We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pre Cruise Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #59 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Pre Cruise Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for one night both before and one night after after our cruise on the Carnival Miracle in December. Excellent shopping within walking distance - the nearby Total Wine store was awesome! The rooms were not fancy, but overall the hotel offered excellent value. We used a $10 off coupon on the hotel's site, bringing the cost of a one night stay to under $100, including taxes. At this price, the othel is definately worth considering.

  • Liked — location, price, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the cooking smells in the hallways
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
62
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were staying for one night pre cruise. The rooms were clean, spacious and had new carpet and bedding. The cost was much less then any of the hotels in the area. The only drawback was there were no amenities. No ice, breakfast, etc. The hotel is located conveniently to shopping, grocery stores, drug stores and restaurants. All within short walking distance. The air conditioning worked well and we had lots of hot water for showers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — no amenities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed for 1 night precruise at this hotel. I was a little apprehensive because of lack of reviews for this hotel. But I did not have anything to worry about. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who checked us in very quickly. The hotel was going through some renovations/redecorating, but that did not interfere with our stay. Room was large and comfortable, with small kitchen facilities. Bathroom was good size. We were within walking distance to Publix where we bought some last minute items and water for our cruise. Lots of restaurants in area to choose from. We ate at a Thai restaurant that served wonderful food.

After a good nights sleep, we walked to a little diner nearby and had a great breakfast. We asked the desk clerk when we returned if she could get a cab for us. We came down at agreed time, checked out, and cab was waiting outside to take us to the Port. I would recommend staying here...it is no frills, but for one night, I cannot complain. Clean, comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No frills...just basic room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for a conference for four nights in March 2007.
Hotel is in a good location on 17th Street about two blocks from the Convention Center. There are many restaurants conveniently located within walking distance.

Check in was quick and efficient and the desk clerk was friendly. We had requested a room with two beds, were first given a room with a queen bed. Asked to have it changed to a room with two beds, which was done.

My non-smoking room was on the first floor. When I got out of the elevator, I noticed the odor of stale cigarettes in the hallway - it smelled like it was in the rugs.

The room itself had no odor. Upon entering, there is a small kitchenette with two burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, cabinet, coffee maker and sink. There were some dishes, mugs, glasses, silverware and a few pots and pans and a dishrag.

If you are staying more than one night, you'll need a roll of paper towels, tissues (none provided in the room!) and dishwashing detergent if you'll be using the utensils - no cleaning supplies are provided. If you use the coffee maker and use your own coffee, you'll also need coffee filters. You'll also need to bring your own shampoo and any conditioner or hand lotion you use- the only toiletries provided in the bathroom were toilet paper and soap.

The room was very clean - carpeting is the first thing I look at and the carpets were very clean, as was the bathroom. There is one dresser with four drawers, a nightstand with one drawer and a small table.

I purchased internet access for $4.99 for the entire stay - a bargin. However, there was no connectivity in my room - no signal at all on my laptop. The desk clerk gave me a phone number to call and I was on the phone for 20 minutes with someone trying to see if the problem was my laptop before finally saying he would send a signal boost and see if it helped. I went to dinner, came back and indeed had internet access restored. I just wished he hadn't wasted a 20 minute cell phone call when he could have tried boosting the signal first.

There also is no shuttle service provided by this hotel to the airport or cruise terminal, but they have a car service they can call for you - it was $12 plus tip from the hotel to the airport. The Trolley stops next door and for 50 cents you can get a ride to the beautiful beach.

The hotel was quiet as was the room and the air conditioning worked well.

If staying for more than one night, you won't have any cleaning done - you'll have to make your own bed and take your towels down to the desk to change them. You can add "refreshening" service for $5.00, but that doesn't include changing sheets, etc.
If that doesn't bother you, this is a fine choice of a hotel. It is perfect for a pre or post cruise night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No shuttle provided nor a pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

Having stayed at the nearby Amerisuites many times I was happy to try this property as I like the location. Full kitchen. Internet "$4.99 for one night or one month", just needed that months code to log on though. Bed fine. No sofa bed. Our kitchen had pasta and can goods in it and must assume it had been left by previous guest .

I went ahead and booked this on Hotwire. While the hotel had a deal on the dates we were staying for $79 with 2 double beds I could not resist chancing a $43 rate that came up as 2 star on hotwire. It did not show that it was a suite or kitchenette on hotwire by the way but was listed as a 2 star. (extended stay hotels are normally only 1 star with priceline )

As Hotwire guests they refused to 'give' a room with 2 beds and offered an 'upgrade' for $35 which would have brought the rate up to normal levels for the night. Too bad they didnt grab the extra $10 or $12 we would have paid for the bed option. The hotel appeared to have very low occupancy on the night of our stay.

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — bed
  • Tips/Secrets — comes up as 2 star with luandry on hotwire
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

One night pre-cruise stay. Ordered a King got a double. The clerk said she giving it to us for the same price, but they were sold out of the larger rooms.

The rooms are fine, nothing to write home about. Make sure that you bring your own shampoo - nothing but soap in the bathroom.

There is a CVS, Walgreens, Bagel Place and strip mall close by, plus you are a stone's throw to the port.

In short, fine for one night, but don't expect more than a room and bed.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandwich,ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

we stayed for one night with a cost of 140 dollars on 2/9/06. we were cruising the next day so we came into town a day early. the staff was very nice and the location was good with several resteraunts and store within walking distance. the negatives we booked a king size bed and got a queen, not very modern, the place was clean but needs to be remodeled and the worst of all was the bed and pillows were as hard as a rock. did not get much sleep tossing and turning on this bed.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port

Address: 1450 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale - Airport-Cruiseport, conveniently located within walking distance to the Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Art Institute. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Fort Lauderdale - Convention Center - Marina Hotel
Extended Stay America Fort Lauderdale
Extended Stay Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.