We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and lobby . . . average room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and lobby . . . average room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When we arrived at the B Ocean hotel, my buddy and I were immediately impressed by the plush appearance of the outside of the hotel and the lobby. Everything had the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami "look and feel" that we were hoping for. When we got to the room, we were still pleased, but not wowed. It was quickly clear based on the size of the room and the very small, simple bathroom, that this is an older hotel that has undergone a complete renovation. While they did an excellent job with what they had, there is only so much that can be done with small rooms/bathrooms.

The bedding, furniture, and TV were all top-notch and very comfortable, and really size was the only complaint. The only problem that we had with our room was the amount of difficulty that we had in getting it cleaned each day. We went the first 2 days without having the room cleaned and the linens changed/beds made (despite multiple requests). This is not acceptable at a Holiday Inn, and is especially not acceptable at the rates that we were paying for the room. The front desk apologized and comped us a breakfast for our last day there, so at least the effort was there to make things right.

The pool area was pretty festive with an outdoor bar and plenty of room to lounge. The pool itself was nice, but it, too, was very small and reminiscent of the pools from older hotels. The dining area was very nicely decorated, and the breakfast buffet was very solid.

The hotel is walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, souvenir shopping etc., and we were even able to walk to a rental car place to rent a car to spend the day in South Beach.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but I would probably look for a "newer" hotel next time I'm vacationing in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean/beach, not facing the perpendicular street with minimal ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear PThrasher, thank you for staying with us and also for your feedback. I want to apologize for the service you received and would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly via our hotel website so I can further research the matter. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    453
    161
    73
    42
See reviews for
273
550
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Incredibley nice valet. Very impressed with check in experience despite the reviews. The view is awesome.

But I think they thought about design and the vision function after construction money got tight.

Its midnight. Been up all day and looking forward to a good nights rest. Except I can hear every word of Saturday night live in the room next us. I feel like I'm in the room next door. If I didn't prepay the booking for two more nights on hotwire I'd be out of here.

When you build a new hotel don't skimp on the insulation between the walls. #fail

Ill see if management will accommodate us with a quieter room.

Also the bed sheets don't fit. Your feet touch the actual bed padding. Not sanitary. Unseasoned travelers won't recognize these minor details.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Zer0tolerance, thank you for sharing your comments and positive input on our valet, front desk service and awesome views. I am sorry to hear that the noise from the room next door was an incovenience during your stay. Sometimes people tend to listen to TV or music at levels that they are use to at home and it might affect neighboring rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in B Ocean for a week per cruise . Main luggage bags delayed on arrival at airport but when arriving at reception were told not to worry made exceedingly better when seeing view from 11th floor window. WOW! Had buffet breakfast several days. Found Sami Japanese restaurant excellent plus friendly bar staff. Serve yourself wine nice touch allowing small tasting measure. Great cheese selection . Reception area looks very bare but new bar area under construction which will take care of that. Pool area small but but beach just over the road and you can take hotels towels there. Some convince stores.close but a bit 'seedy" at night. Good selection of eating spots nearby plus Galleria Mall within walking distance. Only negatives no tea or coffee maker fridge in room and overnight parking bit much. Definitely would use again but not perhaps for older yravellers

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Paul F, many thanks for your comments. I appreciate your overview of our bar and restaurant offerings and glad you had an opportunity to experience them during your visit. We do offer free coffee & tea to go in our B'stro restaurant every morning and have added this information in our welcome key packet to ensure all our guests take advantage of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hotel has been newly renovated in a beautful Zen Style. The person at the front desk could have been a lot more friendly and informational. He was one of those that looks over your shoulder instead of at you. (I hate that ladeedah attitude)
Most every one else was very nice and helpful. The beds were very comfy, bath products nice too. Views of the ocean super.
This property is just across the street from the beach and right next to the Hugh Taylor preserve/park. It is a pretty place to walk, ride a bike or rollerblade.
The neighborhood around the Hotel is great too. The Parrot Bar for happy hour and a good selection of beers. The corner diner for Pizza, breakfast or lunch...can't remember the name...locals, good energy and good prices!
There is much more around it too, easy walking any where.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Lizycurt, thank you for sharing your feedback and for your strong ratings. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. I also appreciate your candid feedback on the agent at the desk and I have reviewed your comments with our team to ensure we provide a great arrival experience to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this place for a week. I have three rooms booked here. The drive from FLL airport to the hotel isn't bad. However, here are some key facts. The hotel is located at the corner of a very busy intersection. You have to cross the road to get to the beach. It looks very fancy with glass wall. As you walk into the hotel, it looks different. Not like any other hotel. simple decor, odd shapes designs and glass. there are two restaurants. In my oppinion, they are too pricy. Japanese food was OK.. the other restaurant, food was like diner food. Our rooms, average.. nothing too fancy. As mentioned, the one side of the building is glass, so you have a complete picture of outside. As for the other two walls, they paited it white. Looks very dirty. Bathroom was very small.. there isn't space for two people. There is a small pool. Drinks at the bar was OK.. prepare to spend a little bit more money. There are alot of restaurant around the hotels if you don't mind the walk. Look around this area, i found several hotel with with balconi. This is very helpful if you are planning on spending the day at the beach. There was no place to dry our wet clothes... and the floor is carpeted except for the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear wuvemydragon, thank you for sharing your comments. I am disappointed to see your ratings based on the great facilities we have to offer but I do understand that everyone has different expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at B ocean hotel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, staff is very courteous. We stayed in the Stunning curve double room and the ocean view was simply awesome !!!
Also was very close to Las Olas ( just 1 mile) !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Bharti S, thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. I appreciate your perfect ratings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to hang out a few days -- we have been there with or baby daughter, all staff was very accommodating to all those special needs of young families.
As it was winter time, we did not really use the pool and deck but it looked great. Rooms are very spacious, nice bathrooms with plenty of light.
Though not in the main business cluster of the city, excellent restaurants are in walking distance, and, best, the beach is 200ft from the doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear mh-bklyn, thank you for sharing your comments and happy to hear that we took good care of your family. I appreciate your strong rating on our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, indulgent spa suite and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.