We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after high expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market 17

Market 17
1850 SE 17th St. Suite 109, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
954-399-0017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eisenhower Blvd & 17th St
Transit: Water Taxi & Bus
Description: Market 17 is proud to be serving delicious, creative dishes that are literally from the farm right to the tables of our diners. We call this "wine country cuisine" because the emphasis is on fresh, clean food from top purveyors along with an abundant wine list. For the more adventurous diner, Market 17 offers 'dining in the dark'. It is our chefs table in a private room that allows a new way to experience food. Once your sight is turned off, all the other senses are heightened. It's a fun and unique experience to enjoy our food. (Due to limited seating, reservations for dining in the dark can be requested via open table notes but are not guaranteed. Please call 954.835.5507 to confirm dining in the dark reservation requests.) Our menu will change daily and we'll always offer amazing tasting menus for you to sample what the chef has created. Come and experience for yourself what all the buzz is about!
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed after high expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

Our six course tasting menu was delivered efficiently but with little personality or care. We saw our own server only sporadically and were served by more than a half dozen others, including the manager. The staff were clearly stressed, making our meal not the more enjoyable for it. The food was good but not amazing, and the commitment to farm-to-table concept did not make up for the lack of character, warmth and charm that the staff and conference center location generated. We will try one more time and hope for better next time. It could always have been an off-night.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    71
    11
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
“Amazing Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I love the food here, everything is fresh and local grown. Also Kimi makes amazing drinks and suggested the perfect food for our table.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good surprise, good food, good service, nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Excellent "Market fresh" vegetables. This is a real find in strip malled Fort Lauderdale, a real restaurant that cares about what it serves rather than return on investment. A definite must-try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh and flavourful with a couple of negatives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

There are a number of positives about this restaurant. I like the farm to table concept (the menu lists the farms/sources). When we were seated, we were offered black napkins (we both had on black slacks) which is always a nice touch (so you don't end up with white fuzz all over your black pants!).

We couldn't decide between a number of mains and the waitress pointed out that you can order starter sizes so we got 4 mains at starter sizes to split. They thoughtfully asked if we wanted them staggered which worked well. These half portions were very large so it's plenty of food for 2 without an appetizer! The flavours and textures overall were innovative but a couple of the dishes lacked seasoning.

The real let-down for us was dessert. We ordered the bacon creme brulee but the eggs had curdled so we had to send it back. The manager was profusely apologetic and offered to get us a different dessert.

The service was friendly and efficient and this restaurant is definitely a step above most of the other restaurants within walking distance of the port-based hotels. But I agree with other reviewers that it is overpriced.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

You know you have a real friend when he recommends a place like this for an anniversary dinner. Great location near the intracoastal and the beach (2 minute drive), the place is dimly lit and decorated with great modern taste. Impressive wine list although I'm no expert but there seemed to be something for every taste and from every region. Even more impressive is the menu, not very extensive but both appetizers and entrees are not every day finds. Starting with the fact that the menu is printed daily to ensure you are getting the freshest food possible. The right side lists the source for each one of the day's ingredients. The heirloom tomatoes we had came from a farm down the street from my house! Another great thing is that they offer most dishes in half or full portions, this allowed us to try more dishes for the same value. We had Ceviche (surprised to find pineapple and avocado in it), beef tartare (coarsely ground on top of a flavorful sauce), heirloom tomato salad (still trying to decipher what was in the deliciously light dressing), a chicken dish, Florida snapper and the star of the night, grilled antelope (from TX). Sure it was more expensive than your average dinner but for a special occasion it's worth every penny. I should also mention the always smiling staff, very knowledgeable and courteous. Will definitely be back again with friends to try the dining in the dark option.....

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market 17 also viewed

 

Been to Market 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.