We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of luigi's coal oven pizza

luigi's coal oven pizza
1415 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2335
954-990-8647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Very recently opened. Neapolitan style pizza.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Run, don't walk, to get this pizza. We enjoyed a crisp and chilled house salad and a Margherita pizza. Both were perfect. I was guilty of rubber-necking the other tables and the other foods looked delicious. The service was great, thank you to Marta. I will be back..... It is rare to find everyone's favorites that are prepared so well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    52
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take Out Fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We live down the street and this is my family's favorite for gourmet pizza. A little pricey compared to the national chains that deliver, but totally worth it --the wood-fired oven taste makes for a delicious crust and the wings are fantastic, too-slightly blackened then covered with carmelized onions and served with a piece of pita bread to soak up the onion goodness. Cute little place and courteous service, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stumbled upon this place while driving down Las Olas Blvd. We ordered a margherita pizza and it was the bomb! Also, the calamari is not bad at all!! I loved the coal-oven crust!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very tasty birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend & I decided to go out to dinner for my birthday (which happened to be on a Friday night) and were going to wander along Las Olas until we found something we liked. Everything had crazy long waits, and we had passed Luigi's before, but never gone. We decided to give it a shot & had a nice wait. They let us order a drink from the bar & wait outside. Everything about the meal was amazing. The very tasty vegetarian pizza was amazing + appetizers = yum! Their wine list was also decently priced. Overall made for a very happy birthday dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I don't think is that great!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went there with friends with great expectation after reading all reviews but we were all disappointed. Pizza is a very personal matter and people like one style or the other, I'm more about quality of products first and then the style. When it comes to coal oven in NY we got at least two of the best in the country, John's on Bleecker St and Grimaldi's in Brooklyn and when it comes for Neapolitan (wood oven) you'd choose either Keste' or Motorino (the one on 12th st). Luigi's is nothing like that, not special the pizza (cheap products) nor the service or the place. I'd say the best thing about it is the parking which is available in their lot. Other franchised pizza place are available in the area like Anthony's, but after trying one of them in NJ I'd stay away from these as well, If you are in the mood for a little drive, go to South Beach and enjoy a truly Neapolitan pizza at "Fratelli La Bufala" and you'll be very happy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed luigi's coal oven pizza also viewed

 

Been to luigi's coal oven pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage luigi's coal oven pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.