We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #50 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Friendly staff, clean hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed a weekend here and had a GREAT time! The staff was super friendly, from valet, to the desk, bar and restaurant employees. Room was very clean, looks like there was an overhaul recently because the hotel is beautiful. Food was good, ate both dinner and breakfast there. For lunch, we wanted to go to the beach so we asked the desk for suggestions and they gave us good intel and perfect directions. Seems like a good location for access to downtown, Las Olas and A1A Beachfront. Overall, I would definitely recommend my friends and family visit here. I'll be back too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    239
    112
    39
    27
See reviews for
128
257
51
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

On my recent trip to Ft. Lauderdale I had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance. From the lovely and delightful ladies at the Front Desk to the wonderful bartender. I was up on the 11th floor and had wonderful view.
I loved the big vanity in the bathroom and the terry clothe shower curtain! The GM clearly puts his passion into the hotel and it is reflective in all of his staff and feel of the hotel. Great job Mr. Sistare!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We recently spent one week at the Renaissance Hotel in Fort Lauderdale.
This trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Having spent four days at the nearby Hilton Marina in November, we knew the area and the price on Hotwire was great.
This property is a clean, well-organized hotel, which caters mainly to business travellers. There were also some very large families there celebrating reunions.
The rooms and lobby at this property could benefit from updating.They are bland and dated.
Also, the atmosphere, or lack thereof in the lobby and bar areas are not condusive to leisure or romance.
The pool is small and is situated very close to the road, so there is road noise.
There were a lot of very noisy people at this pool everyday-not the hotel's fault, obviously, but not good for a relaxing holiday.
The front employees here are top notch, especially Hollis and Patti(I hope I got here name right)-very pleasant and helpful
This was just not the right match for us, who were craving quiet and relaxation.
The Hilton Marina next door is a much better choice and their pool area is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Nice hotel , not sure if it qualifies as a 4 star property though, location is good, pool is Ok, room was comfortable except for wallpaper peeling off walls and very thin walls so its a little noisy. Staff was nice. My biggest complaint was $20 a day to park plus tax and $13 a day for wireless internet . Come on! & no not all hotels in the area charge for this service. Probably wouldn't stay again because of all the extra charges.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel was the staff, who went out of their way to help out (in particular, a man at the front desk). As for the room, nice layout and all.. but we found that the top of the ice bucket had dried up spaghetti sauce on it.. GROSS!! The walls are so thin that I was woken up at 8 a.m. by people having sex in another room.. it was very loud! The parking was extremely annoying. First, when I tried to find the parking garage, I got lost, as it is very awkward. You have to park on the second floor, take an elevator down, walk around (outside in the rain or hot sun) to get into the hotel, then more of a walk to the elevators, which were extremely crowded when we were there, sometimes to the point that we had to wait for another one (only 2 elevators in the building). It really wouldn't have been that bad if it wasn't $20 per day!! For that much, I would expect a little easier of an experience to get to/from the car. The pool and hot tub were nice, but as previous reviews mention, the traffic noise from the street is a bit distracting when you want to relax. You can walk to a Walgreens across the street.. that is about it. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, although very overpriced. The French bakery right behind the hotel was the most overpriced I've ever seen... $10 for a bacon/egg croissant, almost $4 for a plain croissant!! No free WIFI, which is a little ridiculous for a "4 star hotel." The coffee maker in the room only allows for one cup at a time to be made. I could go on and on...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Great place to stay, one block from Port Everglades. We arrived at 9am in the morning which we knew was super early but we had just disembarked from our ship. We stored our luggage at the hotel, our cell phone numbers were taken and we were told we would be called as soon as a room became available! We never heard from them! I called a little after 2 and they said that a room had just become available. I found that a little hard to believe! The desk clerk had provided me with a map/discount book of Ft. Lauderdale so we made a great day of it even though we were exhausted and wanted to rest post cruise! We took the Carrie B tour of the Intercoastal waterway and Millionaire's Row, had lunch at the Cheesecake Factory which was right around the corner from the Carrie B and then a little shopping! So, after a week long cruise and a full day in that beautiful Florida sunshine, we were ready for our room! Room was great. Overall location was convenient, I felt we were fairly central to many things. Lots of places to eat nearby. We had a fabulous dinner at Bimini's on the Intercoastal Waterway right beside the hotel. And enjoyed lunch the next day the French Bakery right behind the hotel. We did not eat at the hotels because of the reviews I had read. Wish we had had more time there! Would definitely stay there again for pre/post cruise. We booked this thinking it was a 4 star, but don't believe it falls in that category of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night post-cruise. Location couldnt be beat for coming off a cruise ship. It was probably the closest hotel and our cab driver was noticeably disappointed when accepting our fare from the cruise port to the hotel. We were literally checked into the hotel by 9 am, because they had rooms available.
Decor is modern, sleek and clean. Service was good but unimpressive, especially in the restaurant.
My favorite thing about this hotel was the pool. They have a great pool with very comfortable pool beds that are covered. We ordered room service out to the pool and spent the day relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.