. we will stay there again.and it is minutes from the beach and close good malls!

Room Tip: small grab and go breakfast and they do not have a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. I am so happy that we were able to help you have a great vacation in the Fort Lauderdale area and our rooms made you feel like we were your ""home away from home""
I hope that next year if you decided to come to Fort Lauderdale for your vacation that I see you again in the hallways here at the hotel!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.