We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again - a Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Again - a Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed one night before we went on our cruise. We have stayed here several times before. It has always been a good experience. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a Walgreens is across the street to buy those couple of things you might have forgotten. The breakfast is very complete with a variety of items - all very tasty. A shuttle service is offered to the ships - $6.00 per person. Very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for returning to our hotel and staying with us. We have many repeat customers and it's always so nice to see familiar faces. We hope you join us again on your future Fort Lauderdale travels!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    228
    107
    40
    21
See reviews for
120
244
48
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawano, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was a very comfortable hotel with a good vibe right when we walked in. We arrived 5 hours before check in time, yet we're given a room immediately. Staff was friendly and helpful. Several restaurants within walking distance. And on site dinning was great, though expensive. Great hotel close to the cruise port and airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and the kind words. We hope you choose us again if your travels bring you to Fort Lauderdale - particularly in the winter!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a very clean hotel with a great bed. We stayed here before leaving on a cruise. I thought we could walk to the port, but the terminal was actually miles from the hotel. Taxi needed for sure. The location was safe and we walked to restaurants in the area. One of the best features of this hotel is the lobby bar and seating area. The night we arrived they had great live music.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you staying with us prior to your cruise and am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was nice to see the mention of live music - we just started providing this on Friday evenings so hope you enjoyed it!

We hope you come back and see us again when you are in Fort Lauderdale-

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

loved it, was close to everything, walgreens is across the street and you can catch the sun trolley just across the street,even though you are very close to the port you wouldn't want to walk dragging luggage it wouldn't be worth it. there was a bus that took you over there for 6 bucks per person.nice hotel and everyone there was very nice. Stayed there last Feb and am going back this Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us last year - we look forward to having you as our guest in a few weeks! I am sure getting out of the cold and into sunny Fort Lauderdale will be a welcome change :)

Look forward to meeting you in February!

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed one night prior to leaving for a cruise. It is very close to the airport & the cruise port. The hotel itself was very clean & the decor was modern. My only complaint is there really was nothing to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Greetings -

Thank you for staying with us! I hope you enjoyed your stay and next time, please stop at the front desk and speak with The Navigator. We actually have a lot of restaurants, pubs, shopping and various activities close to the hotel for guests to enjoy. And most importantly, we are a short ride on bike or trolley to the beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach and Ocean. We would love to give you recommendations for the next time you stay with us.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to joining a cruise vessel in Fort Lauderdale. The location is very convenient - very close to the cruise terminal and also relatively close to Fort Lauderale Int. Airport as well as the I-95.
Good breakfast, decent size rooms with the typical amenities for this type of hotel. The only negative point is that there are only two elevators serving the entire hotel (12 floors). We were travelling with a group of more than 100 persons, which made that especially on checking out it took the group well over an hour before everybody had reached the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Pieter -

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry the elevator took such a long time during your stay. With the number of guests checking out at the same time and trying to board their ships, there might be a bit of a wait.

I do hope you had a great time on your cruise and hope to see you on a return trip!\

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a good property, I have been staying there off and on for years. It is in a very good location as it is close to the port and the airport. I would imagine this hotel takes a beating as they get huge traffic spending the nice either before or after a cruise, There have been several facelifts to it. The rooms are very clean - the front desk is very friendly. It is very close to some nice restaurants and right across the street is Walgreens, You are very close to an Einstein's bagels and can take a walk there in the am. Great Italian restaurant within a stones throw, I know the place takes a beating but I would stay there again. The staff works hard to keep the place up. Also the gym is nice - Be prepared to pay $25 A night to park your car,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Greetings -

Thank you very much for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is true, we do have the pleasure of hosting a lot of guests before and after their cruise and we hope you will join us again.

We do begin a renovation of all of our guest rooms in June - the new product is going to be great so come check us out!

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance
Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.