We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady guests at this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 West Commercial Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shady guests at this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I almost feel bad writing this because the hotel itself is ok. For the money you pay the quality is just fine when it comes to cleanliness and comfort. It's the other guests that were there during my stay that made the experience completely unnerving. I just read a review from someone noting prostitution and drugs at this hotel and suddenly everything I saw while staying there makes sense. About 70% of the guests I came in contact with seemed extremely shady. Even though I was there with my boyfriend who is in law enforcement, I was so uncomfortable that I cut our stay short by two nights. I booked through Orbitz so I couldn't get any money back for unused nights, but I didn't care, I wanted OUT! Will never stay there (or anywhere close to there) again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    33
    21
    25
See reviews for
59
29
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MASTIC BEACH, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Worst hotel every. I had to call the police because some randon person was trying to get into my room. When the police came he asked if I had ever stayed there because this hotel was very well know for drugs and prostitution on the 4th floor. So my room was next to the exit door which they kept propped open so the "men" could get in undetected. my in room phone was not working so i could not call the front desk and when i did call from my cell the lady was very unconcerned said she saw the man and told him he had to leave but there was nothing she could do as she was alone and security did not strt until 10pm!

Room Tip: get a room away from the exits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place. Helpful staff, confortable room, good breakfast, this is a great La quinta inn. Got some packages through mail, they kept for us. The only down side is the neighborhood. Although there are plenty of restaurants in the sorrundings, this is really not the best neighborhood, but not bad anyway. Would come back, definitely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just spent Spring Break here. I was running a bit late due to some rental car trouble and called ahead to inform the staff, they were friendly and said it was no problem. Booked a non-smoking King Sized room, upon check-in it was exactly what I requested.

The environment is casual and normal. I usually take a look at the type of cars parked and they were all decent. The other members staying were some families and some spring breakers all polite and friendly - none of which looked ghetto or shady. The noise level wasn't too bad in the hallways, it's just that sometimes at night it would get a little loud because of some trucks in the parking lot (not sure what they were doing) although it did look shady outside at night once and was concerning (group of men hanging in the lot sort of near my car) however, in the morning everything was safe and sound with my car.

The room was clean and housekeeping changed the linens everyday as requested. Didn't try the breakfast so no comment on that. The heat and cool worked perfect. The tv was a nice flat panel. I'm very odor sensitive so thank God there wasn't any horrible smells and the hotel was ventilated well.

It's roughly 15 mins from the beach and 5 mins from I-90, around 20-25 mins from Miami Beach which is not too bad and if you're landing and leaving from FTL airport its 5 mins. There's a dunkin' donuts and few other great restaurants nearby at fair prices.

Overall, I didn't have a bad experience and would choose this place again if I'm on a budget. I usually stay in luxurious hotels (Embassy/Double Tree/Raddison) but if you're on a budget and you want to save some money, but not stay at some weirdo ghetto motel or hostel or shady places, this is your pick! For the $40 per night savings, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights while visiting my Mom who lives nearby. It is not a luxury hotel if that is what you are looking for, but the room was nice and clean, the bed felt luxurious was extremely comfortable, and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. I was traveling alone and booked a room with 2 double beds thinking I would use 1 for my 'stuff' and sleep in the other. But when I checked in the woman at the desk saw that i was staying 6 nights and suggested that I take a room with a king size bed since those rooms had a refrigerator and microwave. It was a great idea.
My hotel of choice for this type of trip was the Hampton Inn which is a few blocks away from this hotel, but the price was from $30-$40 more per night. I stayed at the Hampton Inn a year ago, and the only thing they had that La Quinta didn't have was a gym if you like to have that. I had originally booked at the Mainstay suites where I stayed on my last trip, but I am so glad I switched because La Quinta was less expensive and newer than the Mainstay suites. (I will review that place also)
The price includes breakfast but during the week it is from 6-9 which I never made, and from 7-10 on weekends which I did try once. I don't know if it varies, but when I went down they had coffee, hard boiled eggs, white and whole wheat bread which you could toast, small muffins,you could make waffles, and they had several types of cold cereal.
They also have a small pool.
The location is about 30 minutes from the beach, 2 minutes from the turnpike if you want to go north to Palm Beach or Boca, and about 15 minutes from 595 which you take going west to go to Naples, Sarasota or Tampa, or if you go east towards 95, you can head down to the Miami area.
So if you are planning to spend time in the area and are not looking for a destination hotel, I highly recommend this La Quinta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very friendly. You have to realize you get what you pay for. It is much quietwe than other hotel's at its level.

Cons:

The couch was dirty and they said they will clean it.

Conclusion:

Non smoking room is good for one or two nights stay in a quiet place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East

Address: 3800 West Commercial Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tamarac East Hotel Fort Lauderdale
La Quinta Fort Lauderdale
La Quinta Tamarac East
Fort Lauderdale La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.