We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day with the reptiles ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawgrass Recreation Park

Sawgrass Recreation Park
1006 N. U.S. Highway 27, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33327
954-389-0202
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: State Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit Ft. Lauderdale’s greatest airboat attraction, Sawgrass Recreation Park. Embark on a thrilling airboat tour through the Florida Everglades. Our exhibits feature timed shows where you can hold an alligator and visit magnificent mammals such as the Florida Panther or the Black Leopard. Picnic areas, birthday parties, camping, rv parking. Exclusive private and nighttime airboat tours are now available year round! Open 7 days a week! Just 25 minutes from the heart of Ft. Lauderdale!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A day with the reptiles ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very enjoyable place to visit. We took an open airboat ride through the sawgrass. Our guide knew exactly where to find the alligators. We were so close on them that one swam very slowly up against the side of the airboat. Awesome opportunity for pictures. After the airboat ride we leisurely toured the grounds wherein they had various reptiles, panthers, birds, etc. They are known for taking in "discarded" animals. Although a bit disgusting, we just happened to be there at "feeding time" for the pythons. We were able to watch the pythons slowly ingest a rabbit. YUCK, but interesting. Their were also knowledgeable presentations offered for the alligators/crocodiles and the panther, etc exhibit. This was well worth the money and provided for a nice, enjoyable and interesting afternoon for my daughter & I.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawgrassRecPark, Owner at Sawgrass Recreation Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed a wonderful day at our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    238
    95
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having never seen the Everglades, we looked for the options we had while in Florida and the first thing we decided was that all the prices seemed very high. On-board our Cruise ship they wanted to charge us $40 per person to do a tour of the everglades. At the hotel in town they wanted to charge us $65 per person (both included travel to and from). What we ended up paying was $18 per person at this place. It was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the sites and sounds of our experience. One of the things we did that I highly recommend is going out on an air boat over the everglades. That was a highlight. This park was only about 20 min. away from our hotel near the Ft. Lauderdale Airport so it is conveniently located and quick to get to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawgrassRecPark, Owner at Sawgrass Recreation Park, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“airboat ride and zoo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is billed as a trip to the everglades for airboat tour with naturalist talk for 3 hours. In actual fact it was only a 30 minute airboat ride in the sawgrass swamp followed by a place where you could walk about among the caged animals in a very smelly zoo. I would reccommend people investigate before going on this tour. It was really a tourist trap. We will try harder next time to get an authentic tour of the everglades but we will not go back to the sawgrass recreation park. The animals looked very sad in the cages.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawgrassRecPark, Owner at Sawgrass Recreation Park, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Sorry our attraction did not live up to your expectations. We try very hard to have truth in our advertising. If you would like to email me personally at msoverns@evergladestours.com and give me the name of the publication that mislead you, I will be happy to investigate and make sure it is corrected. We almost always make sure that our information is presented in this manner.

“Our tours run every 29-30 minutes starting just after 9AM till 3:30, and then we have a final boat ride at 5:00PM. Our airboat tours are 30 minutes in length, after the airboat ride you are free to enjoy the exhibits at your own pace. We have timed shows in our exhibit that run about every hour. We tell all guests that the experience usually lasts about two hours, with a half hour of that time on the water.”

We also offer private tours that range in time from starting at 30 minutes and can be customized up to your ideal time on one of our airboats. As for the animals, I can assure you that each animal is like family to us and is treated as such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Adventure for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a great view of the Everglades!!!! My husband and I and another couple tooka private tour of the Sawgrass in a rainstorm recently. Our guide was a great sport and was certain we "could not take the uncomfortable conditions," We proved her wrong and thoroughly enjoyed our speedy ride through the glades. We were very fortunate and saw alligators and several birds even in the blinding rain. We had ponchos and were able to have a great time in spite of the yukky weather. This is something I have always wanted to do and was certainly not disappointed. A great education in live in the everglades. Hope they can rid the area of the pythons!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawgrassRecPark, Owner at Sawgrass Recreation Park, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and for visiting our park, even when the conditions were not the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!!! Will be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went camping with our Cub Scout Pack and just had a extraordinary time! The islands for camping were spacious and well kept, the bathrooms very clean. I can't say enough about the staff, the employees were very attentive, courteous and friendly. The employees taking care of the animals are very knowledgeable and you can see how much they love and care for their animals. The air boats rides are awesome, the Captains are full of information and they are very friendly and full of humor. Our Cub Scouts and their families had a fabulous time and we will definitely be coming back. A very big THANK YOU to all the staff!!! Pack 423 Cooper City, FL

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawgrass Recreation Park also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Sawgrass Recreation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawgrass Recreation Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sawgrass Recreation Park to your Saves list