We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud, a bit overpriced, but great guacamole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale

Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale
1313 East Las Olas Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
954-524-9550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Rocco's Tacos offers a true taste of Mexico within a fun casual environment. When you first step through the door you become part of the atmosphere, joining a diverse crowd enjoying flavors picked directly from Mexico. Experience guacamole prepared tableside. Sample from 225 varieties of tequila. Order a margarita with a sour mix you'll taste nowhere else - it's made right on the premises. Rocco's provided a diverse menu with a distinct attention to detail including corn tortillas made by hand and cooked fresh on the Comal in our kitchen, just as they are made in kitchens throughout our neighbors to the south. Prepare for a treat, with the authentic Mexican flavors of Rocco's Tacos. Whether you're looking for a tasty lunch, a destination to build, or a late night fun, you'll find it here. Enjoy.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very loud, a bit overpriced, but great guacamole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Been to Rocco's Tacos a few times. Only a few minute wait on this visit for 4 of us. We had the guacamole, as usual. They make it fresh right at the table for you. Its excellent, but not cheap.

I had the Baja combo. A ton of food, Not bad, not awesome.

I love the fresh salsa with the chips, but they put paprika or something on the chips, I would prefer just salt or nothing.

Its very loud in there, when it gets crowded, it can be hard to hear.

The light fixtures are way cool if you are into that kind of thing.

Overall, a good experience. Not the best food ever (except for the guac). But I am sure I will back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    166
    64
    31
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, Overpriced and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at 5:30 on Saturday evening trying to beat the crowd but we had a 40 minute wait. We were lucky enough to find a spot by the bar for the 4 of us to wait, so we ordered 2 margaritas which came to $21 dollars. The bar smelled like the college bars I used to hang out in with a horrible stale sour beer smell. We got a table outside but it was unbelievably crowded out there as well, you could barely push out your seat without hitting someone behind you. The food is very average...its just melted cheese and sub par meat...I wouldn't go here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by so many people. Everyone rants and raves about it but the food is not that good. The service was terrible. We waited for over 2 hours. Every time we would check on the table status they told us 20 more mins. They didn't apologize, they blamed it on the other patrons that were "taking too long to leave". It was a terrible experience and I would never go back. We should if just gone to Taco Bell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long wait, terrible service with mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Will NEVER go back again! Terrible service, we were told the wait would be about an hour ( on Monday night!) we actually waited almost 2 hours to be seated! The staff was very rude. Food was okay, I've had better. The guacamole was the only thing that was really good. Will never go again! Also check your bill we were charged for things we did not order, when we mentioned it to our waitress we got an attitude.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Guacamole was like wall paper paste. Yuck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice view of the hustle and bustle of beach goers and shoppers alike. Friendly staff. Food was disappointing but found that most of these beach front restaurants are only serving food to keep liquor license. The food def didn't look like the pics others have taken here. The rice was obviously out of a box, guacamole was gooey, very strange texture with no flavor and the toco was skimpy on meat. Drinks we good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocco's Tacos & Tequila Bar - Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.