We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay pre (or post) cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #50 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay pre (or post) cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked this for a pre cruise stay and received a good rate for Thanksgiving weekend. Prior to our arrival we received an email asking for our preferences in our room and location. I asked for a room up high and facing the waterway so we could see the cruise ships. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by one of the bell hops who was extremely helpful and was able to tell me where shopping and restaurants were located.

We had a room on a high floor and with a great view. The only downside was being near the stair doorway. We had some rowdy neighbors who decided to go in and out of Their room and stairway door at all hours of the night.

The room was well appointed and comfortable. We had free wi-fi due to being a member of Marriott Rewards (which is free to join). It was an easy walk to the grocery store of a couple blocks and we ate at the nearby Bimini Boatyard restaurant. The only thing we weren't pleased with was the cost off the breakfast buffett (which tasted good, but was too pricy).

I also have to say that the desk staff was wonderful and was able to accommodate a few off the wall requests we made.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your time in Fort Lauderdale. I am sorry about the noisy neighbors and hope that you were able to enjoy your stay in spite of them. We are always happy to address issues with guests so that everyone has a pleasant stay.

I am glad that we were able to accommodate your room request - the hotel certainly has some nice views of the ships and intercostal.

We hope that you join us again on a future stay to Fort Lauderdale!

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    245
    116
    39
    28
See reviews for
134
260
51
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are going on a cruise this is the spot to stay. It is located right at the entrance to Port Everglades. The hotel has a shuttle to take you right to the ship for a small fee, and well worth it.

The hotel is located in a nice center, with a few restaurants. A casual Italian, and nice bar and restaurant on the causeway, a casual Asian and an upscale fast food burger joint along with the hotel restaurant. Right across the street from the hotel is a Walgreens to pick up any last
minute needs.

The rooms are clean and good sized. The pool area is very comfortable and the fitness center is well equipped for a small space. The front desk staff is very good and I believe her name is Debbie really does a great job with customer service. The only downside was the wireless. They were having some issues with the signal strength in our room I could only connect near the door to the room.

This is our 7th stay here and we will be back again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings, Cub Fan!

Thank you for staying with us recently during your visit to Fort Lauderdale. We really appreciate the comments and I will be sure to let Debra know that you remarked on her customer service - she is a great asset to our hotel.

We are working on the internet issue so thank you for bringing that to our attention.

As a life long Cubs fan (and Chicagoan) I look forward to meeting you on your next stay to sunny Florida - after the temperatures in Chicago I'm sure it will be a welcome relief!

Thanks, again -

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The rooms and large and very comfortable. Shopping is within walking distance and the staff couldn't be nicer. Service was good at the front desk and the bellmen were very helpful. There are restaurants within walking distance and the views of the yachts and boats are amazing. The rooms were quiet and well appointed, we will be back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a water view, it is well worth the price to view the beautiful yachts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We so appreciate you staying with us recently. You are right about the views - our hotel is in a great location and to have a view of the boats is very nice. I often go to our top floor so I can look out on all the cruise ships coming in - it's quite a sight!

We hope you join us again in the future - thanks, again.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Hotel is ideal for a night prior to getting on board your ship. Breakfast was included and the bar with food was open at night so we were able to get a bite to eat on our arrival at 8pm. Late checkout was great as we could have a sleep in as boarding the ship was between 12-3pm.
All in all a very nice little hotel with all the amenities you would require for a night or two stay.
The concierge also organised the Princess ships pickup for us and that was just a small fee of $6.00 to the driver.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us prior to your cruise - I hope you enjoyed your trip!

We would love to have you back if you choose to come back to Fort Lauderdale and we appreciate all of your compliments about our hotel.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Spent a week there with my family and in-laws. Staff were fantastic and going out of their way to respond to our numerous requests about the city. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants as well. Rooms was large enough and they provided us with a fridge on request which was great for keeping our baby's food.

Pool was a plus, very nice even if it is close from 17th st. The hotel remains very accessible from airport while being close to beaches (driving).

My only recommendation, the bartender (i don't recall the name of the male bartender on Wednesday Nov 27th) should clearly mention he cannot do a real Irish coffee. A simple coffee with whiskey is not that great...

Thank you to all the team and most precisely the excellent service from front desk!

Room Tip: Facing the port, you can see the big cruise come and go!
See more room tips
Green Features: I would like recycling to be more present, we did not see much recycle bid. Otherwise, staff would let our linen in place upon our request.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments during your most recent stay with us - we truly appreciate the feedback.

I will personally ensure that our bartender's know how to make a proper Irish coffee - as a fellow Irish, I can certainly appreciate a fine Irish cocktail.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back in the future!

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It really annoys me when people complain about a hotel having no free shuttles, no free WIFI and no free breakfast. Surely they knew that when they booked the hotel? For the record - for once and all - the Renaissance has none of the above. If this is important to you, you should book somewhere else.

As for myself, I realized all this really was important to me after staying here!! Unfortunately this really was a good learning experience. The cab from the airport was $17. Shuttle to the port $6 each plus tip. Breakfast of coffee and muffin $12 and WIFI $12.95. So approx $60 on top of my great Hotwire rate made it not such a great rate!

There are a few nice pluses however to balance this review. This hotel is within a block or two of the water taxi - a nice way to spend a day. If you need a Walgreens there is one right across the street. The Rlounge was delicious for late night snacks and service both there and at the front desk was very prompt and friendly. We also greatly appreciated, and didn't expect,that they had a room ready for us at 11 a.m. When we checked in. Finally, the hotel is within throwing distance to the port entrance. You could easily schlep your way there yourself if you wanted to. The hotel staff will tell you that can't walk into the port- that you have to take a car or shuttle This is WRONG. Thousands of crew walk in and out every ship turnaround day. It is very feasible if you have very little luggage!

So the bottom line is would we stay here again? Not too likely. I like everything prepaid and when even McDonalds has WIFI these days it just plain bugs me to pay $12.95 no matter what my great deal was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your comments - it is very much appreciated.

With regards to the transportation to the port, most of our guests are leaving on a cruise and have a large amount of luggage - most people do choose to be transported as opposed to walking - at $6 is quite a good deal!

And as you mentioned, all of our costs are displayed on the hotels website so there should be no surprises prior to booking.

We would love for you to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel has solid service and a good location and while they have updated many of the more dated part of the property, there's a lack of amenities in the rooms that should be standard for a 4 star hotel (I think this is more of a business class 3 star, honestly). The food options on site aren't too inspiring but the service is generally enthusiastic and there's an active bar scene in the evenings in the lobby. The pool need some cleaning and there wasn't a day when I wasn't aggravated by the $25 park fee ($26.50 with tax!) and $11 wi-fi. I haven't tried other hotels at this prices in the area so hopefully I'm not being harsh but I thought I'd get more value for my money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our parking fees are quite competitive with the other hotels in the area but I certainly appreciate your remarks. Being as close as we are to the airport, shopping, restaurants and the beach, our location is ideal for business or leisure.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on future trips to Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.