We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The view from the hotel is amazing, especially in rooms with floor-to-ceiling window. However, the room size is average. The service also has nothing special. The location is good for those who want tranquility but a bit far from the central things: to get to Sebastian Beach, you need to walk a bit. The breakfast is very good, a lot of quality and variety of products. Although there is an ice machine on each floor, it would be much more convenient if there was a small fridge in the room. The price of parking is much higher than the local average, but there is no choice for guests because the hotel is surrounded by zone where parking is prohibited.

Room Tip: Rooms in 10th or 11th floor: they have floor-to-ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Carlos P,

Thank you for staying with us recently and providing this valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from the rooms, along with the breakfast in Bistro. We recently added mini-fridges to several of our room categories so if you plan on visiting again, perhaps you will find one of those rooms more suitable. With regards to your comment on service, please email me directly at ldufresne@sonesta.com if there was any particular instance that you had with our staff that was not to your liking and I will be sure to address it. Unfortunately our parking is controlled by an outside vendor, but we often have packages that discount the parking available that make it much more affordable so if you decide to visit again, it would certainly be worth checking one of those out. We hope to see you back on property in the future!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    453
    161
    73
    41
See reviews for
272
550
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice lobby, great views, normal-sized rooms. Right across the street from the beach. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider returning if I ever come back to Fort Lauderdale for anything in the future. Nothing better than waking up to see the sun rising over the ocean.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Frankieoli,

Thank you for your recent review of the property and for staying with us, we're so glad to hear that enjoyed it. There is nothing like waking up to a Fort Lauderdale sunrise in the morning, it's like a natural alarm clock. :) We hope to have you back on your next visit!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, NC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great beach feel as you enter the lobby. Valet parking in secure lot located behind hotel. Friendly staff. We were attending a family wedding the venue was just perfect. We made use of the Breeze room and balcony for rehearsal dinner and family gathering. Then we used the pent house for wedding and reception. Beautiful!!!! 360 degree views of intern coastal and Atlantic Ocean. Our room was on the 7th floor beach side and the window provided a postcard view 24 hours a day! We never shut the curtains. :) Hotel is in a nice little block that provided numerous choices for dining and of course ocean directly across the road. Hotel is situated between Bonnet House Estate and Birch State Park so no hotels blocking views of the strip. Would certainly keep this on our list for a return visit. Oh yea and the pool was great!

Room Tip: Get a room above the 5th floor for excellent ocean views. Hotel is designed so there is really not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Cathy G,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel, I will be sure to share your sentiments with the staff. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the venue for the wedding as well, the penthouse views are spectacular, and it doesn't hurt to have the panoramic views in your bedroom either. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Metro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Sonesta between our sailing trip for the Keys so we arrived on a Friday and stayed overnight. Came back the next Saturday and stayed until Sunday. The hotel is clean and nice the mattresses are soft and wonderful. The staff was great. If you need a business center do do some serious work or printing forget about it. They hand you an iPad and wish you luck. The breakfast was good and we really enjoyed the location. The pool was small and filled with teens and youngsters and the music was rather loud. But what do you expect with teenagers! All in all it was a wonderful two nights at the Sonesta and I would stay there again. Also no fridge in the rooms so if you're of the age where you need you meds refrigerated....forget about it!

Room Tip: You'll want a room on the upper floors as the views up there are stupendous!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NewYorkMetroFoxyRoxy,

Thank you so much for selecting our hotel on your recent trip to Fort Lauderdale and for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the comfort of your guest rooms. I will be sure to address the iPad comment with our staff as they should have been able to assist you with that, I apologize for the inconvenience. Furthermore, we have recently added fridges to several of our rooms, so hopefully on your next visit, you will have the opportunity to book one of those. We hope to have you back soon!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I think this place used to be a Holiday Inn. They did a nice job upgrading it. Our room was nice and clean.Ocean view is a plus. We were greeted by a very good valet staff. Check in was efficient. Lobby is clean, small outdoor pool, no spa.Room is nicely decorated, modern and clean.
Unfortunately, hotels restaurant was our deal breaker, waited over one hour for 2 sushi rolls, we are foodies and this was a deal breaker for us. We will not be staying there again. There are too many other hotels on the beach with restaurants that actually can serve food timely.

Room Tip: If you are hungry, do not eat there. You will be waiting for your food for a long time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Yesilkoylu,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your review of the hotel. Your feedback is invaluable so we certainly appreciate you bringing some of these issues to our attention. I apologize for the wait you experienced at SAIA and will be sure to address that with our restaurant manager. If you send me personal note at ldufresne@sonesta.com the next time you're in the Fort Lauderdale area and are interested in dining with us again, I will see to it that you have a wonderful experience. Please consider visiting us in the near future.

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at Sonesta for girls getaway. Right on the beach and the staff was so pleasant and informative about things to do in the area. Not within walking distance to downtown, but you can take the bus, shuttle, taxi, or water taxi (with the bus being the most affordable). Taxi to downtown is no more than $15. Right next to the hotel, there are many food and bar options. Excited to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Isabel C,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Fort Lauderdale! I'm glad to hear that the staff was helpful in providing activities and things to do during your stay. Please reach out to me personally ldufresne@sonesta.com the next time you're in the area, and I'd be happy to provide some additional great recommendations from a local's point of view. :)

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here for 8 days in June and although the first night they didn't have the room we requested but, changed it the next morning and price adjusted it. The view amazing, location is quiet and a bit of a walk to the restaurants but it's sooo worth it. I plan on going back with my fiance soon and hopefully this is where will have our wedding. This hotel was beautiful and I can't wait to return !!
Staff, AMAZING I felt comfortable there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sherrhonda C,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and great review of the hotel! It was a pleasure to host you and your friend and I am glad that the front desk was helpful in resolving your room issue. We would love nothing more than to have you back for your wedding, please reach out to me at ldufresne@sonesta.com when the time is right and I would be glad to connect you with one of our Catering Managers.

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, indulgent spa suite and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.