We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with view, great ocean access, hotel could use more amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach to your Saves list
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2016 Winter Sale
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New River Gorge, WV
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice room with view, great ocean access, hotel could use more amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Got this hotel by bidding on Priceline. Room was very nice – all rooms have ocean view. The hotel does not offer any refrigerators for any rooms (very odd for an upscale hotel!). The door to our room did not always completely close, so make sure to check when you come in or go out (we got back from beach one day and door was NOT closed after cleaning - luckily, nothing was stolen!) I notified the manager of the problem (I see other reviews on here with the same complaint so there must be lots of rooms with this problem.) Also no convenience store inside the hotel for bottled water, things you forget to pack, etc. We found a 7-11 one block from hotel on Sunrise Blvd. where we bought bottled water, individual cereal servings, snacks for the beach. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant SAIA, mostly sushi/Asian and it was delicious and good service. The Bistro had a breakfast buffet and sold individual items (oatmeal $5.50, fruit cup $5), coffee was free. Just walk across the street to the beach. We got beach towels from the pool area. The city rents umbrellas ($20 per day) and chairs ($10 per day). If you are staying for a week, we saw signs at the store next to the hotel saying they rent umbrellas and chairs (probably could save money doing that). This hotel is located north of where I have stayed in the past (beach park/Bubba Gump area). It is about 1.5 mile walk to that area. There is a water taxi stop a few blocks down on Sunset Blvd. Also .5 mile is the mall and we found a new restaurant that we had not eaten in before, Seasons 52, all fresh ingredients, they change menus throughout the year based on veggies in season, entrees under 450 calories, shot glass desserts. It was very good & great service – loved it so much, we went back the next night! There was a wedding at hotel Sat. night, and we assume their band was playing – pretty loud in our room for most of the night. There were always several people at the front desk, but when we asked questions, their accents made it hard to understand them. They were very nice and did print out boarding passes for our return flight.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, make sure door closes shut completely - if not, request another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Jo W, thank you for sharing your comments. Our Engineering team did follow up on the door issue and we appreciate your input as safety is always our no.1 priority. I am happy to read that you had a chance to experience both of our restaurants and glad to know you found the food and service is SAIA to be at par with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time staying In this hotel so I wasn't sure what to expect. The first impression was great with the valet and front desk staff. They were so nice. Then, of course, the view from the room. Wow, loved it! I don't think there Is a bad view in the hotel. We had the 8 th floor "ocean front captivating room. " The beds were soooooo comfortable (so important when traveling). I loved the bathroom, rain down tiled shower with modern sink and faucet. Lots of room in shower. The outdoor pool area with a bar was very nice and cozy. Can't beat the access to the beach. So close and easy to get to. My only disappointment was no fridge in the room. For a 4 star hotel I thought there would be one. But, we compromised with lots of ice and a bucket. Stuff stayed cold so we were happy!!! The front desk staff helped us with our boarding passes to fly out the next day and we were so impressed with their eagerness to help! We really appreciated that. Well done!! Thank you B Ocean!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCanada71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear JasonCanada71, thank you for your great feedback. It's great to hear that our staff took good care of you during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights at BOcean in mid-January. I strongly recommend the hotel. The lobby is chic and modern. The pool area and restaurant (B'stro) are very nice. All of the staff was attentive, friendly and helpful, none more so than Sonya at the desk who had everything ready for us and early checkout. Unfortunately, I do not remember his name, but the young dark haired waiter at B'stro was terrific as well. The rooms are very nice -- clean and modern. They are not huge, however. Our room had two double beds - a bit smaller than most hotel rooms these days which generally have queen sized beds. The beds were very comfortable, however. We were on the 11th floor (upgraded by staff) and the views of the ocean were spectacular. The area right behind the hotel appeared to be from Fort Lauderdale's Spring Break past, but it was very safe and the location in general lwas quite convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruffletones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Scruffletones, thank you for your business and for your strong recommendation. I do appreciate your comment regarding the convenience of our location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When we arrived at the B Ocean hotel, my buddy and I were immediately impressed by the plush appearance of the outside of the hotel and the lobby. Everything had the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami "look and feel" that we were hoping for. When we got to the room, we were still pleased, but not wowed. It was quickly clear based on the size of the room and the very small, simple bathroom, that this is an older hotel that has undergone a complete renovation. While they did an excellent job with what they had, there is only so much that can be done with small rooms/bathrooms.

The bedding, furniture, and TV were all top-notch and very comfortable, and really size was the only complaint. The only problem that we had with our room was the amount of difficulty that we had in getting it cleaned each day. We went the first 2 days without having the room cleaned and the linens changed/beds made (despite multiple requests). This is not acceptable at a Holiday Inn, and is especially not acceptable at the rates that we were paying for the room. The front desk apologized and comped us a breakfast for our last day there, so at least the effort was there to make things right.

The pool area was pretty festive with an outdoor bar and plenty of room to lounge. The pool itself was nice, but it, too, was very small and reminiscent of the pools from older hotels. The dining area was very nicely decorated, and the breakfast buffet was very solid.

The hotel is walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, souvenir shopping etc., and we were even able to walk to a rental car place to rent a car to spend the day in South Beach.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but I would probably look for a "newer" hotel next time I'm vacationing in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean/beach, not facing the perpendicular street with minimal ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PThrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear PThrasher, thank you for staying with us and also for your feedback. I want to apologize for the service you received and would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly via our hotel website so I can further research the matter. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Incredibley nice valet. Very impressed with check in experience despite the reviews. The view is awesome.

But I think they thought about design and the vision function after construction money got tight.

Its midnight. Been up all day and looking forward to a good nights rest. Except I can hear every word of Saturday night live in the room next us. I feel like I'm in the room next door. If I didn't prepay the booking for two more nights on hotwire I'd be out of here.

When you build a new hotel don't skimp on the insulation between the walls. #fail

Ill see if management will accommodate us with a quieter room.

Also the bed sheets don't fit. Your feet touch the actual bed padding. Not sanitary. Unseasoned travelers won't recognize these minor details.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zer0tolerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Zer0tolerance, thank you for sharing your comments and positive input on our valet, front desk service and awesome views. I am sorry to hear that the noise from the room next door was an incovenience during your stay. Sometimes people tend to listen to TV or music at levels that they are use to at home and it might affect neighboring rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in B Ocean for a week per cruise . Main luggage bags delayed on arrival at airport but when arriving at reception were told not to worry made exceedingly better when seeing view from 11th floor window. WOW! Had buffet breakfast several days. Found Sami Japanese restaurant excellent plus friendly bar staff. Serve yourself wine nice touch allowing small tasting measure. Great cheese selection . Reception area looks very bare but new bar area under construction which will take care of that. Pool area small but but beach just over the road and you can take hotels towels there. Some convince stores.close but a bit 'seedy" at night. Good selection of eating spots nearby plus Galleria Mall within walking distance. Only negatives no tea or coffee maker fridge in room and overnight parking bit much. Definitely would use again but not perhaps for older yravellers

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Paul F, many thanks for your comments. I appreciate your overview of our bar and restaurant offerings and glad you had an opportunity to experience them during your visit. We do offer free coffee & tea to go in our B'stro restaurant every morning and have added this information in our welcome key packet to ensure all our guests take advantage of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hotel has been newly renovated in a beautful Zen Style. The person at the front desk could have been a lot more friendly and informational. He was one of those that looks over your shoulder instead of at you. (I hate that ladeedah attitude)
Most every one else was very nice and helpful. The beds were very comfy, bath products nice too. Views of the ocean super.
This property is just across the street from the beach and right next to the Hugh Taylor preserve/park. It is a pretty place to walk, ride a bike or rollerblade.
The neighborhood around the Hotel is great too. The Parrot Bar for happy hour and a good selection of beers. The corner diner for Pizza, breakfast or lunch...can't remember the name...locals, good energy and good prices!
There is much more around it too, easy walking any where.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizykurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Lizycurt, thank you for sharing your feedback and for your strong ratings. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. I also appreciate your candid feedback on the agent at the desk and I have reviewed your comments with our team to ensure we provide a great arrival experience to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#66 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,517 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#17 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#42 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#12 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#44 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing