We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mini vacation - outstanding view, outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
1 review
“Best mini vacation - outstanding view, outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I found this hotel in a review in Curve Magazine. It is a beautiful hotel inside and out. The room was spacious the service was exceptional. I will definitely plan another trip. This was a birthday surprise and we received the royal treatment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Daphne L, thank you for your comments. I always love to hear that the "royal treatment" we provided was exceptional! I trust the B'day celebration was great and hope you come back to B with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    453
    161
    73
    43
See reviews for
274
550
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the B Ocean for a mini stay-cation. We wanted to stay at the hotel to celebrate mine and my fiance's birthdays. We had high expectations of the hotel especially since we are getting married there in November The hotel & staff went beyond our expectations. It was absolutely amazing. The staff was very accommodating and extremely personable wherever we went.

We had an unbelievable experience at Saia. We went there on Saturday night for my 30th birthday and to celebrate my fiance, 33rd birthday, which is 4 days later. Our server, Sandro, was beyond exceptional. His recommendations were spot on and the food was absolutely outstanding. The fire dragon roll and garlic hamachi roll were unbelievable. We also had the pleasure of meeting the general manager, Kaine, who came over to congratulate us on our birthday and upcoming nuptials. He was also very attentive and beyond personal the entire evening. This hotel is a must for a mini stay-cation to a long getaway.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the ocean. I would suggest a higher floor and room on the far east corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear EBMF1108, thanks for sharing your comments and for selecting us for your mini-staycation. I am glad to hear you had an amazing experience with us and that Sandro and Kaine took great care of you during your visit to SAIA. We look forward to your return and wedding celebration. FYI, we are changing our menu in SAIA so you will be able to experience new dishes the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great view, nice location across from beaches and literally has a mini strip of bars, stores etc behind it. To experience more hop on the sun trolley its $2 all day ride. Hotel itself is very posh feeling and looking inside and out, the room was nice and had amazing views of the ocean. You will enjoy your stay here. Great for couples not so much a family stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear 1_4sun, thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our amazing views and perfect location steps away from the beach. Don't B shy and come back often to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a very short visit - barely 12 hours! I must admit that initially the "cool & funky" reception area did not really appeal to me. However, the staff were pleasant and we were happy with our large and comfortable room which had a lovely view out over the beach. I had found a special offer (on TripAdvisor!) whereby valet parking, usually US$25, was complimentary and we also got US$25 of food & beverage credit. If it wasn't for this offer, then to be honest I probably wouldn't have booked it. Breakfast was delicious (eggs benedict, yum!) and the server was very nice. Great entertainment to be had watching a train of lady joggers stretching along the footpath! Given that it was midweek (a stop-off on a long drive) it was fairly quiet and therefore cheaper. Perhaps I would feel differently if it was a full-priced weekend trip but I can't fault it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear MillMoo77, I am glad you took advantage of our Trip Advisor special offer. Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully your next visit will B a longer one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Needed to stay in Fort Lauderdale for one night so really didn't check this hotel out too much before making the reservation. I had no real expectations beforehand so when I arrived I was just bowled over. What a place. From the amazing decor and furnishings, to the hip bar and restaurant plus the very friendly staff. This hotel would not be out of place in South Beach. If it was there you would have read about it from all the travel experts already. It has a great vibe and is very hip. You just have to see the lighting they have in the lobby area. Amazing. Also the view from my room window was just awesome. The blue sparkling sea just glistened with the tankers lining up out to sea waiting to get into the port. Price wise the hotel was very reasonable. My only gripe was the $25 a night plus tax valet charge which seemed quite high. Other than this have to say this hotel hit the mark on everything. I will most definately return.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear 1879fulham, thanks for sharing your comments with us. It is rewarding to hear that we hit the mark on everything. We work hard to provide a great experience and your feedback makes it all worth while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for a pre and post cruise stay. It is in an excellent location, just across the road from the beach and quite close to the cruise terminal. We were really impressed with everything about this hotel. First the staff were excellent, they could not do enough for us. We really felt well looked after. Also the rooms were just beautiful with excellent views. The pool area was also really nice. They had an excellent breakfast for just $16 with lots of choices. We would definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear richoSydney, thanks for staying with us during your pre/post cruise stay. It's great to hear that you felt pampered by our team members. They work hard to make our guests feel comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to B Ocean on a short trip and I must say this was one of the best trips!! All the rooms have an ocean view which was AMAZING!! Its directly across from the beach. The rooms were clean and crisp. The service was great. We didn't rent a car so we rode the sun Trolley for $0.50 a ride. The stop was right in front of hotel. Also there are taxis waiting in hotel lot. This hotel exceeded my expectations! Loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear jmlewis2006, thanks for your comments and happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, indulgent spa suite and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.